Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 70 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


145 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


School for the Talented and Gifted 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a student
This school prepares students for SAT/ACT Tests as well as college, and provides every student with a happy and nurturing environment everyday.

School for the Talented and Gifted 5

Posted April 04, 2014
- a community member
My kids does not attend this school. But out of curiosity I visited this school. Everyone on the campus Principal, Admin staff, each and every student, teaching staff is so friendly, down to earth, so simple and relaxed. Students were not stressed out at all ( being no 1 school I was expecting to see stressed out faces and snobby faces). Diversity is one of the good factor I liked about his school.They made my day. They are very honest and easy to communicate. Current and future student of this school are very lucky. Keep it up you guys. Words are not enough to express my gratitude - Resident of Austin


School for the Talented and Gifted 5

Posted August 20, 2013
- a parent
This is a magnet: the applications process can be a bit mysterious - but it is WELL worth the effort. Key thing to know is you can drop your kid at any DISD High School so they can take the school bus to this school - traffic is terrible there. Good students feel so appreciated and welcomed in this school - what a change from most of their experiences in Junior High!!! Those who are a bit quirky or "geeky" fit in perfectly: their "differences" are celebrated. My kid became SO MUCH HAPPIER at this school - she said it was like Disney World - The Happiest Place on Earth. She commented that not one teacher raised their voice at her class - when the teacher went to the front of the room, the kids got quiet and sat down automatically - because they wanted to hear what the teacher had to say. What a change from her (PRIVATE) Junior High! It is a challenging curriculum, but not "genius only" level. The kids who are good students - not necessarily BRILLIANT - seem to do just fine. The size and the focus on college and career helps them succeed post-high school - and that is what it is all about! New principal this year, the last one was superb, so fingers crossed.

School for the Talented and Gifted 5

Posted March 11, 2013
- a parent
Excellent school, with excellent teachers who care about the kids and excellent students. The kids have a lot of fun together, and the school does more than prepare them for college.

School for the Talented and Gifted 5

Posted October 18, 2010
- a parent
because it made me extremely successful.


School for the Talented and Gifted 5

Posted October 14, 2010
- a community member
I am an alumna of TAG and very proud of it. TAG was fantastic in preparing me for college and the real world. From the teachers and the courses to the student creativity and intellect pumping through the halls TAG was a truly inspiring place to spend my high school years.

School for the Talented and Gifted 0
no rating

Posted October 14, 2010
- a community member
Great school with great staff, and even better students!

School for the Talented and Gifted 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
Best high school, public or private, in Texas and possibly in the country. TAG is diverse, has small classes, and challenges its students while at the same time providing personal attention as necessary to help each student excel. Two of my children attended and have had successful college careers, and my third child began 9th grade in August. All love TAG, as do I.


School for the Talented and Gifted 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a community member
It gave me a top-notch education that offered excellent preparation for college. The tight-knit environment is excellent as well.

School for the Talented and Gifted 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
TAG has amazing classes with awesome students and dedicated teachers. Any student can talk to pretty much any other student, without fear of any form of descrimination, bullying, or nastiness. Pretty much every AP class can be taken at TAG (with a very high average passing rate), as well as several Dual Credit classes, including Computer Science II (like the old AB test) and Advanced Electronics (a circuit design course). A comparable education is offered at few other schools. In addition, the teachers at TAG work long hours, come early and stay late to tutor students and sponsor clubs, such as Math, Science, Computer Science, Lit Crit, and so on for UIL (as well as other competitions), Robotics, Mock Trial, Destination Imagination, [now] Photogrophy, as well as many other activities-- and they teach the material for classes exceptionally well. The general environment, students, and teachers make TAG an amazing place, and the best school I know of-- in my opinion.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

School for the Talented and Gifted
1201 E Eighth St., Dallas, TX  75203
(972) 925-5970
Last modified School for the Talented and Gifted is a Public school that serves grades 10-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
School for the Talented and Gifted Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 145 reviews. Top