Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hyer Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 13, 2016
- a parent
We saw our sweet and loving son turn into a bully because that's what the "cool kids" do. When we changed schools he turned back into the nice kid we remember

Hyer Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 13, 2016
- a parent
The unofficial mantra of the school is "if you don't get caught then it's fine"


Hyer Elementary School 2

Posted July 13, 2016
- a parent
Our oldest went to Hyer before we put him in private school. Hyer is over-crowded, the facilities and technology are outdated and the teachers are just okay. When he got to private school he was so far behind the other kids, it took him forever to catch up. If you can't afford private or if your kid is more athletic than smart then Hyer is a great option. If you want your kid to go to a better college than TCU then every private is better.

Hyer Elementary School 5

Posted December 03, 2011
- a parent
My daughter is a kindergartner at Hyer Elementary and I have been completely blown away by the dedication of her teacher, the school and the local community. We recently moved to this neighborhood from out of state and I feel like my child is getting an education at a public school equivalent to or better than any private school she could go to. I simply cannot say enough great things about Hyer Elementary.

Hyer Elementary School 5

Posted May 02, 2011
- a parent
Hyer is truly an amazing school. My daughter has been here for 2 years now and I couldnt imagine that a better school is out there. The teachers are wonderful the parent involvement couldnt be matched and school has a very "old-school house" feel which I find refreshing. My daughter loves Hyer and we as parents couldnt be more pleased!


Hyer Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 03, 2008
- a parent
Yes, all the Highland Park Schools are that great! Hyer is a standout school because so many of the parents are former Hyer students. Loved it then, love it now. Not much has changed over the years. The parents are really involved. They stay friends with each other, so they have a great handle on the community and what the kids are doing. Guiding and directing these young lives has always been the theam of HPISD.

Hyer Elementary School 5

Posted December 07, 2007
- a parent
I have had 5 children attend this school with one more starting next fall. The teachers are so great, and the parents really get so involved. The children look forward to going to school there.

Hyer Elementary School 5

Posted February 21, 2007
- a parent
absolutely wonderful school - the best teachers and the parents are really involved - teaching advanced curriculum - couldn't be any happier

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hyer Elementary School
3920 Caruth Boulevard, Dallas, TX  75225
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (214) 780-3300
Last modified Hyer Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top