Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


William Lipscomb Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted February 18, 2016
- a parent
I don't like homework, so any homework is too much for me, but it is not so much that I feel the kids are overburdened.

William Lipscomb Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted February 18, 2016
- a parent
Lipscomb consistently has high expectations for the kids who go there, challenging them to excel and supporting them in their efforts to improve.


William Lipscomb Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 18, 2016
- a parent
Lipscomb has a strong character development culture. It rewards good behavior without harshly punishing kids who are struggling. It is a very nurturing place.

William Lipscomb Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 18, 2016
- a parent
Lipscomb is very supportive of its students and works hard to create good citizens for our community.

William Lipscomb Elementary School 5

Posted February 18, 2016
- a parent
We love Lipscomb! I have had 2 kids at Lipscomb since 2008 and we have been thrilled with the education they have received there. I agree that the complaints in the reviews giving 1 star were venting related to safety measures, some Lipscomb's, some DISD policy, but none of those ever spoke to the quality of education there. Lipscomb has made multiple changes in the past year, including adding a 2-way dual language program and transitioning to IB. These changes have been very successful so far and the kids are thriving. I have nothing but positive things to say about the teachers, the administration, and wish that the people giving it 1 star would come volunteer instead of trying to undermine such a lovely neighborhood school.


William Lipscomb Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 02, 2016
- a parent
Mr. Rojas is awesome! He individualizes his teaching to reach each kid at his or her own level. The kids look up to him and listen to what he says about being healthy and kind. He keeps parents up to date about what is going on in the classroom and welcomes parental involvement. I hope all of my kids will get to go through his kinder class!

William Lipscomb Elementary School 5

Posted January 02, 2016
- a parent
My child started here this year in the two way Spanish dual language program and it has been great!! His reading (in Spanish and English) has taken off and he is excited about all the things he is learning in science, math, and "specials". His teacher is enthusiastic, engaged, and invested in the wellbeing and academic growth of all of his students. The IB Primary Years Programme is rigorous and challenging in a good way. Most importantly, my child loves his classmates, and they are kind and inclusive. We had the option of this school, a charter, a private school, or a Montessori school, and I'm very glad that we came to Lipscomb.

William Lipscomb Elementary School 5

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
Fantastic school! I have two children at Lipscomb and two preschoolers who will attend once they are school-aged. This is a gem of a school nestled in the middle of a quiet neighborhood. Great administrators, fabulous teachers, awesome community. My children thrive in the inclusive environment here and have a good balance of core subject academics, art, music, PE and recess. The school itself is a gorgeous historic landmark surrounded by mature trees and an active community garden. People rating this school with 1 star because they don't agree with basic safety policies put in place to protect students are just venting. I doubt they have even discussed their frustrations with the principal to seek clarification or suggest constructive changes.


William Lipscomb Elementary School 1

Posted May 13, 2015
- a community member
I have a friend who has a child in this school and I've been reading horror stories all year about their insane policies. The most recent is an absolute deal-breaker for me: She had to leave the school without having lunch with her daughter who is with her father this week, meaning that lunchtime is the ONLY time she gets to see her because she brought her newborn with her. We can all understand why you might not want toddlers running around during lunchtime, but a NEWBORN? It's a ridiculous policy if you can't have a common sense exception for newborns. Something to keep in mind if you share custody and like to see your kids at lunch when it isn't your week....

William Lipscomb Elementary School 5

Posted January 06, 2015
- a parent
I LOVE LIPSCOMB ! Parents feel that they are LOCKED OUT or UNWELCOMING , as a parent that is here on a daily basis helping in the cafeteria ,making copies and anything that the teachers need , I always feel welcomed and appreciated that I am here. For the parents that feel unwanted or unwelcome ,I will see you at the PTA Board meeting,SBDM and PTA Potluck to hear your concerns!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

William Lipscomb Elementary School
5801 Worth Street, Dallas, TX  75214
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. (972) 794-7300
Last modified William Lipscomb Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top