Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 36 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


112 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lake Highlands Elementary School 5

Posted November 16, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is receiving AMAZING education at LHE. It is so telling when all of the teachers that work there bring their own children to their school. Wouldn't trade this place for anything. Well done LHE! Thanks for being so GREAT!

Lake Highlands Elementary School 1

Posted November 08, 2014
- a parent
We had terrible experiences at this school and I am telling the truth! 1. BULLYING: My son was bullied 5 times in less than 6 months. Counselor offered no help after I reached out to her at least twice. At one time when I was volunteering for the classroom teacher, I personally witnessed 2 girls punching a boy against the iron fence, none of the other adults went over to deal with it, and I had to even though the kids were not in my class. 2. ABSENTEEISM: The teacher had at least 6 absences in less than 4 months. 3. PRINCIPAL AND SCHOOL: Before my son was officially enrolled, the principal told the parents that they would not give kids much homework as requested by previous parents. As an educator myself, I have to question this policy. Do they know what they are doing? What kind of school is it if the principal thinks kids should get less or very little homework? How will the kids learn if they don't get practice? 4. DISCRIMINATION AND PREJUDICE: PTA is all white for the years I was there. I was always looked at differently and not greeted because I'm not caucasian. There was this little cliche of white moms who excluded everyone else. It's not a friendly community.
3 people found this helpful


Lake Highlands Elementary School 5

Posted February 21, 2013
- a community member
LHE is the new preferred elementary school in Lake Highlands. I anticipate this will be the next up and coming area in Lake Highlands. I hear lots of good things.
1 person found this helpful

Lake Highlands Elementary School 5

Posted February 02, 2013
- a parent
Lake Highlands Elem. is a fantastic neighborhood school! The principal is a strong leader and the teachers are excellent. Very involved and supportive PTA as well.

Lake Highlands Elementary School 5

Posted March 18, 2011
- a teacher
worked as a teacher asst last year,and LHE is the best school i have ever worked at(including greenhill school and brentfield elem also Richardson)1st grade Mrs. ross is the best!!


Lake Highlands Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Great faculty along with wonderful students and parents. Right in the heart of such a caring neighborhood!!

Lake Highlands Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 28, 2009
- a parent
Great teachers and staff who love the kids and want to see them grow, develope and succeed. They work with the Parents to get them invloved and to make sure that this happens. The kids love the school and are proud to be LHE Wildcats!

Lake Highlands Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 24, 2009
- a parent
I see what Lake Highlands Elementary School is doing for my grandchildren. They both are doing extremely well and both are in the Reach program. Lake Highlands Elementary is giving them a wonderful foundation for their future education. Grammy Dolt


Lake Highlands Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 24, 2009
- a parent
Great students, family and staff!!

Lake Highlands Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 24, 2009
- a parent
My daughter graduated from Lakehighlands. It is a great school with a great staff. My daughters past teachers always looked after her well being.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lake Highlands Elementary School
9501 Ferndale Road, Dallas, TX  75238
(469) 593-2100
Last modified Lake Highlands Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lake Highlands Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 112 reviews. Top