Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sunset High School 5

Posted July 20, 2013
- a student
I read all the posts. Yes, Sunset is in the ghetto, but its a good school. Couple of posts are from people who attended Sunset in the past and I just have to say is that if you did not try then you did not succeed. I attended Sunset and I am educated and successful. I also know a numerous amount of people that are very well educated and did something with their lives. Being a good parent is the key for a child to like succeed in life. Teachers did give importance to students when I was there. Some students just didn't care because Sunset was the COOL school to be at. You make the best of it where ever you are.. I support Sunset..

Sunset High School 5

Posted April 09, 2009
- a community member
I am an Alumni of Sunset. I think the school has done well. It has been in the community for a long time and my parents also attended school there. I would love to have my children attend also. The Choir is wonderful and I happen to disagree with most of the reviews that say most of the teachers there are only looking for a paycheck...many of my previous instructors did care alot about the students. Many of them went out of their way to help the students that needed the most help. They would spend much of their personal time to make sure that the material was understood and to help the students on anything! I am very grateful to them and wish that I could one day have the same done for my children...Thank you Sunset! GO BISON!! PURPLE AND WHITE!!


Sunset High School
no rating

Posted September 12, 2008
- a parent
I have had three out of four kids graduate from Sunset and my youngest will graduate in 2009.My kids enjoyed going there.Most of the teachers are only there for a pay check.And some teachers play favoritism,but it is very good school,I wouldn't let my kids go no where else.

Sunset High School
no rating

Posted January 11, 2008
- a student
I use to be a student at Sunset High School between the years of 2002-2006 and I absolutely loved it there while it lasted! The tachers were great and staff did what they had to do to keep the students out of trouble and motivated to keep the good job going. I wish I could back!

Sunset High School 3

Posted August 09, 2007
- a student
I am a student at Sunset High School and I believe that it is an OK school. I feel like my teachers are there just to receive a paycheck and do not have the real passion to teach. I also think that the administrative staff is very unorganized and is poor in planning stuff out. The only good thing I see at Sunset High School is the students! The students at Sunset High School have GREAT potential!


Sunset High School 5

Posted May 01, 2007
- a student
The academics are great I won Best Actress in UIL competition, am going to Austin for all region competition for my solo, and I am also going to Europe with the sunset choir. The parent involvement is great. Many parents are getting together this year helping the student to raise money for are summer trip to Europe. Sunset is a great school to attend I would not want to be anywhere else. 'Go Bison!'

Sunset High School 5

Posted November 28, 2006
- a student
Sunset is the best school ever. This school has come a long way and it will just keep getting better.

Sunset High School 4

Posted October 31, 2006
- a student
As a student graduating this year from sunset i found that everything that a magnet school has can be just as good at a regular school like sunset. no one expects much of us, although our valedictorian will be attending Yale University and me myself who is ranked number 24 out of 400 seniors has been accepted to Southern Methodist University School Of Music and trhe Julliard School in Manhattan. No one thought that a poor school could produce such exemplified excellence in its students but we've proved the wrong.


Sunset High School 1

Posted November 07, 2005
- a parent
As a former student at Sunset High School and the mother of a current student at Sunset High School I have experienced first hand, the deteriation of this school. In no way do I believe this school prepared me or has prepared my Senior for the next step into college. Between the teachers and the attendance office your child will spend more time correcting attendance records with you the parent in an effort to keep you both out of truancy court. If your child tells you they were in class it's probably better to believe the child as opposed to the school. Your child will have little time to focus on academic programs, music, art, sports or extracurricular activities because most of their time and yours will be spent correcting attendance records. You will get a good feel for the court and judicial system by attending truancy court hearings and proceeding.

Sunset High School 5

Posted July 12, 2005
- a parent
this school is full of culture. Students could use a little more parent involvement.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sunset High School
2120 West Jefferson Boulevard, Dallas, TX  75208
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (972) 502-1500
Last modified Sunset High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top