Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 43 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


70 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Woodrow Wilson High School 3

Posted June 11, 2014
- a student
Woodrow appears to be on the comeback. The boosterism is very encouraging. As a former student I'm heartened by all the good things going on. While the press Woodrow gets these days is very positive I'd warn against believing the school doesn't have a lot of ground to still cover in the quest to become a top tier public high school. Continued community and parental support will always be needed to ensure Woodrow meets the ideals that are being thrown out. An IB program is great but the rest of the school needs to follow suit so that the experience of a great HS isn't just the purview of the top of the class. I fear there's a cocoon of "everything's fine" that isn't yet warranted. I base my comments after seeing what other competitive suburban schools are offering.

Woodrow Wilson High School 1

Posted January 26, 2014
- a parent
The worst school in discipline. This school prides itself with tradition however student discipline is not applied fairly to all students. You see students skipping all day without consequence. The principal has the worst attitude with parents. Some teachers don't care. If you are not the right color, I guarantee you, your child will be treated as a second class citizen.


Woodrow Wilson High School 5

Posted January 07, 2014
- a parent
Woodrow is a fantastic HS with a very unique blend of students. Not only do kids get great education, have dedicated, enthusiastic teachers, and a great administration, they also learn about life. All students are welcomed, accepted and encouraged to achieve. I highly recommend this school.

Woodrow Wilson High School 5

Posted November 17, 2013
- a parent
Woodrow has always been a good school but its trajectory has dramatically soared in the last few years after IB accreditation and redesign into four college prep academies. Students from all over the Dallas area apply for transfer into these programs. While not technically a magnet school, it has the atmosphere an elements of one. In addition it offers successful athletic teams and a full slate of extracurricular activities which the magnets do not possess. In addition it has a huge network of famous alumni who treat each other as family. Woodrow is celebrating 85 years and has history, traditions and pride. These are things you cannot find at other high schools. The involvement of the community and alumni is stunning. While being historic (and one of the most beautiful buildings I have ever seen) the school also has been renovated completely and has a new $14 million science and arts wing, complete with a black box theater to house the school's famous theater program. Don't be discouraged by those who denigrate this as a DISD school - do your homework and check it out.

Woodrow Wilson High School 4

Posted September 12, 2013
- a parent
Woodrow has always been a unique school in the fact that is rich in tradition, culturally diverse and supported by the community. I have four children, two that just graduated from the school. They received scholarship money and are attending major state universities. One child that remains at Woodrow is in the IB program and the other is in the STEM (Science Technology Math Engineering) Academy. I feel that the opportunity for them to excel academically and attend the university of their choice with scholarship money is even stronger since Mr. Richardson has become principal of the school. He has made key decisions and hired strong educators that have created a positive impact on the school and the learning of the students.


Woodrow Wilson High School 5

Posted September 12, 2013
- a student
Woodrow Wilson has a amazing academy . I love the way teachers teach and try to help.. plus it has a amazing academy GO STEM!!!

Woodrow Wilson High School 4

Posted June 30, 2013
- a parent
This was an exciting new year for us, I feel we lacked information and didn't know who to inquire about with when we started with the Baccalaureate program at the school, my child ran into complication with completing assignments and some of the teachers in the program turning grades on time. I finally had an opperatunity to speak with a counselor and get her cituated to where it interested her to get back on task and want to proceed in a high school and not take on a home school program. That is how drastic her mind had taken a down fall, thanks to a wonder dance teacher, math, biology, english, a very kind office person name Erica, counselor Ladeski; in the school, and a few other teachers we where able to get her back in interest to proceed in the very nice school.

Woodrow Wilson High School 5

Posted December 27, 2011
- a parent
Consistently places in the top 5% of American high schools for AP/IB participation (see Newsweek and Washington Post) An IB World School offering 24 college credits for an IB Diploma. 22 AP and 8 dual-credit classes also offfered. It's also a top ten school in athletics (see Dallas Morning News) and performing arts is universally recognized. The school has been producing Broadway musicals since the 1950s. There are wealthy kids and poor kids but everyone seems to get along and have a great love for the school. It's not unusual to find many second and third generation students.


Woodrow Wilson High School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a community member
One of the top high schools in the United States. Just became an International Baccalaureate School. Great Parent Involvement and Support. Great History with many prestigious alumni.

Woodrow Wilson High School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a community member
It has great sprit and GREAT teachers

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Woodrow Wilson High School
100 South Glasgow Drive, Dallas, TX  75214
(972) 502-4400
Last modified Woodrow Wilson High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Woodrow Wilson High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 70 reviews. Top