Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Skyline High School

Public | 9-12 | 4664 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Dallas

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $77,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 20, 2013

This school is very disorganized, the staff in the registration desks are extremely rude. If you want to see the effects of a lobotomy on a living being these would be the perfect people to observe. The best way to improve this school, or at least this department would to be to fire everyone behind the desk, and hire some people who care either about the students, or their jobs!


Posted July 5, 2010

I just graduated from this school. From my perspective is not a very good school. All they care about is tasks and nothing else. I went all four years and I really regret going there( I was accepted to Townview). The quality of teacher at Skyline is terrible, I can only recall about four teacher who actually had a passion for the subject they were teaching. The ' AP classes' at skyline are a joke, most students who take this classes never take the exam and those who do always get ones. The main reason why these students fail the AP exams is because the teachers themselves don't know the material. Overall, I feel like I was cheated out of my education by attending Skyline. So, If you are really serious about your education don't attend Skyline like I deed- not to mention its currently a low performance school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2010

I love this school and so does my son, they really push the students and keep the parents well informed I love it. also excellent staff. I'm a proud parent of a new freshman in the magnet program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2010

This school is one of the best magnet schools in dallas isd. They teach your kids so much.If your looking for a great school check out skyline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2009

Hey! Skyline High school is amazing! Students become extremely well rounded but the best part are the clusters. There's so many people there and we're able to interact and learned about the many people around us. In smaller schools, it's harder to find friends and teaches who understand studnets, but at Skyline, there's so many people to hang around with.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2008

This school was a great second home to grow up and see life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 2, 2008

If you're looking to having a great future ahead of you and a great career, then choose Skyline High School! I would have to say that this high school is the best school in Texas! I've heard lot's of great things about this school and can't wait to experience it my self when I go to this school this upcomming school year for 2008-2009! This school has alot of choices for you to pick from and alot of opportunties as to what you're looking to be when you grow up!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2008

im solomon, im a student at skyline and I have to say that this is the best school I have ever went to. The clusters can get you out of collage early and its a cant miss for the start of your career.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2008

I am a former student (class of 04') of Skyline High School. I enjoyed my high school years in this school and have very fond memories of them. I met great people, and several teachers that inspired me and to them I give thanks for their encouragement and sincere heart. I managed to keep a B+ average and made the NHS my senior year. I was in the Computer Cluster, JV soccer team and French club. Overall, my years spent in this school were great! I recommend this school to anyone who wants to try something different. FYI: Skyline was not my homeschool, and my siblings and I all had to apply to get in. I was the 4th in my family to graduate from Skyline. The baby of the family graduates 08'! This is all out of 7 kiddos. What does that tell you?
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 18, 2008

I am currently a senior at this profound school where i ws able to grasp a concept of the actual working world through the advanced social sciences cluster. The magnet profram gave me an edge when apply for colleges and internships.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2008

I attended for a while, found the school good only as it helps you with a career. However, it does not prove to have very good preparation for college classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2007

I like skyline because it challenges me in so many diffrent ways.It might be far from my home,but it is worth the long ride.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 25, 2007

I love skyline high school because it has helped me develop mentally on towards, what I to be, once I'm older. I'm currently attending skyline, and all I can say is.. Go Raiders!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 27, 2007

The best school for students to explore careers and mature in life. Students learn how to be independent and learn social skills; therefore, allowing to feel ready to be out in the 'real world'. I am currently in the advanced social sciences cluster, [ the man & his environment cluster], in which I am being prepared to become an attorney. Skyline is the best place for a student to start living life to its fullest
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 14, 2006

I love Skyline High School because it is also a career development center. The students at this school are challenged in many different ways. I have maintained the high B honor roll for three years.I am also in the Hospitality Cluster where I have a high paying job at a prestigous downtown hotel at the age of 17. This school has a lot to offer.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 18, 2006

Great magnet program....great teachers....good facilities
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 2, 2006

THe aboslute best school . . . . . . . . . . .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2006

The absolute best school! perfect. . . . . . . .. . . . . .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2006

Skyline has the best all around program for its students. It is the best school in Dallas ISD. Don't be fooled by its size, the teachers and administration are wonderfully caring and nurturing. My son loves this school and will be a senior in 2008. We feel that he is getting an outstanding academic education while also enjoying a well-rounded extracurricular schedule.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2005

Provides a high level of academics and extra curricular activities.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

1063 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

1042 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

1102 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

1078 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

1075 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
67%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

1072 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

821 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

813 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

821 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

817 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Female96%
Male93%
Black or African American92%
Asian75%
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged94%
Special education63%
Limited English proficient (LEP)76%

Math

All Students88%
Female88%
Male88%
Black or African American84%
Asian92%
Hispanic89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged88%
Special education46%
Limited English proficient (LEP)68%

Science

All Students95%
Female95%
Male95%
Black or African American92%
Asian92%
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged94%
Special education56%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%

Social Studies

All Students98%
Female99%
Male97%
Black or African American94%
Asian100%
Hispanic99%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged97%
Special education56%
Limited English proficient (LEP)92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

904 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
67%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

344 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

1245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

1006 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

1346 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
62%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

1404 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
49%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

1010 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
88%
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

1014 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
73%
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
52%
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
41%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

1044 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
94%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

1266 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

977 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students59%
Female58%
Male60%
Black or African American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Special education28%
Not special education61%
Limited English proficient (LEP)45%
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%
Gifted/talented85%
Non-Gifted58%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students98%
Female99%
Male97%
Black or African American97%
Asiann/a
Hispanic98%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)94%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted96%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students85%
Female84%
Male85%
Black or African American78%
Asian88%
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special education47%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)72%
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Gifted/talented98%
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students81%
Female81%
Male82%
Black or African American79%
Asian63%
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Special education43%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)58%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Gifted/talented96%
Non-Gifted78%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students59%
Female61%
Male56%
Black or African American53%
Asian57%
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native57%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Special education15%
Not special education60%
Limited English proficient (LEP)39%
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%
Gifted/talented92%
Non-Gifted53%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students41%
Female46%
Male37%
Black or African American39%
Asian92%
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native38%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White23%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged47%
Special education3%
Not special education43%
Limited English proficient (LEP)20%
Proficient in English48%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant41%
Gifted/talented74%
Non-Gifted37%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students74%
Female78%
Male69%
Black or African American73%
Asian50%
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Special education30%
Not special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)44%
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Gifted/talented95%
Non-Gifted69%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students43%
Female45%
Male42%
Black or African American38%
Asian60%
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native80%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Special education17%
Not special education44%
Limited English proficient (LEP)15%
Proficient in English48%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant43%
Gifted/talented74%
Non-Gifted37%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted100%

English III Writing

All Students82%
Female67%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted71%

Geometry

All Students86%
Female86%
Male85%
Black or African American81%
Asian80%
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education42%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)72%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talented95%
Non-Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Students96%
Female96%
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted96%

World Geography

All Students77%
Female72%
Male82%
Black or African American65%
Asian73%
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special education39%
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)57%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Gifted/talented97%
Non-Gifted73%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students69%
Female66%
Male72%
Black or African American68%
Asian38%
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Special education17%
Not special education70%
Limited English proficient (LEP)36%
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%
Gifted/talented90%
Non-Gifted64%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 70% 52%
Black 27% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1% 4%
White 1% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 15%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 2%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • HAROLD WRIGHT
Fax number
  • (972) 502-3401

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7777 Forney Road
Dallas, TX 75227
Phone: (972) 502-3400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT