Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dallas Can Academy Charter

Charter | 9-12 | 503 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 21, 2013

I've live just up the street since they moved into the old YWCA, and drive by Dallas Can Academy on Ross at least 4 times every single day. And, let me tell you, you've never seen such a scene. Its hard to even begin to describe the complete and utter chaos that the Dallas Can "students" unleash on the area. Many people call these students at Dallas Can "animals", which the students and parents think is an unfair description. Well, they're right, because it is unfair! Only, it isn't unfair to the students, it is unfair to animals. Animals, even the most disruptive, obnoxious, and disgusting species (like hyenas for example) have nothing on the Dallas Can "students". Animals, like hyenas, are freaking calm, thoughtful, compassionate, clean, quiet, and tame compared to the little mosters at D-Can't. Wild animals are FAR BETTER trained than these kids. If you're a parent, look at other options. If you care for your kids at all, don't subject them to a place like this. I'm sure they're already troubled if you are considering Dallas Can, that's a given. But, from what I've seen, if you send them here they will be FAR worse off. They'll truly become the SCURGE OF THE NEIGBHORHOOD.


Posted October 4, 2013

My school is the Number 1 in the Nation. All the students work together as a team to help each other learn. All of my teachers are kind, courteous and caring. Indeed, teachers help us learn, step-by-step. You can tell that they love us by the gleam in their eyes. If I forget my lunch money, I can eat on credit. I feel safe at this school, because everyone has to sign in with their driver's license at the front door. We don't fight or call each other names. Definitely, there is no bullying at this school. We are one big melting pot of beautiful races of people. No one cares about what color you are. We care about the color of your heart, whether or not you are a good person with a good attitude. I love my school, because they don't stress me out. They have "tough" love. They are strict but not too strict. If anyone does break the rules, we are still treated with dignity and respect. They say, "Yes mam and No mam, yes sir, and no sir" to us. Amazingly, even the parents, teachers and the principal have good working relationships. In addition, we have science fairs and sports competitions that keep our minds challenged. We are definitely, "Beautiful Minds." Ms.Tyler
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 26, 2013

There are certainly teachers that truly care about the students. They often come there with the intent to improve the lives of at-risk students. However, the workload of a teacher is crazy and unmanigable. And while one could expect that you would have behavior issues at a second chance school, the behavior is out of control and extreme often times. I have been threatend, i had to contend with students cursing and talking about drug transactions with little to no consequences by the administration. I guess because it is a charter school the most important thing is that the students are present, how they behave is put on a back burner. Its all about money really. The turn over rate for teachers is so high because the enviorment does not support long term teaching. The good students usually don't stay to long because they are in a horrible enviorment. There needs to be a major change in this school and no more cans should be opened until the current CANS are fixed.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 30, 2011

This school has really improved in the last year or so. The new principal and his leadership team have really turned the school around and have made it student and parent friendly. Even his own son went to the school. I would give this school a chance if your child needs additional support and help. My son is now in college...the first in our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2008

I've been VERY happy with this school and how well my son has done here. He did well in elementary school, but when he hit puberty at age 11, the middle of 5th grade, it seemed like a bomb went off in his head. We have been through 6 years of hell, moving from one school to another. Some he just didn't do well in, two he got kicked out of. It's been a nightmare. But then we moved to Dallas and someone told me about Dallas CAN!. I checked into it and it sounded good - being designed for troubled kids, kids who might not graduate, it was just what my son needed. He actually fit in, made friends, felt like the teachers liked him & were there to help him. He wore his uniform everyday, did his homework, finally got the good grades I always knew he could. THANKS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2008

A great school for your child to attend for a education and job oppunities especially if he/she has a child they have a daycare in the inside to help with attendence problems if they would need it. Also they are really serious about graduating and helping the children become something.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2006

