Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. John's Episcopal School

Private | PK-8

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Dallas

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $213,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $990.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 7, 2014

The education is not worth the money spent. It is a beautiful campus with fabulous amenities inside but the education is lacking. My child was well above grade level. We met with the teacher, head of the lower school, and head of the school to discuss options. They were less than accommodating. We asked that our child be put in a higher grade for specific subjects and were told no. We asked the teacher for extra work. Her answer was initially no because she didn't want the other students to feel bad because they couldn't complete the same work. Eventually, extra work was sent home (but I can do that) she wasn't challenged while in school. We were also told that "in a few years all of the kids would be on a similar level and it wouldn't be an issue."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2013

St. John's Episcopal is an outstanding school! I have had 3 kids go through and all received excellent academics. They were well prepared for their college prep high school and gone on to enroll in honors programs in college. The best part of the school are the values and ethics that they learn. You'll find no other school like it in Dallas!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2013

Teachers at this school are not well trained, and many have never met requirements to teach their subject matter. At least a third of this school's students are "learning-challenged" and consequently subject matter is dumbed way down. If college preparation is what you're seeking for your son or daughter, please avoid St Johns Dallas.


Posted June 13, 2013

This is an outstanding school. Education is thorough, teachers are compassionate, moral character is modeled. Very good school. My son excelled in his kindergarten here. Parents are engaged but not over aggressive. Great curriculum, even in the younger years. Love that there is Christian teaching as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2013

We live in East Dallas and have a child at St. John's who was previously in a well-regarded North Dallas preschool. We had the option of continuing in the North Dallas path, but after much research decided on St. John's and have been very happy there. Regarding academics, with some research I think you'll find that St. John's compares favorably with many of the North Dallas schools. In our research, we obtained information from admissions folks at Jesuit and Ursuline, met with a private school consultant, and generally picked the brains of parents who are plugged into the private school scene. The consensus was St. John's compares favorably with ESD, Good Shepherd, Parish, St. Monica, St. Rita, etc. We've been very happy there, but I would encourage you to do your own research in that regard and not rely too much on statements from anonymous posters on a website.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2013

St. Johns wants to charge big private school tuition and provide a second tier private school education. Everyone is expected to function at an average level and no accommodations are made for brighter students. Our child came in at a later grade and I agree with the other poster that the community is not very welcoming. Not all children are invited to participate in grade level sports teams and other social activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2012

There are way too many kids with learning and behavioral issues that dominate the teacher's time. Young children are also forced to sit in chapel for an hour at a time. We have seem little focus on academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2012

This school is nurturing and progressive. We have two kids here with learning difficulties. The teachers and principals are very accomodating to their needs. Our kids are made to feel welcome and not different. the xtra curriculars are amazing. I will keep our kids here until the 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2011

I love this school. We have 3 kids here. They are in the lower school. All are challenged academically, yet they are on different levels. The communication with teachers is good to excellent. I am looking forward to the next 8 years here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2010

Good programs for learning, but I feel that we could receive same in public. The art, spanish, and music programs are very poor. The art teacher is very rigid...there is a right way to draw and it is her way. She gives no room for individuality. They have no instrument programs except to provide after school lessons for piano, guitar, or violin. The spanish was fantastic, but with a new teacher this year I never hear any spanish from my child as I had in the past. She can't tell me anything that she learns. I feel that maybe as our daughter gets older that the academics will be better, but I am becoming skeptical. If I could move to an area that had a good public option we would move tomorrow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2010

1. disappointing experience of being double-crossed by a teacher who wrote a horrible recommendation yet a glamorous report card. 2. not worth the tuition, for what has been taught. You can buy better, but you cannot pay more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2010

As an alum of St. John's I cannot say enough good things about the education I received there. Warm and supportive community and teachers combined with the academic strength of the school makes it the perfect place for a child to grow. Upon entering a challenging prepschool for highschool, I found myself more than prepared with my St. John' background.


Posted December 2, 2009

The school has high academic standards which get more challenging each year especially the middle school. Many private high schools will say St John's kids are among the most prepared and that college entrance is relatively comfortable once they've gone through prep for high school interviews and entrance. There needs to be a focused balance between homework and extra curr once the kids get older - maintaining high academic standards without making homework too overwhelming. The school definitely provides kids with ample opportunity to boost self esteem and confidence in speaking and presenting or performing in front of others. It's hard to describe this special characteristic of the school but is an amazing outcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

Fabulous school all around. A loving and nurturing environment with high academic standards. Wonderful teachers, wonderful students. I just can't say enough good things about St. John's.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

848 Harter Rd
Dallas, TX 75218
Phone: (214) 328-9131

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Dallas Academy
Dallas, TX






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT