Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Uplift Education-Peak Prep Middle 5

Posted April 18, 2013
- a parent
This school is the best!! Peak has been more than what I have expected. I have read some of the comments other parents have posted and all I have to say is, if you and your child cant deal with the discipline here, what makes you think the world is any different. Children need correction and guidance and the school is taking the time to do this. Peak has the most understanding and compassionate teachers/staff members that I know. The staff will stay beyond their schedules and really dedicate time to the student's needs. The world is in complete utter confusion, what used to be good for students is now ignored and so the world conforms to the wants instead of the needs. We need to support schools like this because they care for the well being of our children and their future. How do you expect our children to overcome the competition and challenges in college if they are not given rigorous work now? We need to support our students and let the challenges face them now and work through it together. Let's not leave them without the tools to handle college and the world. I say all this in love for my children and yours, please do what is right for them and their future.

Uplift Education-Peak Prep Middle 1

Posted September 06, 2012
- a parent
Parents beware of this school, they will stress your kids to the highest extent. They brainwash the parents and kids to have them believe that they are the best school. They are no better than any other DISD school, they have the same problems or even worse problems than any normal public school. Parents your kids are only kids once and they do not deserve a boot camp environment. Supposedly they prepare the students for college but doesn't any high school do that already. The staff are hypocrites and rude to the students and parents. So glad we don't have to deal with their pickiness and over exaggerated discipline.


Uplift Education-Peak Prep Middle 1

Posted July 23, 2012
- a parent
We have been at Peak for 4 years. I have already taken one of my older children out of this school in the upper campus, and I am looking for another option for my younger child. I believe in developing the "whole" child, but the rules and discipline measures are unreasonable. We believe in strict discipline at home, but this school is just ridiculous at times. Proactive and planned communication is lacking. Office personnel in the primary campus are uninformed and rude. Parents are treated like and talked to like the children. It is difficult for English speaking parents to get involved and most events are scheduled during work hours, so working parents cannot participate. Mornings are stressful and the ridiculous measures they take in the name of "responsbility and discipline" make it difficult for the whole family.

Uplift Education-Peak Prep Middle 5

Posted June 06, 2012
- a parent
Because of Peak and a Great Jump Start at Kipp Truth my Granddaughter can not stop achieving greater heights. Thanks Peak

Uplift Education-Peak Prep Middle 1

Posted June 04, 2012
- a parent
unfair directors and teachers!! they kick my son out of this school just because he stand up of bullying he defend his self ..they know my son was right but they have to do what the school policy said..very disappointed of this super super the #1 super strict "school" in the world..


Uplift Education-Peak Prep Middle 3

Posted August 22, 2011
- a parent
Dear "Peak prep is an excellent school for any student. The learning environment is great and so are the teachers. I think that many people's reviews on this site are negative, because their children are not able to challenge themselves or they just are jealous of the excellent quality of education. (Peak is a student friendly campus and any action is only for a student to learn and excell). Peak has given and will keep giving wonderful learning experiances. That is why it is the 11th best school in the nation and will only get better and better. Only excellence will do" You need to go back to this school. 1. *so great, and so are the teachers. 2. No comma after negative. 3. "e themselves or they just are" either needs a comma, a semicolon with the "or" removed, or needs to be separated into two sentences. 4. *excel 5. *experiences I can see that you did not attend this school. If you did, I will be sure not to allow my child the same fate.

Uplift Education-Peak Prep Middle 1

Posted July 16, 2011
- a teacher
Worst School in Dallas. They Think They Are A Good school, But Kids Get Kicked out all The Time For Some Of the Dumbest Reasons Ever. There is A lot of Traffic In A Small School & Decisions are Based on What the Teachers Want.

Uplift Education-Peak Prep Middle 5

Posted June 02, 2011
- a community member
Peak prep is an excellent school for any student. The learning environment is great and so are the teachers. I think that many people's reviews on this site are negative, because their children are not able to challenge themselves or they just are jealous of the excellent quality of education. (Peak is a student friendly campus and any action is only for a student to learn and excell). Peak has given and will keep giving wonderful learning experiances. That is why it is the 11th best school in the nation and will only get better and better. Only excellence will do!


Uplift Education-Peak Prep Middle 1

Posted April 03, 2011
- a community member
Peak preparatory is an unsuccessful mediocre school. You get detention for 3 hours after and before school for asking a question withot raising your hands. If your uniform is out of order you get detention for 4 hours after school. Since all of them are mexicans if your white they will beat you up.They give you random tests and if you fail then they kick you out of the school.

Uplift Education-Peak Prep Middle 3

Posted April 02, 2011
- a parent
School is obsessed with TAKS and testing. Has not figured out yet that you can't fatten a calf by weighing it. As a result both students and teachers suffer with the lack of creativity allowed in the classroom in teaching and learning. Although demanding students to be accountable and responsible for actions and choices, overly concerned with silly rules where a minor uniform infraction results in the same detention time as a classroom disruption. Detention is run much llike a POW or concentration camp (missing are the yellow stars, growling dogs, and clubbing) where students sit at attention, forced to stare straight ahead without moving except for an occasional blink for a minimum of an hour. Surely there is a better use of time. Many teachers are inexperienced and are weak in classroom management. Detention is handed out rather than finding ways to engage students and positive discipline. On the positive side, classes are small (compared to DISD) and are single gender. Separating boys and girls at this age has definite advantages. Charter holder Uplift seems to be having growing pains like middle schoolers as they build out their adminstrative layers and add more schools.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Uplift Education-Peak Prep Middle
1825 Market Center Boulevard, Dallas, TX  75207
(214) 821-7325
Last modified Uplift Education-Peak Prep Middle is a Charter school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Uplift Education-Peak Prep Middle Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top