Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Dallas, TX
Students enrolled: 954

3 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


33 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


William Hawley Atwell Law Academy 1

Posted June 20, 2014
- a teacher
This school has so many discipline problems that it is difficult to teach. Everything that happens is somehow the teacher's fault. Teachers and administrators are not on the same page which is why the kids run the school.

William Hawley Atwell Law Academy 1

Posted May 19, 2014
- a parent
Over population causes issues. Whomever posted that maybe one who didn't like the school because their child is bad is obviously in need of school themselves. Learn how to spell before you talk about people and their children. By the way you should say their instead of their. Plus they need police security.


William Hawley Atwell Law Academy 5

Posted July 20, 2012
- a community member
who ever is saying atwell is not a good school there just lying because maybe there kid is a bad kid because i go there and all my teachers push to my limits yea it get boring from all the work but you are still learning and the sport we got good couches hat show us discipline

William Hawley Atwell Law Academy 5

Posted May 24, 2012
- a community member
atwell has the top students in disd so all you who talking about how sad atwell is think again we work hard

William Hawley Atwell Law Academy 1

Posted February 13, 2012
- a community member
So sad. Lack of leadership and discipline from admiistraters. Teachers selling bootleg videos to students. Only could stand teaching there one year.


William Hawley Atwell Law Academy 5

Posted February 11, 2012
- a parent
first of all Atwell is the best middle school a preteen could ever go to and i believe that if you send your child there they will become one of the most successful adult....... my child is now a lawyer and he went to Atwell for three years and i will never let you people disrespect that good school.

William Hawley Atwell Law Academy 1

Posted December 06, 2011
- a parent
Goodness! I was so excited to finally find a school that I thought my daughter would be comfortable with in the 6th grade, but after reading the reviews of students and parents, I am seriously considering not even attending the open house this week. I seriously expected to hear more postive reviews than negative. I expect professionalism and respect from teaches and adminstrators, and if I am not going to see this, then its not the school for us. Thank you to those who have written reviews and your honesty.

William Hawley Atwell Law Academy 1

Posted April 19, 2011
- a parent
The worst public school in the state of Texas I have encountered! Unprofessional and ignorant staff and administrators. They are verbally abusive to the students and lack control and supervision. You would do better home schooling.


William Hawley Atwell Law Academy 4

Posted March 27, 2011
- a community member
i have been to William H. Atwell and even though the school isn't the best, it is still a good school. it has taught me a lot about smarts. Yeah there are fights up there but what school doesn't have a fight. If you raised your child well then they wouldn't be in drama!! I love W.H.Atwell! W.H.Atwell helped me get to the best magnet school ever.....YVONNE EWELL TOWNVIEW MAGNET CENTER

William Hawley Atwell Law Academy 1

Posted September 09, 2010
- a community member
I am currently a student attending Atwell Middle School and although it pains me to say this, i can not be dishonest. If you are a parent/guardian and you're considering sending a minor to this school PLEASE RECONSIDER!! Of all my years at this school I have yet to understand it's disciplinary system, code of conduct, and over all lack of professionalism to say the least. Most teachers and/or staff act as children themselves and participate in the "buddy system" or "clicking up". If you love your child... do no put them through this magnitude of pure hell. Do not say you were not sincerely warned.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

William Hawley Atwell Law Academy
1303 Reynoldston Lane, Dallas, TX  75232
(972) 794-6400
Last modified William Hawley Atwell Law Academy is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
William Hawley Atwell Law Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top