Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mckamy Elementary School 4

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
For the most part its a good school. But there is a communication breakdown between parents and teachers. Not to mention the dropoff and pick up line. That is more on the parents and needing to pay attention! Remembering we all have kids there, that's why we are there for either or! Math....don't understand it. Even when sample work has come home. What was wrong with how we learned to do math? It was faster and easier to understand. Reading levels on report cards! My son is an advanced reader, but the teacher has informed that his report can't show above grade level for the end of the year. This will hurt him, because when he starts the next year that teacher won't know and will start him at the beginning. No chance to get challenged and show how smart he truly is. That needs to be changed! Getting all parents involved. I always see the faces volunteering. Good for them, but why don't others want to help? Just remembering school is supposed to be fun and challenging at the same time. The children all learn in different ways and have different strengths and weaknesses.

Mckamy Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
My daughter's 3rd grade teacher was the best! We came to McKamy and she was behind, but by the end of the year (with a lot of hard work out of her and time, dedication from her teacher) she finished with all A's and B's and even passed the STARR test. Never had a teacher care so much.


Mckamy Elementary School 5

Posted October 27, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has gone to McKamy K-4 and my son K-2nd. The classes are a great size and the teachers truly care. My kiddos teachers communicate well with me and all of the staff take an interest in the kids. My daughter has blossomed in her love of Music under Mr Ferguson's tutelage. The core classes are taught with accuracy and the specials of music, art and p.e. help round out the education. The PTA is very active and the kids reap the benefits! The principal, Ms O'Connor, even helps direct traffic at pick up and drop off. Thats how close she is to the students, rather than being stuck behind a door.

Mckamy Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 27, 2015
- a parent
One way the staff at McKamy Elem develop our kids sense of honesty and fairness is the way they treat the kids. The teachers and staff are fair with grading and discipline and this spills over into the way our kids see the world.

Mckamy Elementary School 4

Posted April 22, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has been at McKamy for several years and loves it. She has had wonderful teachers who have a passion for teaching and truly enjoy their students. We have also met many wonderful families within this school. The Principal can be found outside at drop off line every morning and is available to parents. The music and art programs are wonderful. We have made a conscious choice to stay in the public school system with McKamy.


Mckamy Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
I thought kindergarten was got to be rough, my son has not been in school before he was at home with me. when we took him to meet the teacher he was not happy he wanted to stay at home with mommy! Well the first day of school came an I was shocked they made him feel so comfortable that he was " bye mommy an daddy see you later!" It has been 4 weeks an he LOVES it. He asks to go to school everyday an there is not just one teacher he talks about he talks about them all! LOVE this school LOVE the teacher an the principle.

Mckamy Elementary School 2

Posted August 15, 2013
- a parent
My daughter had a wonderful kindergarten experience with Miss Berk, but after kindergarten, it all went downhill. The principal should really focus on hiring more qualified and energetic teachers that actually want to help the students.

Mckamy Elementary School 3

Posted March 04, 2012
- a parent
I first posted on February 10, 2009. Since then I've become very disappointed in this school. I really enjoyed it when my child first attended. I know teachers have to do class work a certain way due to what the state requires. I can't understand any of my kids Math homework, I NEVER learned to work problems like that. How can I help with it or make sure it's done correctly? I would take the time to go to the classroom, take the teachers answer sheets & post them on a blog for parents to have an example to go by. My child is so frustrated with school! Grades have gone from all A's to barely passing grades. My child loved to read, now loathes it with a passion. My child doesn't even look forward to school anymore. The drop off & pick up at the school is horrible. Early kids start getting there a little after 7am. I've seen a few close calls of kids almost hit with a vehicle going through the cross walks in the mornings. There's no one out there until around 7:30am or after, that's when the first bell rings. Really would like to see that all schools had an online blog with homework examples for parents like me, that are lost without the visual help.


Mckamy Elementary School 1

Posted January 19, 2012
- a parent
Absolutely awful - they spend all day grading the kids behavior so they can send them home with a 1 page sheet about every minutiae of wiggling and talking every day, but are unwilling to help kids work on more advanced work, Many kids are bored to tears and are labeled "trouble makers". Our Kids went from Cs and Ds here, to all As and Bs at new school. High teacher turnover.

Mckamy Elementary School 5

Posted August 30, 2011
- a parent
We are starting our 10th year at McKamy and I cannot imagine having our kids anywhere else.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mckamy Elementary School
3443 Briargrove Lane, Dallas, TX  75287
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (972) 968-2400
Last modified Mckamy Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top