Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Eduardo Mata Elementary School 5

Posted February 09, 2016
- a parent
My son loves going to school!!! The school's PTA is great and the staff is working hard to make this one of the best Montessori's in Dallas.

Eduardo Mata Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted November 19, 2015
- a teacher
The Montessori-trained teachers seem to be very well trained, patient, effective and organized. I know they have put much more work into their environment than most traditional teachers, which is already quite a lot. Their persistence, dedication and effort really show in their classrooms.


Eduardo Mata Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted November 19, 2015
- a teacher
Not being "attached" to a "regular" classroom, I am not sure of the amount of homework given, but my perception is that the students do not have a burdening amount of homework outside of school. As a frustrated parent whose children are at another school and are constantly burdened with rote busy-work that affects our entire family time, I know how important it is to not overburden students and families, and Mata does not seem to do this. Perhaps this follows from the Montessori Method.

Eduardo Mata Elementary School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted November 19, 2015
- a teacher
The Montessori approach especially, has helped students learn patient, calm and respectful interpersonal skills. Staff models respect, and students are given responsibility congruent with the amount of respect they learn to show toward others.

Eduardo Mata Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted November 19, 2015
- a teacher
The staff cares for the students as an example and demonstrates caring and empathy in the way students with special needs are treated and included in the community. There is no exclusion.


Eduardo Mata Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 19, 2015
- a teacher
We entrust students with responsibility and allow the development of the whole child, expecting honorable character and equitable treatment.

Eduardo Mata Elementary School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a teacher
I have never been at a school that is more dedicated to what is truly best for the students as much as Mata. Aside from mandates by the district/state that must be followed, the emphasis is not on how the numbers make the administration "look", but on how we can best develop the students and be a quality staff.

Eduardo Mata Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 19, 2015
- a teacher
The administrators and staff have put forth incredible amounts of work, time and energy to completely overhaul and develop a new (to our school) approach to learning that has made a huge impact on students, our community and our district. The transformations have been amazing, and our staff is so dedicated and tireless. Their ongoing expenditure shows in the amazing learning community they have developed.


Eduardo Mata Elementary School 5

Posted March 22, 2015
- a parent
This is our first year and the first year Mata has become a Montessori school. Cannot say enough wonderful things about our principal, Mrs. Vega. We have an amazing PTA and strong community for this school of choice. So happy to be apart of Mata!

Eduardo Mata Elementary School 3

Posted March 21, 2015
- a parent
Mata is a brand new montessori program in the Woodrow feeder pattern. We left a "10" school to attend it. The school is fine but seems understaffed for a montessori program. I am not sure how many people are truly certified--beyond the quickie training. People are passionate, but there are issues. Montessori and testing don't go together and there is a lot of testing at Mata. It is a very diverse student body and that can have appeal. There seem to be quite a few discipline problems for such a tiny school. Eventually it will be a pre-k through 8 school. The jury is still out for our child. We will see what happens as the school adds grade levels. The parents and staff are trying hard.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Eduardo Mata Elementary School
7420 La Vista Drive, Dallas, TX  75214
(972) 749-7500
Last modified Eduardo Mata Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Eduardo Mata Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top