Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Greenhill School 3

Posted January 29, 2014
- a parent
We had kids in all divisions - lower, middle, & upper school. Our thoughts: Good - Many excellent teachers in lower school; several great teachers in upper school; outstanding debate program with superior faculty, (smart AND nurturing;) Diverse student body - so many opportunities to learn about others Bad - Middle school hires bright minds with little or no professional training -- Result = lack of basic pedagogy (think 5-question exam;) Some staff simply mean-spirited (agree about Turlington;) Must disagree about Mindle - he pushed the kids, but he was kind -- ALWAYS available to help the students Ugly - Brilliant, happy, successful kids go into middle school - come out with terribly low self esteem; Many parents spend upper school years trying to re-build teens; Wish middle school could learn a few things from the other divisions Final Thoughts - Great place in early or later years

Greenhill School 1

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
My child has gone to Greenhill since kindergarten and it was honestly a horrible experience. Most of the teachers were highly inappropriate, rude, and demeaned the students, especially in middle school with Mrs. Turlington. The kids are unhappy and cruel to others. The tuition is ridiculously overpriced. There are no positive aspects to going here. Stay clear if you want your child to stay happy.


Greenhill School 5

Posted December 03, 2012
- a community member
Greenhill has been my home for the last 10 years, and I love it! It is a welcoming environment that is very challenging academically. Everyone here is very diverse in many things including race, religion and interests. It is a very special place to be.

Greenhill School 5

Posted December 03, 2012
- a parent
The upper school is great! It is full of amazing teachers who really make learning interactive and fun.

Greenhill School 3

Posted October 25, 2011
- a parent
I must concur with the last reviewer. The middle school has some serious problems. Temporary leadership, new schedule which is awful and sub standard teachers are just a few of the issues. In all fairness some of the teacher are great but you also have teachers like Jaye Andrews who obviously hates kids. We have been complaining about him for years and they do nothing. I'm not sure why 11 year old kids are humiliated for making tiny mistakes.


Greenhill School 3

Posted September 20, 2011
- a parent
The lower school is fantastic. Great teachers and the kids love it. Middle School is another world. It is unorganized and unfair to the children. The kids go from 1 hour of homework in the 6th grade to 3 hours a night in the 7th grade. The 8th grade is actually easier. High School is good but the kids turn out socially akward. If you donate money or you are famous your kids get treated better. Great Education if you are okay with that.

Greenhill School 3

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
This school costs a lot but provides not so great a return. They are not great in academics nor anything. My son who comes from public school is less active here than before. Some of the teachers are real lazy and complaining to the head master has no effect. Overall I do not think this provides enough returns for the money you spend. Be careful of private schools.

Greenhill School 0
no rating

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
It is so diverse and full of culture. The curriculum allows room for exploration and also opens up once in a lifetime experiences.


Greenhill School 5

Posted March 10, 2010
- a parent
strives for excellency, incredible faculty, students intelligence above average to be successful in this school, parents involvement . Diversity

Greenhill School 4

Posted November 08, 2005
- a former student
fantastic staff, great parent involvement

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Greenhill School
14255 Midway Rd, Dallas, TX  75244
(214) 661-1211
Last modified Greenhill School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Greenhill School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top