Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
58 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 86 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Irma Lerma Rangel Young Women's Leadership School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 15, 2016
- a parent
Our girls spend many hours in community service and learn to be helpful with each other in projects and other ways

Irma Lerma Rangel Young Women's Leadership School 5

Posted January 15, 2016
- a parent
My daughter is happy and exceling with teachers that care and who spend a lot of time with the girls. The administration offers a safe and trusting environment. The social activities and sports options are growing.


Irma Lerma Rangel Young Women's Leadership School 3

Posted November 15, 2015
- a student
The 2015-2016 school year changed a lot of things that made Rangel a decent place. The principal of 10 years retired and the replacement principal and vice principal were elementary principals their entire careers. They both obviously have no experience dealing with 6th through 12th grade (Rangel students). They treat the students as if they don't attend a college preparatory campus. While teachers work their hardest, the principals acknowledge nothing. Not only is the administration at Rangel lacking, but the experience has drifted. Irma Rangel no longer informs its student of the Breast Cancer inflicted woman of the schools namestake- not to mention the principals lack of knowledge of the school creed. Many classes don't have teachers. There is at least one core class teacher missing per subject, and while substitutes attempt to teach subjects they retired from years ago. Besides academics, the school has no culture. By sending your daughter here, she will not have the traditional high school experience. She will gain an education but lose a personality.

Irma Lerma Rangel Young Women's Leadership School 4

Posted May 20, 2014
- a parent
Rangel attracts students who have proven themselves through good grades, high test scores, and good citizenship. Other positives include a well-stocked library, college advisor, summer camps, and programs. Rangel is not the best school for an introverted or sensitive person. And although the art and drama teachers are excellent, the school itself may not be the best place for someone who values creativity over production. It is a good school for a driven, focused person who easily grasps math and science and doesn't get discouraged by lack of positive reinforcement. The workload is intense. My daughters have had midnight online deadlines on Saturdays. The block schedule makes deadlines hard to remember. Some assignments are due before school, others at the start of class, others online. Tutoring is available but not always helpful, because certain teachers can be intimidating. Nevertheless, the school is safe, the students are introduced to the wide range of possibilities for women, and outside funding from the Foundation for the Education of Young Women gives Rangel students access to camps, field trips, guest speakers, and literature that other schools cannot provide.

Irma Lerma Rangel Young Women's Leadership School 3

Posted January 08, 2014
- a community member
To be honest, when I enrolled I thought was going to. Hard, but it is not hard, its a struggle. Some teachers are great. Others really don't teach well. The home work, and project are too much. So teachers want u to focus on their work, others don't teach anything. FINE ARTS IS BEING CUT! I asked a faculty from our school if they supported the fine arts. She said she did, but then again orchestra was cut. That was my passion. Extra activities are great, but their needs to be more variety. It is difficult, and I liked the school at first, but now, I dislike it greatly! I do not reccomend if you break during stress if u don't like being stressed out do not go it is harsh. And hopefully IG will get better over time.


Irma Lerma Rangel Young Women's Leadership School 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a student
This school is very challenging and you have to be willing and determined to face the school. Once you are in the school, you will soon realize that although you may be struggling in your core classes, every teacher is there to help and guide you individually through tutoring. One of the most genuine characteristics about the school we are all sisters. We are all going to be there for each other, and follow the Rangel creed, "I believe I am my sister's keeper."

Irma Lerma Rangel Young Women's Leadership School 4

Posted November 14, 2012
- a student
This school gave me a whole lot of homework and experience. I got to Atwell now, but I will forever miss Rangel, because the girls were always there for me and they were my sisters. However, my teachers were absolutely horrible.

Irma Lerma Rangel Young Women's Leadership School 5

Posted July 21, 2012
- a student
This school helpped me do alot for my future. I am a student in Irma Lerma Rangel YWLS and I never thought I would! My first school year was so much fun, filled with friends, homework, and awsome extra caricular activities. All the teachers there are very welcoming so you can get used to your first year there. Since I am a second year student, I know how hard it is to be there when your in 6th grade. Your the first year students and don't know anybody. That is perfectly fine. That is what the awesome summer camps are for. So you can meet and interact with other panthers your age! It might be hard trying to catch up with all your classes the first few weeks, but you'll be happy you went there!! :)


Irma Lerma Rangel Young Women's Leadership School 5

Posted September 29, 2011
- a parent
Rangel is a great place that is doing many wonderful things, truly empowering young women with the tools succeed in college and beyond. National Blue Ribbon School, and Texas Business & Education Coalition Honor Roll School. The first public all girls school in the state, and a model for the 4 new all girls schools (Houston, Austin, Ft. Worth, San Antonio and Lubbock). Many thanks to the Posey family, the administrators, and the educators at Rangel.

Irma Lerma Rangel Young Women's Leadership School 5

Posted June 12, 2011
- a parent
This is truly a "great school". There are no disciplinary problems so the teachers can focus on educating these smart young ladies. The principal is amazing, the teachers are passionate about educating and their expectations are high. Not only do they expect these girls to graduate high school... but they expect them to graduate from college. It's a challenging school, but when they enter college, I know they will be prepared.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Irma Lerma Rangel Young Women's Leadership School
1718 Robert B Cullum Boulevard, Dallas, TX  75210
(972) 749-5200
Last modified Irma Lerma Rangel Young Women's Leadership School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Irma Lerma Rangel Young Women's Leadership School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 86 reviews. Top