Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Irma Lerma Rangel Young Women's Leadership School

Public | 9-12 | 193 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

55 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 2, 2010

I am a student Irma l. Rangel YWLS. I have been at the school from the very beginning. I have had such a wonderful time here. The school has prepared me for what I am about to face in college, from applying to the work I will have. I have also made some of the best connections ever. You always watch movies or television shows where the teacher does not care about the student just their pay check, and at some schools it is true but at Rangel the teacher really do care about us and not just in our education. Yes the education does come first to them but they become more than just a teacher the become a person you can go to for advice, a role model, a friend. That that is probably one of the reasons why the school is so successful because the people who work there love what they do, and can't wait for school to start each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

They have outstanding school administrators who help young ladies become all they can be!


Posted November 11, 2009

This school has really changed - and for the better. The staff is more invovled with the students. The curriculum of the girls mostly includes Pre-AP and AP classes. There are enough sports to keep the girls happy. The location is perefect - right next to many museums and the Musical Hall. The college acceptance rate and students who attend college is at 100% . This is an amazing magnet school whose motivation is primarily focused on science, math, and technology. Each student is given their own laptop to make it more convient to complete their homeowork. And each student is given top priority. Send your girls to this school. It is truly amazing!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 30, 2009

This school is an excellent school I am so glad I applied for it. It really helps young women achieve their goals in education, and in real life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 8, 2009

Well Irma is trying really hard but us girls here just don't really like it but they're changing this year and they're putting new electives and other classes in this year so not so many girls will continue to leave. I believe in our school, if everyone else starts to, it will get better...i know it will
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 12, 2009

I have been in this school for two years and next year I'll be a freshman. To me us girls are more like family not just friends. We help each other out when we can. The teachers are great they know how to teach you and they will push you to do your best. These two years have been the best school years of my school life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 2, 2009

I have been at this school since the sixth grade and next year i will be a freshmen. I have to honestly say that I have not had a nice ride. This school has stressed me out soooo much. Between the bickering of the girls and the very heavy work load, it's enough to make you want to pull your hair out. And I'm sure it's not just me. Just about every [former] 8th grader is leaving to a different high school next year due to the stress levels this school has put on us. The laptops do help, but if anything it worries parents more and more. They may help us every now and then, but half the time we're not using them [for school work anyway] and when we do it requires us to get on the internet which opens many [bad] opportunities. I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 7, 2009

I would like to congratulate the school on a job well done. Graduating their first senior class. I would like to also say I'm concerned that my second chip wants to leave the school. Choosing woodrow's AP program. I have confidence she will do well because of the work ethic instilled in her at Rangel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2009

I have been at Irma Rangel for two years. I will attend the 8th grade next year. I would definetly recommend this school for other students because of the learning opportunities and the extracurricular activities offered. I think that it's great that we are supported by the Foundation for the Education of Young Women because they've offered me so many chances to do things that I would've never achieved in other schools. My friends was giving financial aid to attend a summer camp for two weeks at Princeton in California. And every grade level has a summer camp where the students can attend. The work is very tiring sometimes, but it helps with success. We also have what is called Little Sister/Big Sister program where a younger student is assigned a 'Big Sister' from the upperclassmen. It really helps with friendship and communication skills. I love this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2009

My daughter attended Irma Rangel for the last four years and I would highly recommend it. Every teacher at Rangel is top notch, I have another child in a DISD Magnet school and I know that not all teachers in Magnet schools are good/intelligent teachers. My daughter has had plenty of extracurricular programs/activities while attending Rangel. She has blossomed into a wonderful, organized, responsible, highly functional young woman and I have to give a lot of credit to Rangel for being a part of that. They helped her in her in middle school to form great study habits and outstanding character which she has carried on into High School. She is leaving Rangel next year however, against my desire. Because Rangel has help mold her into such a successful young woman I was able to support her decision to move to a collegiate high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

I rate this school one of the best schools! My child has taken a test to enter Irma! We are praying that she got in!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2009

i have been going to irma rangel since the 6th grade, and i'm now in the 8th. irma rangel ywls is a great school and its fun. it can sometimes be a little boring, just like any other school. irma rangel has come a long way from what it used to be. we started out with lacrosse, and now we have soccer, track, volleyball, basketball, and cheerleading. sometimes it can be a little stressful with all the work, and sometimes the teachers can be rude but its still a awesome school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2009

I have to admit that Irma Rangel YWLS was the 2nd choice school for my daughter after William B. Travis. At the time, Travis represented the diverse high level educational and social environment that I wanted for her. I was disappointed that Travis did'nt accept her, but I can't begin to give the administration and teachers of Irma enough accolades. Irma should've been our 1st choice and probably would've been had I taken a closer look at the school and not at the fact that it's an all female student body. From the moment that we stepped into the school, the staff was welcoming and exhibited a pride that's evident in all they do. The school works to expose the girls to all opportunities and has high expectations of them academically. My daughter loves the school and is excelling in her classes. Her dad and I like the atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2008

I went to Rangel two years ago for 7th and 8th grade. The school needs a lot of work, most of the teachers were horrible now that Im at TAG I realize I have huge gaps in my education in certain subjects. There are teachers that dont teach at all and there were no sports and we always has subs. Someone said theyre doing great because boys are a disraction? Haha thats not the reason Rangel is just easy; got to a real magnet school and see if you can make it; my grades are great even though we have boys. Rangel did not give me what I wanted or expected. They had high expectations and gave us nothing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

This is my second yr at Rangel and they have been in the process of adding more electives and extracurricular activities. Considering the size of the facility no more classes can be taken, but now we have a volleyball team and we will have basketball, soccer, and lacrosse in action this year. We have also added orchestra; we also have an abundance of afterschool activities such as dance, yoga, knitting, student councils, quite a few clubs, and others.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 16, 2008

This is a great school but the girls get streassed with to much homework
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2008

i go to this school and its horrible a lot of homework no field trips bad teachers crappy lunches crappy laptops ugly uniforms no airconditioned buses
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2008

The administration continues to cancel extracurricular programs. The high school students are being forced into electives they didn't even choose because the principal frankly does not support the fine arts. She is happy to parade the kids around in performances when it serves her own agenda to impress people politically, but she really doesn't care about the full development and education of the students. She just wants high test scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

'We have high academic and social expectations for all students'...and boy do we live up to those expectations. They demand so much out of us and we give it. But do they give us what we want? No. I must say that this school is neither challenging nor the right place for 'leadership'. My parents pay taxes and where does it all go? Back to a school that remains undeserving of the title 'magnet school'. After middle school, I'd thought of HIGH EXPECTATIONS of this school. Why? Because upon applying to this school, or any magnet school for that matter, they expect HIGH EXPECTATIONS from me. And what do we have here? Only a few electives, absolutely no music classes, no block schedule, disorganization...Do I really think that I've evolved from Middle to High school? I was put in a class of middle schoolers. I'm a high-schooler. A HIGH SCHOOLER.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 28, 2008

High school: Teachers are too lenient on homework. I can't even begin to explain how horribly limited the number of courses are, it makes me curl inside. They 're even cancelling ART II because we're getting PHOTOGRAPHY. Thank you school, I gave you so much of my efforts, 4.0 average here, just thanks, THERE GOES MY DREAMS. field trips? forget about it. Tell me again why this school is a magnet school..?
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

55 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

55 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

53 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

53 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

53 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

53 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students100%
Female100%
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students100%
Female100%
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
95%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
82%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students100%
Female100%
Malen/a
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students100%
Female100%
Malen/a
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students97%
Female97%
Malen/a
Black or African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic98%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented98%
Non-Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students100%
Female100%
Malen/a
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students99%
Female99%
Malen/a
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic98%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged98%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted95%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students98%
Female98%
Malen/a
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic98%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged98%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted95%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students98%
Female98%
Malen/a
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic98%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged98%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented98%
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Female100%
Malen/a
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students100%
Female100%
Malen/a
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students97%
Female97%
Malen/a
Black or African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic98%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented98%
Non-Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 71% 50%
Black 18% 13%
White 9% 31%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Vivian Taylor
Fax number
  • (972) 749-5201

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1718 R B Cullum Blvd
Dallas, TX 75210
Website: Click here
Phone: (972) 749-5200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT