Report this review as inappropriate

« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
Public district
Dallas, TX
Students enrolled: 535

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

John J Pershing Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2010
- a parent
Pershing has a new principal. She is starting her third year. She has made an amazing improvement in the school. Both the staff and the parents respect her very much. The environment is always positive and the kids are excelling both in grades and in outside activities. You could not pay for a better education.

John J Pershing Elementary School 5

Posted July 30, 2007
- a parent
I've had one child or the other at Pershing for 11 years and am looking forward to our last year there with our fifth grader. We love Pershing and have never regretted our decision to forego a private school education in favor of our terrific neighborhood public schools.

John J Pershing Elementary School 3

Posted July 30, 2006
- a parent
The after school program is fabulous. I think there are way to many worksheets and teaching to the Taks but you can hardly fault the teachers for that.

John J Pershing Elementary School 5

Posted February 09, 2006
- a teacher
Great school. Very happy with the administration and teaching staff. TAKS scores have a ways to go, but school is definitely working toward progress. I am pleased to be a member of this staff.

John J Pershing Elementary School 4

Posted January 18, 2006
- a parent
This school is great. The administration is wonderful.

John J Pershing Elementary School 5

Posted January 10, 2006
- a parent
Anyone who passes up the chance to consider Pershing is missing an incredible experience. Pershing (which is celebrating its 50th Anniversary this year) is a safe, happy, and academically challenging school. Some of the teachers have been at Pershing for over 30 years, and the Principal, Larry Hines, is an enthusiastic, well-regarded leader. My children enjoy the Talented and Gifted Program, chess club, art club, concert choir, as well as their academic subjects. We feel extraordinarily lucky that Pershing is our neighborhood school.

John J Pershing Elementary School 4

Posted June 24, 2005
- a parent
This school was excellent. We moved to Texas from Louisiana and this school was far better. The teacher and school staff was so supportive

John J Pershing Elementary School 5

Posted June 22, 2005
- a parent
Excellent! Great support amongst staff. Administration always top-notch.

John J Pershing Elementary School 2

Posted May 27, 2005
- a student
How sad that this school has gone so far downhill! There is a steady stream of memos going out about everything from safety to how to correctly post grades.

John J Pershing Elementary School 5

Posted April 12, 2005
- a teacher
As a teacher, I have been nothing but happy with the current administration. Pershing is fortunate to have such incredible leaders, and all the staff love and care for these children. A strong PTA helps, too. Pershing is a great place to send your children, and a great place to work.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families. 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John J Pershing Elementary School
5715 Meaders Lane, Dallas, TX  75229
(972) 794-8600
Last modified John J Pershing Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John J Pershing Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top