Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Kessler School 5

Posted October 17, 2013
- a teacher
The Kessler School is a community in every sense of the word. From teachers and students working together to learn new and better things to parents and teachers helping to add value to our programs. Everyone enjoys being at TKS every day. Shouldn't elementary school and learning be this fun for every child?

The Kessler School 5

Posted May 21, 2013
- a parent
We became parents to a 7 yr old virtually overnight. Having lived in Oak Cliff for 20 years we were not keen on sending him to DISD and researched private schools all over the city. After much deliberation and consideration we decided on The Kessler School. I cannot begin to tell you how very glad we selected TKS - this school year was the first year for the new Head of School and the school is going in the most positive, creative and growing direction I have ever seen in any learning institution; her child also attends the school. (I, too, went to a private school). The Head of School is tireless in the planning and carrying out of well thought out objectives; the teachers are dedicated and caring and there is a strong parent-teacher organization. I cannot recommend this school strongly enough to parents with Pre-K thru 6 grade kids. By the way, after just the first year in Oak Cliff (she came from a North Dallas private school) this new Head of School was named Elementary School Educator of the Year by the Oak Cliff Chamber of Commerce.


The Kessler School 5

Posted March 07, 2013
- a parent
We have been at The Kessler School for four years now and it just keeps getting better and better! The new head of school is amazing and has brought unbelievable energy and passion to the school. The teachers and staff are equally as passionate about the school and helping kids learn. The small class sizes and dedicated teachers allow children of varying abilities to thrive and be successful. The various opportunities - art, Spanish, technology, music, PE, yoga, etc. - offered by a small school is really unique and enhances an already great school. We are looking forward to what the future holds for TKS!

The Kessler School 5

Posted December 11, 2012
- a parent
My girls have been lucky enough to be at the Kessler School for the last 3 years. We were looking for small class sizes with an individual teaching strategy. My girls are very smart but learn in different ways. We wanted the teachers to be able to individualize the curriculum and excellerate their progress in areas of strength while catching up areas of weakness. The whole child approach includes academics, citizenship, health and social skills. While we don't live in Oak Cliff we have found student and parent friendships easy to make. All the grades mix in social, creative and academic ways. This leads the upper grade students to know all the lower grade kids names and be very protective of them. It is a safe ,creative, academic and social enviornment. Based on the girls progress we have been very pleased with the school. Recent upgrades in technology have enhanced the program further. We love our school. GO OWLS!!!

The Kessler School 5

Posted August 26, 2012
- a parent
We have been involved with the Kessler School for four years. I have a 1st grader and a PreK student. We were looking for a nurturing environment with a focus on the arts, low student to teacher ratios, and an environment that would instill a passion for learning. When both our children attended the half-day Pre-K program, they were so upset when we picked them up at noon because they wanted to stay all day so we ended up putting each one in full day program beginning the second semester. We are excited about the recent changes and look for to another great year of learning!


The Kessler School 5

Posted July 07, 2012
- a parent
After giving public schools a shot, we finally settled in to the nurturing setting of the Kessler School over 10 years ago. The best move we have ever made for our 4 children. Besides having had an excellent curriculum, my kids had Spanish daily and Art, Music and P.E at least twice a week. In addition, they had the opportunity to private piano and strings lessons. Tuition has always been quite low especially in respect of the programs being offered. 3 of our kids have already outgrown TKS but they remember the school and its teachers fondly. My husband and I are grateful to the Kessler School because it provided the base for our older children to become productive and responsible young adults. Our youngest is 10 and therefore still a work in progress. But we already see signs that he, too, is profiting greatly from being part of the Kessler School.

The Kessler School 3

Posted May 31, 2012
- a community member
The Kessler School is adequate. There is certainly nothing wrong with their programs. (The art program is wonderful.) I cannot find anything that justifies the extreme tuition. The Rosemont School offers programs that are every bit as good, but already are paid for by your property taxes. Other than the perceived superiority of a "private school" over a "public school" there is nothing offered at The Kessler School that you cannot find elsewhere.

The Kessler School 5

Posted February 05, 2012
- a parent
I am a parent of a preschooler and know that my child is loved, given many opportunities for free-play, outdoor play, social development and age appropriate activities. He is given patient discipline and guidance. If you visit TKS you will find a caring, welcoming community and diverse learning environment fit to further your child's education.


The Kessler School 5

Posted February 02, 2012
- a teacher
The Kessler School community is student centric in every way. The students are successfully transitioning to prestigious private schools throughout the Metroplex in particular as they enter middle school. The faculty is incredibly collaborative, the students are highly engaged learning real world concepts that are relevant to the 21st century, and the parents are incredibly active in all aspects of the school's mission - To Educate the Whole Child.

The Kessler School 4

Posted November 17, 2011
- a parent
Great Nurturing Environment The Kessler School has exceeded our expectations-We have had our 2 girls at TKS since they were in PreK. Our children have benefited from the strong academic balanced with art, music, community service, physical education and after school programs.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Kessler School
1215 Turner Ave, Dallas, TX  75208
(214) 942-2220
Last modified The Kessler School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
The Kessler School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top