Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

William Lipscomb Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 532 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 13, 2014

Lipscomb has come along way since our children began attending. We have a new magnetic principal along with a perennially strong PTA. Teachers here care about their students and will work hard to meet their individual needs. Make an appointment with our Principal, Ms. Rodriquez, and find out how great Lipscomb has become.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2013

We continue to be very happy with our children's education at W. Lipscomb! Our boys are now in 4th and 3rd grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

my son is in first grade at this school and we were here last year as well..i liked both teachers but for the school very unorganized and they don't inform the parents of meetings or changes till the day of...i
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2012

We have two children at Lipscomb -- a kindergartner and a 2nd grader -- and we've really fallen in love with this school. The teachers are energetic and obviously very dedicated to providing an amazing learning environment for the kids. The garden that was added last year is now fully planted and flourishing as an outdoor classroom. There are a number of extracurricular activities available, including Boy Scouts, Girl Scouts, Choir, Guitar Club and soccer. Yes, there are many parents who don't speak English, but it's a diverse community and that's to be expected. The benefits of this friendly, historic neighborhood school far outweigh the drawbacks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2011

My daughter has attended Lipscomb Elementary from second to fourth grade and will be entering fifth grade there in a few weeks. She has thoroughly enjoyed every one of her teachers. They offer an excellent afterschool program as well for parents who work - a lifesaver for me as a single mother. I felt that almost all of the teachers, staff and volunteers at this school truly cared about the children. I'm not sure why there are so many complaints about the lack of extracurricular activities. My daughter was part of the Art club that met on Monday evenings, and she had plenty of other options to choose from: guitar club, acting club and cheerleading being some of them. The only drawback is that so many of the parents whose children attend the school don't speak English, so it's difficult to make friends with other parents here. The programs take twice as long, too, because they are conducted in both English and Spanish. Nevertheless, I'm glad my daughter has the opportunity to be amongst such diversity. It ought to be interesting to see who the new principal will be (Ms. Gonzales retired last year) and what direction she takes the school in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2011

Wow, I have not had this experience at all! We love Lipscomb. Our teachers and all the staff are all very loving and nurturing to my two children that are at the school. I volunteer at the school often so I see interaction between the students and the teachers weekly sometimes daily and I have never seeen a child humiliated or violated in any way. Lipscomb has a wonderful mix of tenured and new teachers. They have a mentor program to helps teachers learn from each other. The Prinicpal is exceptional and extremely experience in elementary schools and dealing with children of this age. I just can't image that your comments are true and I am so sorry you are having such a bad experience. I and every parent I know are having a wonderful experience at Lipscomb.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2011

Our son's kindergarten teacher is the absolute best! She is encouraging, patient, and she always has a smile on her face. The kids love her and learn a ton. Reading is stressed early on, and she makes it happen in a fun way. Our daughter's 2nd grade teachers are equally impressive. I appreciate their encouragement, dedication, and warmth. The grants continue to pour in thanks to dedicated parents who take the time to write them. The silent auction was a lot of fun and successfully raised a significant amount of funds for the school. Additionally, the neighborhood associations continue to support the schools with monetary gifts. There is a true sense of community like none I've ever seen before. The school is situated in the middle of a thriving tri-community historic area. The constant exterior and interior improvements to the school, including the newly installed garden, make Lipscomb as charming and beautiful as the homes that surround it. Our children are happy here. The kids are friendly, the parents are involved, and the teachers are top-notch. Live in Lipscomb's zone and send your children to school here. You will feel like you're truly home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2010

Lipscomb has exceeded our expectations! If you live in the neighborhood/area, you are missing out if you do not consider this school for your child. The principal and teachers provide a sound structured environment conducive for learning. The PTA and OECPTA have some of the hardest working and most caring parents that you'll ever find. Schedule a visit, and see for yourself, you won't regret it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2010

I was encouraged by another parent to consider Lipscomb when looking for a good neighborhood school for my upcoming kindergartener. I am so glad I did. The school is well-supplied, and staffed with energetic, caring, engaged teachers and administrators. The principal is "hands-on" and approachable with students and parents, and proactive in creating a safe, challenging and progressive environment. Lipscomb has an active PTA and support from neighborhood associations and local business partners. There are lots of "extras" offered to the kids, such as a working garden, Spanish immersion camps, Scouts, soccer, choir and after-school care programs. There are gems in the public school system, and Lipscomb is one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2010

My child just finished kindegarten and I was very pleased with her performance and that of the school. As with the development of any child, it requires involvement of the child, their parent(s), and the school and we had all three. What impressed most about the school was that when I had questions or wanted to meet with the school, the principal and teachers made the time for me to meet with them. I also had the opportunity to meet the other parents in my child's class through various school programs and they too shared the enthusiasm in the school and their involvement.. We moved out of a well respected iSD from a nearby suburb to be closer to downtown Dallas and have not had any regrets. The education my child is receiving is still top notch and feel confident that it will continue having seen Lipscomb in action.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2010

We love Lipscomb! My daughter made lots of new friends during her first year at the school, and I was amazed at how much she learned -- both academically and socially. The principal is wonderful, and she really cares about the kids. There are some wonderful teachers, many of whom have worked at Lipscomb for 10+ year. Last year, the school added a student council and soccer team for the upper grades and a choir for the lower grades, plus they have planted a learning garden, which all the grades are involved in. I continue to be impressed with the quality of education they are providing, and my daughter can't wait to go back next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2007

My child attended this school for kinder and I enjoyed every moment of it. The principal was on a name basis and very kind and proud about her school. Mrs Mock was my sons favorite teacher and she helped him overcome alot of his shyness. We are moving to florida or else we would love to stay at this school it has lots of love (: we will miss it next year
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2007

Lipscomb is a great school academically, but on any kind of extracurricluar activites it is not very good. The teachers really do care about how the students do and they take the extra time and effort to make sure that if any of their kids need extra help, they will make sure that the kids get the help they need. There does need to be more involvement from the parents, as sometimes the activities that are planned, are thrown together at the last minute and that is rather noticed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

William Lipscomb is a great school academically. However it does not offer any type of exracurricular activities that could help the students release the extra energy they have from sitting in school all day.I think many students would thrive if given the chance to express themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2006

My children and I love Lipscomb Elementary. It truly is the best kept secret in Dallas. The teachers are committed, caring individuals who give everything they have to the students. This school is fabulous!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

23 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

49 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

37 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

69 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

36 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

34 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

53 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

53 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Female100%
Male80%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students90%
Female88%
Male92%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special education100%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)96%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Female91%
Male53%
Black or African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education50%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students90%
Female89%
Male90%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education50%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students83%
Female95%
Male67%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education38%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Female93%
Male80%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students91%
Female92%
Male90%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)85%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students89%
Female92%
Male86%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education60%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)81%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
33%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
53%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students65%
Female74%
Male55%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education40%
Not special education68%
Limited English proficient (LEP)40%
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant65%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted56%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students57%
Female65%
Male50%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education33%
Not special education59%
Limited English proficient (LEP)47%
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant57%
Gifted/talented92%
Non-Gifted51%
Bilingual50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Female68%
Male59%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special educationn/a
Not special education65%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant64%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted56%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students64%
Female68%
Male62%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Special educationn/a
Not special education64%
Limited English proficient (LEP)68%
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant64%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted58%
Bilingual66%

Writing

All Students74%
Female91%
Male53%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Special educationn/a
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)90%
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Gifted/talented86%
Non-Gifted72%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students54%
Female50%
Male62%
Black or African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education58%
Limited English proficient (LEP)40%
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant54%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted52%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students57%
Female65%
Male47%
Black or African American0%
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special education17%
Not special education61%
Limited English proficient (LEP)59%
Proficient in English57%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant57%
Gifted/talented88%
Non-Gifted53%
Bilingual59%

Science

All Students59%
Female50%
Male71%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education33%
Not special education62%
Limited English proficient (LEP)51%
Proficient in English60%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%
Gifted/talented75%
Non-Gifted57%
Bilingual53%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 79% 50%
White 13% 31%
Black 6% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Roxanne Rodriguez
Fax number
  • (972) 794-7301

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Cross country
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5801 Worth St
Dallas, TX 75214
Website: Click here
Phone: (972) 794-7300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Peak Academy
Dallas, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT