Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Dallas, TX
Students enrolled: 358
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Walnut Hill Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 08, 2015
- a community member
The school provide a great character education programs and a leadership program for 5th graders.

Walnut Hill Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 08, 2015
- a community member
The school has an amazing character development programs and the students are so well behaved.


Walnut Hill Elementary School 5

Posted July 08, 2015
- a community member
The school provides a great learning environment for ALL! The teachers always go above a beyond...

Walnut Hill Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 08, 2015
- a community member
The school is welcoming to parents and has many programs to encourage parental involvement. Walnut Hill has won many national awards and been named a National Blue Ribbon School of Excellence by the U.S. Department of Education. It is definitely the best school in Dallas ISD!

Walnut Hill Elementary School 5

Posted February 05, 2015
- a parent
This school is a diamond in the rough of elementary schools in Dallas Texas! Not only is the proof in the state scores, but when you meet the teacher, or walk in in the halls, and even see how happy the students are you'll know. It's a great school!! Everyone including the afterschool instructor has a vested interest in the students success!


Walnut Hill Elementary School 4

Posted June 11, 2014
- a parent
My son attended WH for six years and now my daughter will be completing her sixth year in 2014-15. My daughter is doing great in her studies and loves the school. She's been well prepared to get into one of the middle school magnets. We have no complaints about the principal or staff. My daughter absolutely loves her teachers, although she complains about one of them giving too much homework. But what kid doesn't complain about that?

Walnut Hill Elementary School 1

Posted June 10, 2014
- a parent
June, 2014 Sadly, the principal @ this school is horrific. Seems to be unable to embrace her role as a parent communicator and authoritarian. Is very divisive versus unifying. Appears to be completely out of touch with her student body as well as her teachers. Exudes hostile vibes, a 'bully', which is not what I would want trickling down to my children. The nepotism is rampant. And, if you have a special education or special needs child, run, don't walk in the opposite direction. The support of the principal is simply not there and the results can be catastrophic. Do not allow the peachy location or the accomplishments of the previous principals fool you. And that KidZone after-school program, do not leave your children unattended there! A new principal could make this gem of a school once again stellar and the teachers and parents once again proud as opposed to running them off! It is time for a much needed change. Think I'm disappointed?

Walnut Hill Elementary School 1

Posted June 10, 2014
- a community member
nfortunately, this beautiful school is hiding an disappointing situation. The principal is aloof and distant She seems to be out if her element and unable to fully complete her responsibilities to staff, parents and students. School personnel in office are constantly on their own phones ignoring those who arrive for help. The afterschool program is poorly monitored and students roam the school unsupervised. Teachers seem to be dedicated wholly to their students despite the lack of direction and leadership from the top. Although the test scores are high this is solely the work of the long hours put in by the teachers.


Walnut Hill Elementary School 5

Posted May 24, 2013
- a parent
This is a great school my daughter is in kindergarden and her teacher Mrs. Villareal is awesome. My daughter has learned so much this year thanks to her teacher's. Everyone here is very friendly and is always willing and waiting to help.

Walnut Hill Elementary School 5

Posted February 13, 2013
- a parent
Walnut Hill is a great school! The teachers are committed to their students. The principal is easy to talk and clearly cares about kids. I encourage people to come and tour the school to see how wonderful Walnut Hill is!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Walnut Hill Elementary School
10115 Midway Road, Dallas, TX  75229
(972) 502-7800
Last modified Walnut Hill Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Walnut Hill Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. Top