Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

B High Macon Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 547 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Dallas

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $63,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2009

My son attended this school for pre-k and first grade,he did not do very well, due to the teachers comparing notes about their students. Those teachers are no loner there. This 2008/2009 school year, both of my children attend this school, my son still struggles but my daughter is doing very good. What i do sugggest is tht these teacher pay closer attention to those studnts who are struggling, like my son. it took all 4th grades teachers until February to realize he was having trouble and considered him to take 'special resource' classes. I admit he did so much better with these classes. He grades improved and I'm xcited to see what hppens this year. I agree with some comments here, I attend some of the PTA meetings and can understnd the use of a spanish tranlator, but the 'english' speaking person used, speaks Spanish as a first lang.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2009

A very closs knit community school. When you enter the building you feel you are welcome. Very friendly and great leadership. The principal is very supportive. The school is a great success due staff teamwork and great students. I really believe this is one of the best schools in Dallas.


Posted April 22, 2009

I have two of my kids currently attending this school and they have exceled so much. I think if you feel the PTA meetings are being geared more towards Hispanics that's because the majority of the PTA board members are hispanic. No other parents seem to get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2009

My children was placed in this school in the middle of the year, which the change has been hard on them. My children are not adjusting well and my sons teacher is the only one that seems to be wanting to help. However, my daughters teacher i do not like so well. She scheduled a parent teachers conference and my daughter was in the class and the teacher could not fond anything nice to say about herand my daughter was crying buy the end of the meeting. I will be looking into hopefully getting them in to a new school next year where I will not have this problem. The princple on the other hand is really help and willing to help out if she thinks that se can fix the problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2008

My son was in speech therapy maybe once weekly after I had already let the school know that he had seen a speech therapist and no longer needed one. This took him out of valuable class time to do' practically nothing 'as I was told by him. He then got behind in his work. The teachers do care, but I think a few go a little overboard on the language and need to hold their tempers more. I know they get frustrated, but I think there should be a class for teachers who lose their tempers and need to learn better discipline themselves. Otherwise they seem to really try to make sure the students, or mine, get the assignments done. I think that they, like most teachers, are more concerned with the test scores and how it will reflect on the school. This is not the fault of the teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2005

After reading about the comments from the other parents I can agree with all three. My son who has a speech impedement and daughter who has a learning disability was not given the best education they could have possibly been given. My children who have average intelligence were just made to feel like they were beneath children at this school. They are more geared in helping the 78% of hispanics children than any other culture. My son who did not pass only math was not offered tutoring or group or individualize assistance was told that he needed to be retained due to him not passing only math. This School is a constant battle, so I removed them and put them in a local charter school in which all accomadations can be met. This school is highly unrecommendable if you have children with disabilities, because they will fall through the cracks.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted June 6, 2004

I have had a child in the special education program at this school for three years. I have not been particular satisfied that my child has received the 'best' from each teacher, but have been particularly impressed with two teachers who have gone above and beyond to make up for what others have not done. I agree with the previous comments that if you are a working parent, it is very difficult to know what is going on from day to day due to very little communication from teachers/ principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2004

I'm a parent with one child attending this school. I'm a working parent and can not take some time off during the day to attend some of the Parent Involvement classes. I have asked if they can be offered the class in the evenings. I never get a reply back and or a letter with information about what the classes was about. Also when therer are programs about the children during the day, we never get information about them to make prior arrangements to go. I don't feel a sense of family atmosphere in this school. We do have those occasional teachers that care and are very good at what they do, but sometimes they get put a side and forget about them when the rough times come along. I have not once heard of the school recognizing one outstanding child, or a teacher for their hard work. PTA has started recognizing some students for 'Student of the Month' or for good grades. Other than that, I don't hear of any other recognition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2003

I love this school, but I have three comments: 1) The PTA meetings seem to be more geared to the Hispanic community - the parents that attend that do not understand Spanish feel left out of the meetings since the majority is done in Spanish there are other cultures at this school (Native American, African American..), but it seems that Hispanic is the only one that is concentrated on. There would be more in attendance if this were changed to make it more equal. 2) There are Parents that feel left out when they have students that are receiving awards and these are done in the morning time when Parents are not able to get off of work or they will lose their job. They have to miss out on these special times for their children. 3) when a child has a special needs problem and the parent is trying to work with the teachers to get the needs met, the teacher should also recognize this and help out as well instead of saying that the parent does not know what they are talking about and that the student does not have a problem, but reports it on the report cards that they do..Other then that this is a good school and the children seem to excel when they are with the right teachers, which this school has several of.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

30 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

67 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

52 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

59 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

59 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

62 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

63 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

61 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Female100%
Male89%
Black or African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students96%
Female95%
Male97%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)96%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Female81%
Male96%
Black or African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)88%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented94%

Math

All Students98%
Female100%
Male96%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged98%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)97%
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students98%
Female100%
Male97%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged98%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special education80%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)97%
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female100%
Male97%
Black or African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged98%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students84%
Female84%
Male84%
Black or African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)97%
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students87%
Female87%
Male87%
Black or African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)91%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talented95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Female88%
Male84%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students83%
Female81%
Male86%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)70%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted77%
Bilingual71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students80%
Female89%
Male71%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)82%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented84%
Non-Gifted78%
Bilingual86%

Math

All Students75%
Female79%
Male70%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)72%
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted64%
Bilingual74%

Writing

All Students82%
Female81%
Male83%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)79%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talented95%
Non-Gifted75%
Bilingual86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students80%
Female77%
Male83%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)82%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented94%
Non-Gifted72%
Bilingual79%

Math

All Students71%
Female69%
Male74%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education71%
Limited English proficient (LEP)79%
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%
Gifted/talented88%
Non-Gifted63%
Bilingual83%

Science

All Students72%
Female67%
Male78%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education72%
Limited English proficient (LEP)71%
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant72%
Gifted/talented94%
Non-Gifted60%
Bilingual75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 93% 52%
Black 6% 13%
White 1% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander N/A 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 2%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 60%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 7%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • GERALD BENNETT
Fax number
  • (972) 794-1501

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

650 Holcomb Road
Dallas, TX 75217
Phone: (972) 794-1500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Nova Academy
Dallas, TX







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT