Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. John's Episcopal School 5

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
We love St. John's. It's been a wonderful and nurturing environment for our 1st grader. She was a little shy and timid her first few weeks of Kindergarten, but with the help of a great teacher, she was able to quickly acclimate to her new school. Overall the education has been wonderful. I feel she is progressing nicely. The teachers and communication are top notch. An added bonus is a wonderful group of kids and parents that go beyond the boundaries of the school. I highly recommend this as a place, where your child can grow and develop in their formative years.

St. John's Episcopal School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
So far, we've loved everyone on staff, especially our teacher Mr. Minton and Mrs. Crabtree.


St. John's Episcopal School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted August 20, 2015
- a parent
The good teachers encourage the students to keep trying and putting their best effort forward.

St. John's Episcopal School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted August 20, 2015
- a parent
Some teachers do and others don't. Like many other things at the school, these things are all "concepts"

St. John's Episcopal School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted August 20, 2015
- a parent
Leadership isn't honest and fair and acts without any integrity. Can't expect kids to have these traits.


St. John's Episcopal School 3

Posted August 20, 2015
- a parent
There are some excellent, tenured faculty in this school who truly are committed to teaching children. The iPad program in the early grades causes more heartache and distraction than it contributes to learning. The East Dallas real estate market is at an all time best with average days on market less than 60 days. St. John's current enrollment is 30 students short of full while other private schools in the area enjoy a waiting list. I think this says all you need to know.

St. John's Episcopal School 5

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
Our family is new to St. John's this year and we couldn't be happier with the school. The teachers, staff and parents have all made our transition into the lower school easy and enjoyable. Academically my children have been challenged with grade appropriate work. They have also been encouraged and supported by their teachers, who have all been very welcoming to my questions and input. Prior to St. John's, my kids attended a well regarded DISD elementary - however we found the school to be too disorganized and the academics to be geared to pass tests instead of educate. My children received mostly A's at public school and have had to step it up at St. John's to maintain an A/B average. St. John's has daily recess time, and twice weekly art, music, PE and Spanish in the lower grades. The time spent in the academic classes is used efficiently. If you live in the East Dalla area and are looking for an excellent education, smaller classes, caring teachers and staff, friendly families and a neighborhood alternative to DISD, St. John's should be at the top of your list.

St. John's Episcopal School 5

Posted November 28, 2014
- a parent
This is one great school in Dallas. It really prepares the kid for not only high school but later life as well.


St. John's Episcopal School 5

Posted September 19, 2014
- a parent
Having experienced lower school and middle school with a bright child, I would put St. John's up against any school in Dallas - and I went to ESD and St. Alcuin. Not just for education but for developing the whole child. I am also an employee. No school is perfect but this one strives to "be better" each year. Independent schools are required to go through an exhaustive, internal year-long study and outside evaluation by an impartial third-party team of educators. The evaluators had a hard time recommending areas of growth for St. John's. It's a very healthy school.

St. John's Episcopal School 1

Posted July 31, 2014
- a parent
I see why learning-challenged or lesser academically gifted young people might be in their comfort zone here, surrounded by trees and flowers and teachers who are more encouraged to sooth than to instruct. Many instructors lack certification in their field. If your son or daughter is college bound and you seek a good pre-college education for him or her, avoid St John's.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. John's Episcopal School
848 Harter Rd, Dallas, TX  75218
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (214) 328-9131
Last modified St. John's Episcopal School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top