Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
42 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 43 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hillcrest High School 4

Posted August 22, 2014
- a community member
School has absolutely great teachers, but bullying is an awful problem. Principals are mediocre, and the bag checks are .. excessive.

Hillcrest High School 2

Posted May 26, 2013
- a community member
This school was great once upon a time, however, it is quickly going downhill. Scores in all areas are plummeting. The leadership is allowing the school to continue to decline by creating an environment of hostility that causes teachers to leave. There are so many great teachers leaving and retiring this year that it is only going to get worse. It's sad to see a great school that turns into something as bad as this one has.


Hillcrest High School 5

Posted November 10, 2012
- a student
As a Hillcrest alumni, I will tell you that this school is truthfully an excellent school. The AP scores are substantial (and way better than woodrow's), and as long as you're a student that cares about their grades and works hard then you will succeed at this school. Basically if you slack then the teachers wont waste their time on you, but if you show interest then the teachers will help you learn. That's why this high school shapes such great minds, it forces you to do things yourself instead of having your teachers hand everything to you. Could use a better football team... basketball is great. Lots of minorities but odds are you wont have to deal with the trouble making hoodrats if you stick to ap and pre ap classes and do extra curricular. Lots of fun, truly a great high school experience all in all!

Hillcrest High School 2

Posted December 12, 2009
- a student
As a student of Hillcrest High School, I can say honestly that this school is average. The only reason I gave this two stars is because of the teachers. The teachers try their best to help every student be successful and get his/her education. The students behavior is appalling. Half don't care about their education and are a roadblock in other students trying to get their education. I enjoy the after school activities and that's the only thing I like about Hillcrest. If you care about your teenager's education, don't send your teen to school here. They will be much better off somewhere else which proves my point of trying to get out of Hillcrest as fast as humanely possible.

Hillcrest High School 5

Posted September 16, 2008
- a community member
HHS has a lot of courses like DIgital Graphics and Animation, and other great computer classes that no other school offer. I learned so many things there and I was able to graduate in 3 years!n By taking Credit by exams, and attending their after school programs. Its all about taking in consideration what this scool has to offer, and you'll be succesful!


Hillcrest High School 4

Posted July 22, 2008
- a student
I am a graduate of HHS, and a graduate of College. The experience is one I will never forget. Strong community support, well knowledge instructors, just a great school overall!

Hillcrest High School 5

Posted January 29, 2008
- a student
This school is full of people who care about the students and their education. They do not only act as teachers but friends as well. The student body as a whole is actually quite impressive; they all try to get along and help each other. This is in deed one of the best schools, if not the best, in DISD.

Hillcrest High School 5

Posted October 17, 2007
- a student
This is one of the best school in the DISD because is not like one of those schools were there is a lot of fights. This school offers many AP courses for you to take.


Hillcrest High School 5

Posted June 07, 2007
- a parent
I give Hillcrest High School a 9 only because there is always room for improvement. Both of my daughters attended this school, one will graduate 2010. The Principal is great (student comes first attitude) teachers, administrative staff all awesome. GO Panthers!

Hillcrest High School 1

Posted May 26, 2007
- a parent
I think this school does not meet the needs of people with special needs. Where are these kids? Not included into regular classrooms or the level of involvement with peers is not happening. The principal remains unavailable and nothing gets done.

Nearby schools

Hillcrest High School
9924 Hillcrest Road, Dallas, TX  75230
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. (972) 502-6800
Last modified Hillcrest High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top