Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

With the 2015-2016 school year, Mount St. Michael Catholic School enters its thirtieth (30th) year forming students in courageous virtue grounded in the truth of Christ. Students receive an academically solid, spiritually rich education like no other among Catholic schools. Each day begins with the celebration of Mass. The foundations of learning begin with the Accredited Preschool (3K-5K) Montessori. Children enter the 1st-8th Classical Academy well prepared. An MSMCS education engages students through the study of Latin (3K-8th), Logic (7th/8th), History (1st-8th), Literature, Dancing Classrooms (5th-8th), Athletics (K-8th), Music (3K-8th), Art (1st-8th), Iconography (7th/8th), the disciplines of Science and Singapore Math, and more. Reserve your place at one of our Tuesday Tours to see an MSMCS education in action. Call 214-337-0244. Tuesday Tours 8:00 am Mass with the children 8:45 am Info Session & Tour 9:40 am Q&A 10:00 am End
May 05, 2015

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

13 reviews of this school


Mount St. Michael Catholic School
no rating

Posted May 05, 2015
- a school leader
With the 2015-2016 school year, Mount St. Michael Catholic School enters its thirtieth (30th) year forming students in courageous virtue grounded in the truth of Christ. Students receive an academically solid, spiritually rich education like no other among Catholic schools. Each day begins with the celebration of Mass. The foundations of learning begin with the Accredited Preschool (3K-5K) Montessori. Children enter the 1st-8th Classical Academy well prepared. An MSMCS education engages students through the study of Latin (3K-8th), Logic (7th/8th), History (1st-8th), Literature, Dancing Classrooms (5th-8th), Athletics (K-8th), Music (3K-8th), Art (1st-8th), Iconography (7th/8th), the disciplines of Science and Singapore Math, and more. Reserve your place at one of our Tuesday Tours to see an MSMCS education in action. Call 214-337-0244. Tuesday Tours 8:00 am Mass with the children 8:45 am Info Session & Tour 9:40 am Q&A 10:00 am End

Mount St. Michael Catholic School 5

Posted May 05, 2015
- a parent
Our family enjoyed some of the beautiful traditions of MSMCS last week and I wanted to share. Our oldest is in 5tg grade and just completed the Dancing Classroom Series with her class. The children learned some lovely dances but more importantly learned how to interact together and do something beautiful. This really gels with their virtue based classical curriculum. Such a neat experience. Later in the week our second grader redonned his suit to help crown Our Lady. He was so excited that he has received Holy Communion daily with his class for over 2 weeks. To finish off the week we watched our Eagles play one soccer game and 2 softball games. So fun! Our school is small but it has a big heart.


Mount St. Michael Catholic School 5

Posted May 04, 2015
- a parent
I have been a parent of children at Mount Saint Michael Catholic school for 9 years. From my first meeting at Mount Saint Michael I knew it was a special place, guided by a deep and profound faith in and love of Christ and a commitment to educate and form their students with that faith and love as the guiding principle. The spirituality there was unique among other Catholic schools I had visited. The classical liberal arts curriculum is superb and a perfect complement to the faith formation. My children have grown and thrived at the school, learning how to think critically about the world around them, informed with an historical perspective that gives them a deeper understanding of themselves, their faith, and ultimately their vocation in the world. With 5 children now attending Mount St. Michael, I feel continually blessed by this community of committed parents, teachers, and staff and have seen the fruits of their education and faith formation in countless ways over the years. I thank God every day that He led our family to Mount St. Michael and hope that other families will be able to experience all of the gifts that Mount St. Michael has to offer.

Mount St. Michael Catholic School 5

Posted April 23, 2015
- a parent
Best religious formation we've ever experienced. Mass is required each morning and celebrated by Discalced Carmelite priests who are both joyful and entirely loyal to Church teaching. Basically every teacher is deeply devout, faithful, experienced, educated, intellectually curious, clever and nurturing. Very low teacher turnover. Some teachers are charismatic Catholics, and they are particularly fine Christians. Our youngest is now in the junior high; the average amount of teaching experience for his junior high teachers is 25+ years. Three of our children have attended the school; all say it was one of the best things we ever did for them. A few anecdotes: (i) the school's semi-annual "Spirit Rallies" are student-led pep rallies for the HOLY SPIRIT, (ii) after 4 years of ballroom dancing (required for grades 5 - 8), our sons know how to treat a lady, and our daughter demands to be treated like a lady (and, our kids know every ballroom dance--the waltz, tango, foxtrot, jitterbug, salsa--you name it), (iii) the junior high art class is icon-painting, (iv) the boys and girls basketball coaches are terrific and (v) many families drive 20 miles each way to attend.

Mount St. Michael Catholic School 5

Posted April 23, 2015
- a parent
We have two children at MSMCS and one that graduated from the school. Our oldest son was greatly prepared to be admitted to Jesuit through the classical curriculum, opportunities to participate in a number of sports activities, and a way to not only learn his faith but also to put into practice through a number of clubs and activities. Our other two sons are currently students at the school and have caring and academically demanding teachers that challenge them and provide supports to have them excel. This is an incredible school that not only nurtures your child but also the whole family.


Mount St. Michael Catholic School 5

Posted December 02, 2014
- a parent
Our child is thriving at MSMCS - the classical education and focus on both spiritual and academic growth are unique in Dallas. This is a very diverse community with families and staff that are warm and welcoming. The principal is very engaged and dedicated to the success of the school and students. Many of the teachers have over 20 years of experience. The facilities need improvement and the school appears to be looking at ways to address it. Our entire family has grown through our involvement with MSMCS. I would recommend to any families that value a classic Catholic education in a diverse community.

Mount St. Michael Catholic School 1

Posted February 24, 2014
- a parent
This school is based on gossip and people thinking they are more superior than others. They do not appreciate parents that volunteer their time and donate their money. Instead they treat them with disrespect. It is a shame that just because they are a Catholic school they think they are the "perfect role models" and they don't sin but want to judge others on their sins and ways of living.

Mount St. Michael Catholic School 1

Posted October 02, 2013
- a parent
Our experience has not been positive at all. If you've read a review written by a parent there's some likelihood the parent is a staff member. This school spends most of its budget on staff and personnel. They made the claim that the cost of educating a child at this school far exceeds the tuition they charge. Well if they didn't hire all their friends and family the costs wouldn't be so high. For the size of the school and number of students it is amazing the number of personnel employed there.They spend the remaining budget on everything else except building and maintaince repair or copy paper or qualified teachers. The grounds are a mess. The playground is a health and safety hazard. There are potholes and cracks everywhere. Not sure if all teachers possess a T.E.A. certification. They claim to be a virtue based program but gossip and are unprofessional. Be weary of the fake smiles and pretense of piety. This school is a crock. Find a school that respects the children and parents.


Mount St. Michael Catholic School 5

Posted November 28, 2012
- a parent
We have been involved at Mount St Michael for 13 years and I can't imagine sending our kids anywhere else! We love the teachers and staff. The students are encouraged to grow in their personal relationship with God while being challenged academically and prepared well for high school. The office staff and principal work hard to communicate clearly and often with the parents. I do not have to worry about what influences our children are being exposed to or that they will be taught something contrary to our Catholic faith.

Mount St. Michael Catholic School 5

Posted November 14, 2012
- a parent
We have been at MSMC for 3 years. It's been a wonderful experience both academically and spiritually. The teaching of a solid Catholic foundation is supported by the classical curriculum, montessori pre-K/K, daily mass, and virtue formation. MSMCS is a jewel of a school with excellent, loving teachers and a supportive staff.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mount St. Michael Catholic School
4500 W Davis, Dallas, TX  75211
(214) 337-0244
Last modified Mount St. Michael Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Mount St. Michael Catholic School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top