Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

All Saints' Catholic School - Dallas

Private | PK-8 | 400 students

Best known for providing a quality education in an atmosphere of love.

 
 

Living in Dallas

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $268,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 10 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 3, 2011

Our family has been with this school for over three years and every year we hope things will change and get better. The teacher turn over is high, and the leadership (principal and assit) have not communication experience. The curriculum and teaching is very week. The are not teaching the students which has been confirmed through the local private high school say the students are behind academically!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2011

Leadership is terrible, teacher turnover terrible. Its sad that being a catholic school there are so many lies within the staff. For the most part the teacher quality is terrible. There are a few good teachers but the terrible ones out weigh the good ones. No one takes responsibility of their actions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2011

Our experience over the last 2 years has been top notch. We are a catholic family wanting a great education for our children. Sister Denise and Marian Davis are fantastic leaders who love children and expect the best. The teachers love their jobs and that only makes them better in the classroom. The curriculum is challenging and is brought to the children with love. The children are taught respect, morals, and how to be good individuals contributing to society, which you won't find in any public school. We love All Saints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2010

So far so good. Sister Denise is Great. All of the teachers are great and they challenge the kids, the only downfall his 1 or 2 of the teachers at times will yell and it would be great if it was more diverse other that that we have not had any problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

Poor teacher education, poor extracurricular activities, poor administration, and constantly changing staff. Good parental support though.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 2, 2009

My daughter has been in the All Saints education program since she was 18 months old beginning with the Little Saints program and she is now in the 4th grade. My experience with the highly-credentialed faculty, cirriculum and facilities has been nothing short of outstanding. There is no lack of activies for the students to be involved with if you look around. While athletic fields would be nice, they have no negative impact on the high-quality of education that is provided here. A brand new computer lab thsi year is a big step in broadening the student learing experience and further piquing interest in technology. This school is by design, an intimate learning environment that insures your child receives the individual attention they need. Low student/teacher ratios promote hands-on learning experience where truly no kid is left behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2009

My kids and I are happy with the family atmosphere at all saints. A school is not only about learning english and math. It is also about learning to respect others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2009

This school is very expensive for what you get. There are very little extracurricular activities, sports, and the after school program is not well attended. The small size of this school is not a good thing. Hard earned money would be better spent elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2008

I could never take years learning how terrible a school is. My child is far too valuable to me. The new leadership brought on in 2007 has exceeded expectations w/ the recruitment of a principal with a degree in counseling, as well an MBA She has with an eye for growth & head for meeting individual needs of students. Not shabby. The highly educated faculty (w/ degrees from schools parents could envy) has kept us not only happy, but there ! A bit of cliquishness, & boorish behavior from some parents, but hey, that's everywhere, just read a newspaper. As far as turnover - life sometimes takes us elsewhere, when we'd rather stay. W/ regard to salaries, teachers bonuses (donated by the parents, btw), could easily rectify oversights. Tuition is actually lowest for a Catholic school in the Plano area. My child attending a well kept secret is fine
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2008

After 6 years, I'm thankful my child is through with this school. Administration has been a disappointment with double standards, untruths and lack of support for the really good teachers. Most have left or are leaving. Ask any parent of an 8th grader (08-09) and they will tell you to choose another Catholic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2007

We love All Saints. We have been very happy with every aspect of the school. I have not found tuition to be too high. It is worth every penny. The teachers are great & the other parents are very welcoming. I give All Saints Catholic School of Dallas a A++!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2007

The tuition of this school is very high, there are few sports and club activities. I would avoid this school if you could. Most of the good teachers have left. I would recomend St. Marks on Alma in Plano. It's a very nice school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 19, 2005

Working out the 'new school kinks', but this school has terrific potential. Tuition is a bit high compared to other parish schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 31%
Hispanic 11% 51%
Two or more races 10% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 2% 4%
Black 2% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:40 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Sister Denise Thompson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (214) 217-3339

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Religious
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Gifted and Talented
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Carpool
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Drama club
  • Girl scouts
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • All Saints Catholic School serves the north Dallas, Plano, and Collin county areas. We are a faith based elementary and middle school centered around Christ. ASCS exists to pass on the Catholic faith to our children in a challenging academic environment with Gospel values as a foundation and Christ as the model. Parents, the primary educators of their children, together with our community, share the common goal of preparing children for life-long learning and Christian service.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$6000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Jesuit College Prepatory
Ursuline Academy
John Paul II High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7777 Osage Plaza Pkwy
Dallas, TX 75252
Website: Click here
Phone: (214) 217-3300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Keystone Academy
Dallas, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT