Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Walker middle school is a high-performing middle school with the Texas education agency. For the 2016–2017 school year, Walker will be offering nine high school credit courses (algebra I, literary genres, creative writing, Mandren Chinese, Spanish, health and fitness, professional communication, astronomy, and intro to computer science ). It has an amazing two-way dual language program. Students are taught social studies and English language arts in Spanish. They also take a Mandarin Chinese class in the dual language program. It has a great dance, band, theater, LCC, athletics, and art program. Walker not only met standard, but earned five of six distinctions. It's an amazing school and it feels like family.
April 09, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Grateful to:
SCHOOL LEADER
All of the teachers at Walker middle school are a highly dedicated staff. Many teachers at Walker have been there for many years. They add stability to the school and contribute to the positive school climate.
Posted April 09, 2016

Amount of homework:
SCHOOL LEADER
Most of the homework is done in class. Students mostly do projects and not daily homework at home. Teachers assess student knowledge before they leave the classroom. Walker middle school has proven that students learn at a high rigor level because they score high on rigorous state assessments. Students at Walker earned five of six state distinctions with the Texas education agency evident in the schools accountability report. Students use Kagan learning strategies to teach and learn from each other in class, in addition to learning directly from the teachers. High leverage strategies are used at Walker middle school to learn in class. Homework is given as necessary, but demonstrations of learning are done on a daily basis in each class before student leave the classroom. Walker middle school uses "Depth of Knowledge" levels of rigor, which is a higher level of Bloom's Taxonomy, to instill hire rigor levels of learning in classrooms.
Posted April 09, 2016


Develops grit:
SCHOOL LEADER
Walker middle school has a fantastic two-way dual language program! Students are taught social studies and English language arts in Spanish. Students can also take Mandarin Chinese. Walker will be offering NINE high school credit courses to qualified 8th grade students in the 2016-2017 school year. It's a great school! It feels like family. It has an excellent cheer program, art, theater, LCC, band, orchestra, athletics, and dance programs. Students at Walker score high on state assessments. Walker has earned five of six distinctions with the Texas education agency. It's a hidden gem. Walker uses depth of knowledge and Kagan corporate of learning strategies to teach students to better each other and raise the rigor of teaching and learning.
Posted April 09, 2016

Develops empathy:
SCHOOL LEADER
Walker middle school has an excellent staff that is very caring and nurturing. Kids are treated like young adults and the staff tries to prepare them for high school.
Posted April 09, 2016

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Walker middle school is a high-performing middle school with the Texas education agency. For the 2016–2017 school year, Walker will be offering nine high school credit courses (algebra I, literary genres, creative writing, Mandren Chinese, Spanish, health and fitness, professional communication, astronomy, and intro to computer science ). It has an amazing two-way dual language program. Students are taught social studies and English language arts in Spanish. They also take a Mandarin Chinese class in the dual language program. It has a great dance, band, theater, LCC, athletics, and art program. Walker not only met standard, but earned five of six distinctions. It's an amazing school and it feels like family.
Posted April 09, 2016


Ewell D Walker Middle School 1

Posted March 09, 2016
- a student
This school is horrible. The principal, Dr. Stout does not know what she is doing. There have been 19 fights this semester alone. It all started when she announced on the intercom that if we fought, we would go to DAEP. Of course nothing happened to the people who fought, so everyone wants to fight now. Then she has is going to this draft class which we hate and the teachers hate. It shortens our classes that we really need. It causes us to have to attend 8 classes in one day. This is so tiring. The teachers even hate it. Supposedly, the principal wants the rich kids in the neighborhood to come to this school, so she doesn't want anyone to know what goes on here. Kids fight and there are no consequences. I actually fear for my life, but I can't go to another school because this is the school I'm assigned to. She doesn't even treat the teachers like professionals from what I hear. She makes them clock out as if they are hourly, plus she has them working 15 minutes past the district time. I know that part because my mom's friend is friends with a teacher there and she tells my mom. This school is on a one way trip to the bottom with the principal leading the way.

Ewell D Walker Middle School 5

Posted August 10, 2015
- a community member
I like math and band there so much fun for me I love band more better I play the flute

Ewell D Walker Middle School 3

Posted June 06, 2015
- a student
The overall environment was on-and-off uncomfortable and unsafe. The teachers, for the most part, sympathized with us dearly on the tiring work we had to endure, but others were ones that most people cowered under. For example, my friend, who tried avoiding her strict teacher one day because of her absents and low grades, was caught hiding in the reading classroom during lunch and was furiously yelled at, which caused her to run to the cafeteria and cry in front of us (she was usually an upbeat person). For example, the sick student who was forced to do push-ups for an extended period of time imposed by a gym teacher. Typically there were the "bad" kids who did anything to cause trouble and go against authority, which we had to brace the punishments because everyone was included in discipline. But when it got to the point that they were regularly blocking the stairwells during passing periods, placing stink bombs, throwing food fights almost every week, and causing a standoff between themselves and the principal in an emergency assembly because of "our" behavior, it was really, really annoying. I realized that there was barely any school spirit by the time I got to the last year. No one really comes to donate stuff in the boxes sent to charity (aka the people excessively reminding us that we have to). You can't go to a dance or event in this school without paying any money for food and such because of the low budget. And only about 10-15 people (including parents) show up to concerts. This school literally felt like I was in a prison. A month to the end of the school year, we had silent lunch because of several incidents. We were also strangely hunted down for being anywhere but in the cafeteria for lunch and were either kicked out of rooms or dashed to the most friendly teacher in the vicinity. Sometimes, when we were being exceptionally good, they released us outside into the courtyard for the last few min of lunch and treated it as recess. I noticed during a competition that most of us were being more hyper than the other schools' kids whenever we went to different places. It honestly made us so jealous of the freedom they had. I remember on the first day of school in 8th grade when 10 students were sent to ISS because they lacked a belt. I passed by a girl whispering to her friend, "This school's strict." Good luck.


Ewell D Walker Middle School 1

Posted May 20, 2015
- a student
This hell hole known as E.D. Walker Middle cares none about what happens to these students. As a scholar here events such as students caught having sex,smoking weed in the restrooms,teachers threatening and insulting students is just normal behavior at this school in which no punishment is necessary..

Ewell D Walker Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted May 20, 2015
- a student
Some teachers find it a much better idea to insult students and text than actually do their job.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ewell D Walker Middle School
12532 Nuestra Drive, Dallas, TX  75230
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (972) 502-6100
Last modified Ewell D Walker Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top