Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Mark's School Of Texas

Private | 1-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Dallas

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $412,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 18, 2014

Pretention and elitism are not synonymous with intelligence and success. While the school has great potential they need to be less concerned with a who's who roster and more concerned with the type of boys they admit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2013

St. Mark's is, without a doubt, not only the best college preparatory school in the Dallas metro area, but also one of the best in the country, as indicated by a number of sources. We switched our son from one of the star public elementary schools in the Dallas area to St. Mark's, so that he can be fully challenged in all areas, and the results exceeded our expectations. We saw a significant increase in challenge and performance levels in all academic and sports areas at St. Mark's. We definitely recommend this school to anybody who has a gifted, high-achieving son and is looking to fully challenge him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2013

The best education available in our area for boys. I fully expect that the reviews on here talking about arrogance, etc are written by people whose boys were not admitted. It is very difficult to gain admission. The student must be at the very top of his academic group. These boys are more prepared for college than anywhere else in my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2013

Not the best school, just the most arrogant one with too much of the discrimination you'll see and experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

Great school. love the curriculum but more importantly like the stress on characther development. I wish I had a chance to study in a school like Saint Marks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

Our son was at St. Mark's for all 12 years of his education, graduating in 2004. . It is a remarkable school that brings out the very best in each boy, instills the responsibilities of public service and starts him on the road to success. They have a very generous scholarship boys who qualify,and give a lot back t the community, It is an outstanding place.The staff and teachers and administration all display the integrity, and caring they they expect of the boys! Just a wonderful place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2010

My son is finishing his Jr. year at St. Mark's. Simpl stated it is the most incredible school in Texas and ranks amongst the best nationally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

My son has been attending St. Mark's for 3 years now and it has been a wonderful experience for my entire family. The other families are very friendly, the students accept new students willingly and the faculty/staff is top-notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

St. Marks is a wonderful school that excels at both academics, electives, languages, and sports
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 13, 2008

St. Marks offers a caring, informed faculty, excellent facilities, and provides a genuine learning community--the school hosts world-class speakers such as Dr. Adam Cox to inform parents and faculty. The arts program is outstanding. There are many options beyond athletics for students to explore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

After comparing Greenhill, Cistercian & ESD, we enrolled our son at St. Mark's beginning in 7th grade. Since then, the school has exceeded our expectations in every way. Academics requirements are demanding but the school does an excellent job of balancing it with athletics, music and other interests. Every faculty member is totally committed to help the students and willing to spend lots of one-on-one time. The facilities are the best I've seen anywhere. A good portion of the students are matriculating to top schools. I believe it's the best prep school in Texas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

Our family has traveled all around america, and attended many great academic schools. Saint Marks trumps them all. As time magazine said, it is the best equipped private school in america. All the boys are well rounded with sports, art music, and athletics.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 31%
Asian or Pacific Islander 23% 4%
Hispanic 7% 51%
Black 5% 13%
Two or more races 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • ISAS
Fax number
  • (214) 346-8002

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10600 Preston Road
Dallas, TX 75230
Phone: (214) 346-8000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT