Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Harmony School Of Business - Dalla 1

Posted October 22, 2014
- a teacher
I am a teacher who previously worked at this school. I would not recommend it and would like to point out that many of the teachers do not bring their own kids here. Highly unorganized school with administrators that are not trained or certified as principals. It takes only 1 to 2 years of teaching experience to become an administrator here. Teachers are subject to 45+ hour work weeks with little to no curriculum support. Contract hours going until 4:30 every day and required to tutor and host an after school club. There is no library at this school. What a shame to not provide students the opportunities that a library offers. Class sizes are between 28-30 students per one teacher. It is next to impossible for children to receive the instruction and attention they deserve in this environment. Do not take your child out of the public education system! The teachers at this school try hard but are not adequately supported with curriculum, knowledgeable administrators, classroom resources, discipline support, or respect of their time.

Harmony School Of Business - Dalla 5

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
In response to the negative reviews, I feel this school is a great school for kuds who WANT to learn and WANT to be challenged. If you feel this school is not for your child than leave. There are a handful of kidswho do not belong there because they need extra attention and the parents expect tne teachers to put in 10 hr days so their child can pass or do well. Ummm, it takes both teachers and parents to have an effective learning environment and a above average kid. Parents if your child did not do well or as expected, don't write negative reviews...parents research the school, visit tne school, meet the admin staff, take a look at the curriculum. Be smart in making choices for your child.


Harmony School Of Business - Dalla 1

Posted July 06, 2014
- a teacher
As a teacher of 6+ years and working in 3 different types of schools- public, private and charter working at this school was a learning experience. Yes, some of the teachers at this school are new, however wherever you go your child will have a "new teacher." The teachers at this school are asked to work over 40+ hours, tutor for free, as well as run a club. The teachers at most will have 45 minute break during the day in which they are supposed to meet with parents, plan, run copies, grade etc.The school is only 2 years old and yes they have a long way to go. However, as a parent it is your job to research the school you are sending your child to. There is NO library. There is 1 copier for the entire teacher staff to use. The limited resources are endless. As an educator, I would not send my child to this school, it is unorganized. Every year new teachers and new admin- how can it be organized? No teacher there is racist or mistreat any of the children as prior reviews state. Discipline exists in every classroom and is important for structure! It is sad that some parents believe everything a child states. Teachers have 25+ students in 1 class so yes discipline is a factor.

Harmony School Of Business - Dalla 1

Posted July 01, 2014
- a parent
Had a terrible experience with this HSB. Just read other negative reviews, and agree with many of them. Some teachers worst I met in my life. No consideration for students. Extreme bouts of favoritism among some teachers, they overlook the potential and hard work of other students. Focus on discipline, discipline does not exist unless children are rudely spoken to and mistreated by certain teachers. Children who do well cannot get positive points etc, as will be shown as favoring a certain ethnicity in the school. School has a long way to go. Do not enroll your child there , you will regret it. As mentioned below, huge teaceher and student turnover rate, that says ALOT.

Harmony School Of Business - Dalla 2

Posted June 28, 2014
- a parent
This school is really trying and may very well be a great school in the future, but it isn't now. So,do not sacrifice your child's education. NO BOOKS are given just xeroxed copies of sheets for busy work. I truly feel this year was a wasted year. Do not be fooled. Oversized classrooms, new teachers, horrible lunches and the list goes on. My child is leaving this school and I believe many more are leaving as well. It is something to be said when the administration, staff, and students have a high turnover rate.


Harmony School Of Business - Dalla 2

Posted June 27, 2014
- a parent
Make sure you research any school before you enroll. We have been a part of a few different Harmony schools around Texas due to job transfers and there is a feeling of disorganization in all of them. Some teachers are not well suited for this school. My kids have come home overly-stressed and miserable. They told me that there are several kids with discipline problems in every class and that at times the teacher will just burst into tears from the stress. Most classes are larger than at public schools as well. My daughter's class had 30 students. Unfortunately, other reviews are correct in that an "A" doesn't mean much here. They promise a lot but they have not been able to deliver. We are transferring our kids to a private school that has a much higher track record.

Harmony School Of Business - Dalla 5

Posted June 05, 2014
- a parent
To me.great teachers,great school.already 2 years there and all I can say, is behing a great student,there is a parent who Involved in the school and the activities.

Harmony School Of Business - Dalla 1

Posted May 09, 2014
- a parent
Started out at HSB as an excited parent with equally excited child. A year later extremely disappointed with HSB. Extreme lack of organization within school. School concerned abt discipline. Children sent to office, given demerit points over harmless things ie, talking in class despite it pertaining to the lesson of the day. Were told of low student/teacher ration, most classes are large at elem level. Teachers with little or no training or teacher experience School does not help those students who are falling behind. Not a rigorous or challenging curriculum, students have no motivation. Certain teachers have very bad manners , and even mock students (first hand happened to my child) My child is straight A student, however being tested in the public school and private test , my child scored lower than ever before. "A" grades do not mean anything. Students are bullied by older students. Teachers turn a blind eye. AS mentioned in another review, research this school, talk to other parents, .the school is not what it portrays itself to be.


Harmony School Of Business - Dalla 1

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
For those who are interested in the school , do visit, look at past achievements, and by that the current STARR,and testing results. Do not be wowed by the collage of photos posted in the main lobby of students who have excelled and received admission to 'top' colleges. The pics are older, and quite interesting to note which campuses these students studied at. The principal and teachers promise many thins, but yet have to deliver. I cannot sacrifice my children's education, nor allow their education to suffer while HSB decides to pull its self up. Until then, there are many who will be happy with the facility and charmed by its newness. This will be the last year for my children at this school; they are more than happy to say goodbye.

Harmony School Of Business - Dalla 4

Posted April 10, 2014
- a parent
We love this school; great academic and challenging curriculum - lots of homework and projects starting from Kindergarten that will help the kids with the transition to 1st Grade. Our daughter is very happy to go to school, she loves Mrs. Durfee and Ms. Kattie, her Kindergarten teachers. Yes, according to some previous reviews, the school does have some organizational problems, but it is a new school, we have the understanding and confidence that it will get better and better.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Harmony School Of Business - Dalla
8080 W President George Bush H, Dallas, TX  75252
(469) 226-6746
Last modified Harmony School Of Business - Dalla is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Harmony School Of Business - Dalla Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top