Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Dallas, TX
Students enrolled: 752
 

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ewell D Walker Middle School 3

Posted June 06, 2015
- a student
The overall environment was on-and-off uncomfortable and unsafe. The teachers, for the most part, sympathized with us dearly on the tiring work we had to endure, but others were ones that most people cowered under. For example, my friend, who tried avoiding her strict teacher one day because of her absents and low grades, was caught hiding in the reading classroom during lunch and was furiously yelled at, which caused her to run to the cafeteria and cry in front of us (she was usually an upbeat person). For example, the sick student who was forced to do push-ups for an extended period of time imposed by a gym teacher. Typically there were the "bad" kids who did anything to cause trouble and go against authority, which we had to brace the punishments because everyone was included in discipline. But when it got to the point that they were regularly blocking the stairwells during passing periods, placing stink bombs, throwing food fights almost every week, and causing a standoff between themselves and the principal in an emergency assembly because of "our" behavior, it was really, really annoying. I realized that there was barely any school spirit by the time I got to the last year. No one really comes to donate stuff in the boxes sent to charity (aka the people excessively reminding us that we have to). You can't go to a dance or event in this school without paying any money for food and such because of the low budget. And only about 10-15 people (including parents) show up to concerts. This school literally felt like I was in a prison. A month to the end of the school year, we had silent lunch because of several incidents. We were also strangely hunted down for being anywhere but in the cafeteria for lunch and were either kicked out of rooms or dashed to the most friendly teacher in the vicinity. Sometimes, when we were being exceptionally good, they released us outside into the courtyard for the last few min of lunch and treated it as recess. I noticed during a competition that most of us were being more hyper than the other schools' kids whenever we went to different places. It honestly made us so jealous of the freedom they had. I remember on the first day of school in 8th grade when 10 students were sent to ISS because they lacked a belt. I passed by a girl whispering to her friend, "This school's strict." Good luck.

Ewell D Walker Middle School 1

Posted May 20, 2015
- a student
This hell hole known as E.D. Walker Middle cares none about what happens to these students. As a scholar here events such as students caught having sex,smoking weed in the restrooms,teachers threatening and insulting students is just normal behavior at this school in which no punishment is necessary..


Ewell D Walker Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted May 20, 2015
- a student
Some teachers find it a much better idea to insult students and text than actually do their job.

Ewell D Walker Middle School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted May 20, 2015
- a student
No moral values are presented within thus school. I would rather have books thrown at my head than go here again.

Ewell D Walker Middle School 5

Posted June 13, 2014
- a community member
my son does not go to this school I am looking at but uniforms are much better no stress and what I have read it sounds excellant


Ewell D Walker Middle School 4

Posted October 13, 2013
- a parent
Very good school. Outstanding, caring faculty . New principal is a great visionary leader. It is the best education value in the area. I'm putting my $20,000 a year I was spending on private school into his college fund because of the quality of this school.

Ewell D Walker Middle School 5

Posted March 18, 2011
- a parent
I love this school.It has allot of activities and allot of principal leadership.The students work excellent there and my daughter always come happy from school.

Ewell D Walker Middle School 1

Posted August 17, 2009
- a parent
I'm a parent and i hate Dallas ISD its put to much pressure on us. the parents would rather it be were the children could wear anything they desire to school cause they have tons of close in the closet but every year and monthes just for DISD ONLY we have to buy uniforms over and over again. I think its just stupid. Carrolton is way better they dnt have uniforms. I would rather switch schools.


Ewell D Walker Middle School 5

Posted May 26, 2009
- a parent
We have a 6th grade girl that was having issues at another Dallas ISD middle school with bullying, lazy administration and an overall lack of structure in the school. Since being at E.D. Walker she has excelled and bloomed like a flower. She is now an A, B Honor Roll Student, Commended on Reading TAKS and 100% on Math TAKS. She is in honors math and works hard to do her homework to the best of her abilities. The administration including everyone from the support staff, security, administration and the teachers has been a strong positive influence on our Daughter. We are very much appreciative of this school and we highly recommend this school to anyone looking for a good Middle School educational experience in Dallas ISD. Thanks to all and it is nice to see a school being run properly in Dallas.

Ewell D Walker Middle School
no rating

Posted October 02, 2008
- a parent
Walker is awesome--the teachers are fantastic. My 6th grader LOVES science now! I am so glad we moved into the Walker area.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ewell D Walker Middle School
12532 Nuestra Drive, Dallas, TX  75230
(972) 502-6100
Last modified Ewell D Walker Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ewell D Walker Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top