Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Everette Lee Degolyer Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
Moved from the Dallas suburbs in 2013 and was apprehensive about DISD. What I can say is I'm blown away by the quality of this school. Bright, energetic and involved principal who has made great teaching hires and has the support of the parents. Speaking of the parents, the PTA and Dad's Club are very active and host wonderful events for both parents and teachers throughout the year. The old school architecture is also a pleasant departure from the prison-esque design of new suburban schools and the actual auditorium (not a lunch room with a stage) should be considered a treasure. It hosts amazing musicals, concerts and other events.

Everette Lee Degolyer Elementary School 4

Posted January 14, 2015
- a parent
Thriving school with outstanding parent involvement! The new principal is enthusiastic and involved in daily classroom happenings. Also, the fine arts program can't be beat!


Everette Lee Degolyer Elementary School 4

Posted December 13, 2013
- a parent
One of the better schools in DISD. We moved my daugter here from a private school in the 1st grade and she has loved it! She is now a 3rd grader. There have been some recent changes in administration - but so far it seems to be perfectly accetable. My daughter had a teacher quit suddenly so we will see how quickly they will get a fulltime replacement. My review will change drastically if we still have a sub after christmas break. There is a huge Dad's Club here as well as a PTA so there are parents at the school all the time. All in all this is a nice little gem in the poop that is the Dallas school district.

Everette Lee Degolyer Elementary School 5

Posted February 17, 2011
- a parent
Degoyler Elementary School is fantastic! 5 Stars! Absolutely wonderful parents, children, teachers, and staff. As a parent, I was not going to allow my children to attend DISD schools. I talked myself into going on a tour of Degolyer and it changed my opinion very quickly. Our experience has been amazing and so glad I kept enough of an open mind to give this DISD school a chance.

Everette Lee Degolyer Elementary School 4

Posted May 23, 2010
- a parent
my son has turned from a reluctant reader to just devouring every chapter books he can get hold of. the reason? an excellent teacher and perhaps, it is simply that the school is conducive to learning. and i agree that more can be done to make it a really delightful place. PTA and Dad's Club are already doing a lot!


Everette Lee Degolyer Elementary School 5

Posted May 20, 2010
- a community member
i go 2 went 2 this school and i loved it if your looking for a great scool this is the one!

Everette Lee Degolyer Elementary School 4

Posted March 08, 2010
- a parent
The parent involvement cannot be beat at DeGolyer. My child has the best teacher and is thriving. I do think there are opportunities to step up our game with challenging the status quo and considering the dual language program to attract more families. I am committed to making sure we keep striving for excellence.

Everette Lee Degolyer Elementary School
no rating

Posted June 23, 2008
- a teacher
Another busy school year has ended for the DeGolyer Dolphins and we are proud to report we have reached the exemplary rating again. This staff continues to adjust to the District's new initiatives, including he Principles of Learning from the University of Pittsburgh. Academic rigor has never been greater and the students are to be commended for learning to take responsibility for their own learning. It is an honor to work with such acceptable teaching staff. The parents continue to provide support to all students in so many ways.


Everette Lee Degolyer Elementary School 5

Posted March 27, 2008
- a community member
Speaking as a school administrator in another state I must say that Degolyer is one of the finest schools I have encountered. After researching public and private schools in the area, my daughter and I chose Degolyer and we are thrilled that we did. My grand daughter's educational experience has been exceptional!

Everette Lee Degolyer Elementary School 5

Posted August 02, 2007
- a community member
I am an alumni but my brother still goes there and I love how he is learning especially in such a beautiful school.

Nearby schools

Everette Lee Degolyer Elementary School
3453 Flair Drive, Dallas, TX  75220
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (972) 794-2800
Last modified Everette Lee Degolyer Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top