I can honestly say that Dallas Can Academy Ross Ave is a great school.The staff makes sure that students are taking good care of.They make sure that students are in the right grade and that they recieve all the credits the need in order to past to the next grade.My daughter is attending Dallas Can this year she has never been so happy to go to school.She is now passing and even thinking about college she wants to major in social worker in c.p.s. in rape cases.My daughter is now pregnant.They even provide parenting classes for both mom and dad and even students that are not parents to prepare them for when they do become parents.They have a program that helps pregnant girls and their baby's father called Pregnant Related Services and they put the girls on bedrest and bring them their work that way they wont fall behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2005

I can say that Dallas Can Academy has some teachers that do not really pay attention to the academic needs of the children. They grade them on being present and in ther chairs everday. If they miss a day they can make it up by sitting in the counslers office and they are given nothing to study. Al they talk about is going to the club and all the fun she had at the club. They say it is a 0 tolerance school. They have student that have been in trouble more than several times and are still there. Yet you have other students with first time offenses being thrown out for being in the wrong place at the worn time. I call this favoritism.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2004

i think that this school should be shut down, with such low performance, i see absolutely no progress in DALLAS CAN, its very sad to see our childrens education go to waste.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2004

The teachers and staff are encouraging to the students. The only problem I have had is that everything is done through the counselors, and my child does not have a very respondent one. I have to leave messages with the secretary so he can't say they were not received or an attempt was not made. My child has talked about dropping out, but has been encouraged by staff members to graduate. She has been ill and the school has worked with us to get her work in order to keep her grades up.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

193 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

173 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
13%

2010

 
 
24%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

88 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

77 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
39%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

71 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
48%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

66 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
31%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
47%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students71%
Femalen/a
Male69%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged71%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students44%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged44%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students82%
Femalen/a
Male80%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students79%
Femalen/a
Male73%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged79%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "AEA: Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "AEA: Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "AEA: Academically Unacceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
41%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
19%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
53%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
5%
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
21%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
5%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
n/a
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
16%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
29%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students28%
Female27%
Male29%
Black or African American24%
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged21%
Special educationn/a
Not special education28%
Limited English proficient (LEP)25%
Proficient in English28%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant28%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted28%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students42%
Female42%
Male42%
Black or African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged29%
Special educationn/a
Not special education41%
Limited English proficient (LEP)31%
Proficient in English45%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant42%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted42%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students22%
Female27%
Male11%
Black or African American28%
Asiann/a
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged20%
Special educationn/a
Not special education22%
Limited English proficient (LEP)19%
Proficient in English23%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant22%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted22%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students17%
Female22%
Male13%
Black or African American19%
Asiann/a
Hispanic15%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantaged0%
Special educationn/a
Not special education18%
Limited English proficient (LEP)17%
Proficient in English17%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant17%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted17%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students5%
Female5%
Male5%
Black or African American5%
Asiann/a
Hispanic6%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged6%
Not economically disadvantaged0%
Special education0%
Not special education5%
Limited English proficient (LEP)0%
Proficient in English6%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant5%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted5%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students23%
Female20%
Male27%
Black or African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special education20%
Not special education23%
Limited English proficient (LEP)8%
Proficient in English25%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant23%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted23%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students9%
Female12%
Male4%
Black or African American8%
Asiann/a
Hispanic11%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged9%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special education17%
Not special education8%
Limited English proficient (LEP)17%
Proficient in English8%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant9%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted9%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students35%
Female33%
Male39%
Black or African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Special educationn/a
Not special education36%
Limited English proficient (LEP)29%
Proficient in English37%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant35%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted35%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students27%
Female26%
Male28%
Black or African American23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged26%
Special educationn/a
Not special education27%
Limited English proficient (LEP)20%
Proficient in English29%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant27%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted27%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students11%
Female10%
Male15%
Black or African American11%
Asiann/a
Hispanic12%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged10%
Not economically disadvantaged20%
Special education20%
Not special education11%
Limited English proficient (LEP)6%
Proficient in English13%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant11%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted11%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 55% 52%
Black 41% 13%
White 2% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander N/A 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 2%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 17%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 23%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • RAWLY SANCHEZ
Fax number
  • (214) 841-7951

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4621 Ross Avenue
Dallas, TX 75204
Website: Click here
Phone: (214) 824-4226

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT