Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Uplift Education-Peak Prep Middle

Charter | 6-8 | 305 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Dallas

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $66,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 18, 2013

This school is the best!! Peak has been more than what I have expected. I have read some of the comments other parents have posted and all I have to say is, if you and your child cant deal with the discipline here, what makes you think the world is any different. Children need correction and guidance and the school is taking the time to do this. Peak has the most understanding and compassionate teachers/staff members that I know. The staff will stay beyond their schedules and really dedicate time to the student's needs. The world is in complete utter confusion, what used to be good for students is now ignored and so the world conforms to the wants instead of the needs. We need to support schools like this because they care for the well being of our children and their future. How do you expect our children to overcome the competition and challenges in college if they are not given rigorous work now? We need to support our students and let the challenges face them now and work through it together. Let's not leave them without the tools to handle college and the world. I say all this in love for my children and yours, please do what is right for them and their future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2012

Parents beware of this school, they will stress your kids to the highest extent. They brainwash the parents and kids to have them believe that they are the best school. They are no better than any other DISD school, they have the same problems or even worse problems than any normal public school. Parents your kids are only kids once and they do not deserve a boot camp environment. Supposedly they prepare the students for college but doesn't any high school do that already. The staff are hypocrites and rude to the students and parents. So glad we don't have to deal with their pickiness and over exaggerated discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2012

We have been at Peak for 4 years. I have already taken one of my older children out of this school in the upper campus, and I am looking for another option for my younger child. I believe in developing the "whole" child, but the rules and discipline measures are unreasonable. We believe in strict discipline at home, but this school is just ridiculous at times. Proactive and planned communication is lacking. Office personnel in the primary campus are uninformed and rude. Parents are treated like and talked to like the children. It is difficult for English speaking parents to get involved and most events are scheduled during work hours, so working parents cannot participate. Mornings are stressful and the ridiculous measures they take in the name of "responsbility and discipline" make it difficult for the whole family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2012

Because of Peak and a Great Jump Start at Kipp Truth my Granddaughter can not stop achieving greater heights. Thanks Peak
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2012

unfair directors and teachers!! they kick my son out of this school just because he stand up of bullying he defend his self ..they know my son was right but they have to do what the school policy said..very disappointed of this super super the #1 super strict "school" in the world..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2011

Dear "Peak prep is an excellent school for any student. The learning environment is great and so are the teachers. I think that many people's reviews on this site are negative, because their children are not able to challenge themselves or they just are jealous of the excellent quality of education. (Peak is a student friendly campus and any action is only for a student to learn and excell). Peak has given and will keep giving wonderful learning experiances. That is why it is the 11th best school in the nation and will only get better and better. Only excellence will do" You need to go back to this school. 1. *so great, and so are the teachers. 2. No comma after negative. 3. "e themselves or they just are" either needs a comma, a semicolon with the "or" removed, or needs to be separated into two sentences. 4. *excel 5. *experiences I can see that you did not attend this school. If you did, I will be sure not to allow my child the same fate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2011

Worst School in Dallas. They Think They Are A Good school, But Kids Get Kicked out all The Time For Some Of the Dumbest Reasons Ever. There is A lot of Traffic In A Small School & Decisions are Based on What the Teachers Want.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 2, 2011

Peak prep is an excellent school for any student. The learning environment is great and so are the teachers. I think that many people's reviews on this site are negative, because their children are not able to challenge themselves or they just are jealous of the excellent quality of education. (Peak is a student friendly campus and any action is only for a student to learn and excell). Peak has given and will keep giving wonderful learning experiances. That is why it is the 11th best school in the nation and will only get better and better. Only excellence will do!


Posted April 3, 2011

Peak preparatory is an unsuccessful mediocre school. You get detention for 3 hours after and before school for asking a question withot raising your hands. If your uniform is out of order you get detention for 4 hours after school. Since all of them are mexicans if your white they will beat you up.They give you random tests and if you fail then they kick you out of the school.


Posted April 2, 2011

School is obsessed with TAKS and testing. Has not figured out yet that you can't fatten a calf by weighing it. As a result both students and teachers suffer with the lack of creativity allowed in the classroom in teaching and learning. Although demanding students to be accountable and responsible for actions and choices, overly concerned with silly rules where a minor uniform infraction results in the same detention time as a classroom disruption. Detention is run much llike a POW or concentration camp (missing are the yellow stars, growling dogs, and clubbing) where students sit at attention, forced to stare straight ahead without moving except for an occasional blink for a minimum of an hour. Surely there is a better use of time. Many teachers are inexperienced and are weak in classroom management. Detention is handed out rather than finding ways to engage students and positive discipline. On the positive side, classes are small (compared to DISD) and are single gender. Separating boys and girls at this age has definite advantages. Charter holder Uplift seems to be having growing pains like middle schoolers as they build out their adminstrative layers and add more schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2010

My son was at Laureate Prep for a week before I pulled him out and placed him back in his old school. As previous posted have mentioned, this school is not interested in talking to parents or increaing their involvement. I had a real problem with not getting my emails answered, getting dismissed by the directors when I wanted to speak with them, and their closed-door policy (parents are not allowed in the school). This is by no means a negative against the teachers but the school's leadership. I hope they improve their attitude towards parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2010

peak is so strict . we got to wear silly uniforms and silly shoes. And we have to do summer packets and read books during the summer and we have to attend summer session while we are still supposed to be in our summer vacations. we have to enter very early in the morning and come out really late in the afternoon.we got to go to school really early like 3 or 2 weeks before DISD AND EVERY OTHER district..PARENTS GET YOUR KIDS IN OTHER SCHOOLS NOT LIKE THIS ONE!! I AM A POOR TORTURED STUDENT IN THIS HORRIBLE SCHOOL.


Posted April 6, 2010

Peak Prep is a great school if you're into the college ready, strict, stressful, high expectation school thing. Ask any student there and they'll say the absolutly hate it. I know I do. Instead of helping me, they stress me out, and make it even harder on us. We're not perfect, only human.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2009

This is the best school ever and all of the staff/teahers are just outstanding individuals. This school should be nationally recgonized for their help to its surrounding community. I myself am a former Peak student, and I learned more in the three years there than I ever have. I Love Peak!


Posted September 5, 2008

We transferred from DISD. I have a child in the upper campus and the lower campus. I have to say I am very impressed with not only the level of academics, but the fact that the kids are challenged to be responsible and accountable. Likewise, Peak instills in them a spirit of excellence and a sense of responsibility and higher ethic. That's something I didn't see in public education. My only complaint is that the school s clerical administration seem to be disorganized and uninformed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2008

I am a student at Peak Advantage i do think that the school puts too much pressure on students but in a way it is good I personally think they are preparing us for college because in a college they wont tolerate mediocraty only ecellence over all the school is better than public schools but there might be better schools out there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 16, 2007

At this writing, Peak Advantage is run like an Alternative School or a reform school. They do have excellent teachers, for the most part, but the administration is is not fit to lead. Peak Academy (the lower school) is much better. Be very, very careful if you are not considered 'at risk' or 'disadvantaged.' They have no interest in serving your child, at least at Advantage (upper school). It's a shame, because the school could be so great, has so much potential, but they do not want diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2007

This school puts to much pessure on students.


Posted October 15, 2006

Peak Advantage helps children to reach the 'Peak' of their potential. At Peak Advantage kids are pushed to learn more at college prep level. It is a kind and trustworthy learning community. Everyone feels wanted and is accepted by others. There is not any unfair or unkind actions performed by any of the students. Peak Advantage now has a soccer team and a basketball team, and will have a football team in the fall.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2006

One of the best kept secrets in East Dallas. This school is a charter school and is funded by the state which means that while it is a private school it cost nothing to attend. The principal is very friendly and helpful. The school is new and secured with a high fence. The children are required to wear uniforms. The education standards are very high, well above what DISD accomplishes. This is truly a college prep school and it is multicultural. The only are we found it lacked in was sports. They have no programs and PE is lacking.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2011.

85 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2011.

88 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2011.

105 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

107 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 94% in 2011.

103 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

129 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

130 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2011.

128 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
99%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 95% in 2011.

127 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Female87%
Male84%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Special education83%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)64%
Proficient in English92%
Non-migrant85%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students88%
Female87%
Male88%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Special education78%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)78%
Proficient in English91%
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students96%
Female94%
Male98%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)92%
Proficient in English98%
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students93%
Female94%
Male93%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)85%
Proficient in English96%
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Writing

All Students98%
Female100%
Male96%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic98%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged98%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)95%
Proficient in English99%
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students99%
Female98%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic99%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged99%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students96%
Female97%
Male95%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Science

All Students95%
Female92%
Male98%
Black or African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Social Studies

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 63% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
92%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Female87%
Male93%
Black or African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special education67%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted89%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students82%
Female77%
Male90%
Black or African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special education50%
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Female88%
Male89%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special education100%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted89%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students95%
Female96%
Male94%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special education100%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)90%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted95%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students90%
Female96%
Male87%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special education60%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)90%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted90%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female97%
Male91%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education60%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)85%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students86%
Female79%
Male91%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Special education56%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)70%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted86%
Bilingualn/a

Social Studies

All Students82%
Female70%
Male91%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Special education44%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)60%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students71%
Female74%
Male69%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Special education33%
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)54%
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted71%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 91% 52%
Black 6% 13%
White 2% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander N/A 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 2%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 41%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 12%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • EMILY NOLEN
Fax number
  • (214) 370-3972

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1825 Market Center Boulevard
Dallas, TX 75207
Website: Click here
Phone: (214) 821-7325

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Middle Campus
Dallas, TX






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT