Advertisement
Advertisement

First Baptist Academy

Private | PK-12 | 240 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Dallas

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $337,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,280.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 20 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 26, 2013

The lower school and upper schools should be reviewed as two seperate entities. While the lower school is great, there are serious bullying issues in the upper school between the "Park Cities" set of students and those from more modest backgrounds. Those who do not fit into a very specific mold will not thrive at FBA as any individual identity is very much discouraged. As a Southern Baptist affiliated school, it also goes without saying that this is also not the place for GLBT students and their families, nor anyone who doesn't identify as strongly conservative or, obviously, Southern Baptist.


Posted October 31, 2013

We are proud parents of students that have the opportunity to receive a Christian education from First Baptist Academy. Glad to be a part of the culture, biblical teaching, & their college preparatory standards for our children. Good school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

The lower school is amazing. Great teachers that exhibit Christian leadership. Amazing principle that relates to the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

Wonderful, Caring teachers and staff. Facilities are adequate. Class size is small and intimate. Great location for downtown working parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

My son is in Pre-K at FBA. School has only been in session for 2 1/2 months and I'm already blown away but what my little one comes home talking about and the work that is sent home. One thing I love about his teacher is that she makes learning interactive and fun. Last week, they made a scarecrow from scratch! I can just hear all the kids talking about what a scarecrow is made of, etc. and learning about different colors, textures, sounds, etc. My son, would have never been able to do this with a classroom of 25 or more students in a public school. Ms. Carney is amazing with the kids and I feel like she loves them as much as the parents do. Can't wait to continue our journey at FBA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

First Baptist Academy Dallas is a school that cares greatly about the superior education of their students. They provide excellent teachers who invest their lives to the whole development of their students. The teachers are not only well educated, but provide support to their students by giving of their personal time and efforts. The families involved in FBA are very supportive to the whole school body by providing financial support and giving of their time and talents to the activities that accompany the full academic and social aspects of the educational experience for kindergarten through senior year. We love FBA and what it has meant to the overall development of our three children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

Our family has one grade of First Baptist Academy and one who is a freshman. Both girls have gone to school here since kindergarten. Putting our children here has been one of the best decisions our family has made. The teachers and staff care about the students as if they were family. Indeed, it is like a small town school in the middle of the city. The education, both biblically and academically, has been fantastic and just what we were seeking in a school when we enrolled our oldest. Our family would highly recommend FBA to anyone seeking a private school education for their children. It is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

Wonderful family oriented school. Great teacher to student ratio for individualized attention. Academic preparation for college is excellent. My child is going to be ready. A place where Christian values are lived out, not just taught. Great opportunities for everyone to find their own place to contribute and be involved. I'm grateful for the investment a whole community makes in my child and I'm blessed when I get to make that investment in other families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

Our family has been at FBA for 12 yrs and we currently have 2 students in HS & MS. FBA has academically challenged both of our kids, while teaching them to be servant leaders. Yes, there are teachers that have been at the school forever and seem to be tired , but you will have that everywhere you go? FBA is not immune to the same issues that affect both public/private schools. However, if you are looking for a school that has a family-feel where the teachers and families genuinely care about each other then this is the school for you! The student to teacher ratio is excellent and the school is diverse both ethnically and socioeconomically which is important to our family. I know that when my kids graduate from FBA, they will be well-prepared to defend their faith in the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

From the moment we walked in the door at FBA we've been treated with the utmost care and kindness. The admissions process was a breeze with all of the help the staff provided. Everyone at every level of this school genuinely cares about the students and their families. We are blessed beyond measure to have found our way into the FBA family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

We have been associated with FBA for about 20 years now with multiple children and it has been such a great experience for our family. The school size has shrunk, its true, but I feel that has brought the teachers and the leaders into a much more close knit personal relationship with the parents and the children. We have a really great headmaster that knows all the children's names and is at the activities and prays and then works hard for the success of our little school. You can't ask for much more than that. Well, maybe a large check to suddenly come in the mail to the school, but other than that...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

First Baptist Academy is a great, small, private school that offers many benefits to it's students. Being located in downtown Dallas gives it a certain advantage over other private schools simply because of it's location to the busy "real life" work environment that surrounds the school and the new campus is definitely a plus. The classes are small so teachers can take the time to work with the entire class and individual students, if needed. The families that send their children are actively involved with the school and that definitely impacts the behavior and discipline of the children who attend classes. When you have good kids and active parents, you get GREAT results! My child has attended FBA since pre-kindergarten and is graduating this year. He loves it and is thankful that he got the opportunity to attend a school where it feels like "family" plus gave him the education required in the competitive world of advancing to college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2013

We moved our son here in the 4th grade, four years ago. We have found a diverse school that brings together a perfect balance of challenging, hands-on academics and strong Christian education. Now in junior high, our son has shown amazing progress both academically and in character and wisdom. This school invests in the whole child and provides wonderful support for the foundation we are teaching at home. An extra bonus is the strong, family-oriented community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

First Baptist Academy is a great school. We could not be happier. The teachers are outstanding and the school offers a wide selection of athletic activities. The Christian atmosphere is apparent in every aspect of school life. The students know the teachers truly care about them and will invest time in them. Excellent school in every way! This is a great value for a truly excellent program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2013

I have two boys at the Academy and have been pleased with their teachers and friends. You cannot put a price tag on great christian education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

I feel like the school they offered us is not what we have gotten. All the money that went into building the church has not produced the awesome campus we were promised. The facilities are worse than all the buildings they tore down. I love this school for my son but they don't have money to get or keep good teachers. The teachers keep leaving and I don't know why. Someone said because they questioned things they saw were wrong and then someone else said because they were complainers. So which is it? The curriculum seems really good to me compared to public school and we really love the family atmosphere. Is that enough? For my son who loves his school, it is. We struggle to pay the tuition that keeps going up by leaps and bounds each year but when I look at the schools I would consider that have great facilities and large campuses. This is the cheapest there is. So we stay
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

We weren't sure about sending our kids to a school DT but we really love it! Our children truly love their teachers, coaches and have made so many new friends we know we made te right decision. Last year we had an amazing sports season as well as academically bringing home tons of top honors in the fine arts and scholarships for our seniors all over the nation. FBA has been around for over 40 years and has been time tested and proven successful. We are treated like part of the family here. Can't wait to begin another year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2013

Sadly, I agree with the parents who have said that FBA just is not the school it was. The handful of academically tough teachers they had left have moved on to different schools. The teachers' and coaches' kids are allowed to do and say whatever they want with little more than a slap on the wrist. Bullying is an issue that is never taken seriously and when the bullied child defends himself, he is held as responsible as the child who has been bullying. And they are losing kids left and right because of it. I am sure a staff member will log in as a parent and say how great it is. But it is just not true any longer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2013

Amazing school. Fabulous teachers. Totally worth the drive downtown. You won't find a better family to call your school or school to call your family. Apply today!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2013

FBA has been a a great school for our family and our two sons. Great Godly teachers that truly invest in kids hearts and minds. Incredible Fine Arts program 1st in State 2013, Great Athletics programs Football TAPPS District champs 2013 Wonderful Christian Coaches and Administrators. We are blessed to be at FBA!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 37%
Black 18% 14%
Hispanic 8% 47%
Asian 3% N/A
Two or more races 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (214) 969-7797

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1606 Patterson St.
Dallas, TX 75201
Phone: (214) 969-7861

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT