Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
1-6
Private
Dallas, TX

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Wesley Prep 5

Posted October 01, 2013
- a parent
I have two sons at Wesley Prep. Aside from tuition being much more reasonable than most private schools, the academic, social, and spiritual environment at WP is incomparable. My oldest son recently scored in the 99 percentile on the standardized test taken at many commensurable private and public schools (although standardized testing is only a small portion of the curriculum - the course study is both rigorous and creative with attention given to each individual student). The teachers and staff are committed and the class size is small. The families are welcoming and involved, and the kids' peers are fun and compassionate. Sports are adequately competitive for the respective grades (no high school rankings applicable here). My sons enjoy athletics and are involved in football, baseball, basketball, soccer and lacrosse. The parents are very involved in academics, athletics and social functions. We are confident our children will place in any of the upper schools they apply to. Wesley Prep is a wonderful school!

Wesley Prep 5

Posted August 13, 2012
- a parent
We have been very impressed with the love and attention our children have been shown at Wesley Prep. They both started in the Mother's Day Out program. The teachers are amazing and truly love the kids. My boys love going to school here and we look forward to another amazing year!


Wesley Prep 5

Posted July 23, 2012
- a parent
Wesley Prep has a phenomenal Mother s Day Out program. The school delivers on its promises to love and meet the needs of each child. We couldn t be happier with our decision to begin our daughter s transition to preschool here. We are looking forward to another great year!

Wesley Prep 5

Posted July 20, 2012
- a parent
Exceptional school with a truly amazing staff. Director Linda Altick has created a nurturing environment focused on academics and relationship building. My two children are having the experience of their lives at WP. Please add 7th and 8th Linda...we'll be there!

Wesley Prep 5

Posted July 05, 2012
- a parent
We love Wesley Prep! My child is very confident and loves learning because of the opportunities he has had at Wesley Prep. He is extremely well prepared to move on to middle school (both academically and socially). The graduating students are very well received. The attention that each child gets from teachers and administration is amazing! The staff knows each child - it feels like a family. The teachers have a passion for teaching and go above and beyond both inside the classroom and outside. The environment at Wesley Prep allows the students to focus on school and what is important without all the outside pressures that they will face when they get older. AND it is the best deal in town - very affordable compared to all the private schools in the Dallas area!!!


Wesley Prep 5

Posted July 03, 2012
- a parent
It is a shame that reviews tend to be skewed toward those folks with an isolated issue versus the hundreds who are very pleased but don't take the time to write. We are huge fans of the school! We have two children who have been at the school a combined 11 years (since 2005) and we could not be happier with the quality of academics, both for preschool and elementary. When our sixth graders graduate from WP, they go to the top middle schools in the area. The teachers at the school are so smart, talented, and passionate about their students and the curriculum is outstanding. Preschool is "right-sized" - giving the children the skills they need while allowing them to do it at the right time in their little lives. We have no doubt that our children are learning to be the best and have a solid foundation for their lives. You owe it to your child and your family to tour the school. You will know whether it is the right fit for you!

Wesley Prep 1

Posted June 05, 2012
- a parent
Terrible year. Terrible academics. Our child is so far behind we are now paying upwards of $200 per month to catch him up. Thought it would be a good year but only focus is on program and play and musical and open house etc... should have know from prior year but gave it a shot. Lower grades are fine, upper grades severely lacking. Whole school runs around a few teachers. The rest are left to try to teach in between performance rehearsals etc. save your money.

Wesley Prep 1

Posted May 28, 2011
- a parent
We had a horrible experience at this school. The teachers are highly variable so one year may be great and the next may be terrible. There are several new teachers who are wading their way through learning to teach so that is troublesome. The punishment is very heavy handed at all grade levels and there seems to be a culture of making small kids feel badly and not listening to the reasoning behind their actions. Subject matter taught is highly variable. Younger grades are great, higher grades lacking. We are moving our child to a different private school to ensure she is taught the basics as this school is heavy on performances, open houses, programs etc... but lacking in academics. If you care that you child have a somewhat classical education, look elsewhere. Lower tuition cannot make up for lack of learning that other places are offering.


Wesley Prep 0
no rating

Posted May 08, 2009
- a parent
So much can happen when you have stellar teachers, great curriculum, a nurturing environment and small class sizes. Wesley Prep has built an environment that is unmatched by any other school in Dallas. My children consider WP a home away from home. I challenge anyone to visit other private schools in Dallas and then come to Wesley Prep. It's unfortunate that the recent reviewer had a negative experience - If one is taking these views into consideration, I would strongly suggest a tour of the school. There are certainly no props and the smiles on students faces will speak for themselves. You too will see what I have experienced first hand..

Wesley Prep 0
no rating

Posted May 08, 2009
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. It provides students with great acdemics and a loving environment.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wesley Prep
9200 Inwood Road, Dallas, TX  75220
(214) 706-9568
Last modified Wesley Prep is a Private school that serves grades 1-6
Wesley Prep Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top