Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Kessler School

Private | PK-6 | 120 students

The Kessler School Educates the Whole Child.

 

Living in Dallas

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $210,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 17, 2013

The Kessler School is a community in every sense of the word. From teachers and students working together to learn new and better things to parents and teachers helping to add value to our programs. Everyone enjoys being at TKS every day. Shouldn't elementary school and learning be this fun for every child?
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 21, 2013

We became parents to a 7 yr old virtually overnight. Having lived in Oak Cliff for 20 years we were not keen on sending him to DISD and researched private schools all over the city. After much deliberation and consideration we decided on The Kessler School. I cannot begin to tell you how very glad we selected TKS - this school year was the first year for the new Head of School and the school is going in the most positive, creative and growing direction I have ever seen in any learning institution; her child also attends the school. (I, too, went to a private school). The Head of School is tireless in the planning and carrying out of well thought out objectives; the teachers are dedicated and caring and there is a strong parent-teacher organization. I cannot recommend this school strongly enough to parents with Pre-K thru 6 grade kids. By the way, after just the first year in Oak Cliff (she came from a North Dallas private school) this new Head of School was named Elementary School Educator of the Year by the Oak Cliff Chamber of Commerce.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2013

We have been at The Kessler School for four years now and it just keeps getting better and better! The new head of school is amazing and has brought unbelievable energy and passion to the school. The teachers and staff are equally as passionate about the school and helping kids learn. The small class sizes and dedicated teachers allow children of varying abilities to thrive and be successful. The various opportunities - art, Spanish, technology, music, PE, yoga, etc. - offered by a small school is really unique and enhances an already great school. We are looking forward to what the future holds for TKS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2012

My girls have been lucky enough to be at the Kessler School for the last 3 years. We were looking for small class sizes with an individual teaching strategy. My girls are very smart but learn in different ways. We wanted the teachers to be able to individualize the curriculum and excellerate their progress in areas of strength while catching up areas of weakness. The whole child approach includes academics, citizenship, health and social skills. While we don't live in Oak Cliff we have found student and parent friendships easy to make. All the grades mix in social, creative and academic ways. This leads the upper grade students to know all the lower grade kids names and be very protective of them. It is a safe ,creative, academic and social enviornment. Based on the girls progress we have been very pleased with the school. Recent upgrades in technology have enhanced the program further. We love our school. GO OWLS!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2012

We have been involved with the Kessler School for four years. I have a 1st grader and a PreK student. We were looking for a nurturing environment with a focus on the arts, low student to teacher ratios, and an environment that would instill a passion for learning. When both our children attended the half-day Pre-K program, they were so upset when we picked them up at noon because they wanted to stay all day so we ended up putting each one in full day program beginning the second semester. We are excited about the recent changes and look for to another great year of learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2012

After giving public schools a shot, we finally settled in to the nurturing setting of the Kessler School over 10 years ago. The best move we have ever made for our 4 children. Besides having had an excellent curriculum, my kids had Spanish daily and Art, Music and P.E at least twice a week. In addition, they had the opportunity to private piano and strings lessons. Tuition has always been quite low especially in respect of the programs being offered. 3 of our kids have already outgrown TKS but they remember the school and its teachers fondly. My husband and I are grateful to the Kessler School because it provided the base for our older children to become productive and responsible young adults. Our youngest is 10 and therefore still a work in progress. But we already see signs that he, too, is profiting greatly from being part of the Kessler School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2012

The Kessler School is adequate. There is certainly nothing wrong with their programs. (The art program is wonderful.) I cannot find anything that justifies the extreme tuition. The Rosemont School offers programs that are every bit as good, but already are paid for by your property taxes. Other than the perceived superiority of a "private school" over a "public school" there is nothing offered at The Kessler School that you cannot find elsewhere.


Posted February 5, 2012

I am a parent of a preschooler and know that my child is loved, given many opportunities for free-play, outdoor play, social development and age appropriate activities. He is given patient discipline and guidance. If you visit TKS you will find a caring, welcoming community and diverse learning environment fit to further your child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2012

The Kessler School community is student centric in every way. The students are successfully transitioning to prestigious private schools throughout the Metroplex in particular as they enter middle school. The faculty is incredibly collaborative, the students are highly engaged learning real world concepts that are relevant to the 21st century, and the parents are incredibly active in all aspects of the school's mission - To Educate the Whole Child.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 17, 2011

Great Nurturing Environment The Kessler School has exceeded our expectations-We have had our 2 girls at TKS since they were in PreK. Our children have benefited from the strong academic balanced with art, music, community service, physical education and after school programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2011

Without going into too much detail, my only response is this. Please do a thorough review of this school before you send your child there. Ask about curriculum (ask to see it in detail). Most importantly, ask to view the director's credentials and the credentials of the staff. Ask to see which textbooks are being used (and ask to visually examine one) and look at the overall condition of the school. I think if you follow all of the advice above, you will most certainly decide to send your child elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2008

The Kessler School has been a wonderful environment for my two children (grades 2nd & 4th). The low student/teacher ratios, personal attention and the excellent language, fine arts, music and p.e. programs really do encourage the age-appropriate development for PreK - Grade 4 aged children. The Kessler School is committed to the welfare and education of the 'whole' child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 31%
Black 27% 13%
Hispanic 14% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 3% 4%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • PSIA Academic Awards (2013)
  • PSIA Academic Awards (2012)
  • PSIA Academic Awards (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Drama club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:45 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Alison Beazley
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • CASI & NAEYC,NAEYC,SACS
Fax number
  • (214) 942-1223

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Religious
  • Service learning
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Language Lab Program
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses for field trips
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Sports are taught in PE
Girls sports
  • Sports are taught in PE

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Computer Club
  • Drama club
  • Game club
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
120
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
130

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $10000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bishop Dunne
ESD
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1215 Turner Ave
Dallas, TX 75208
Website: Click here
Phone: (214) 942-2220

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT