Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 53 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Northlake Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
I want to appreciate Mrs Collins and Mrs Herrera, they are both the Pre-k teachers where my kid is. they have been nothing but kind to my kid Tomilola. Always giving me good report about him and working with me for him to excel.

Northlake Elementary School 3

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
Northlake started out as a good school, but the longer you attend the school becomes less caring. If you ask someone in the office something, no-one ever knows. You go a step further and try to ask one of the principals. First they'll lie like they're in a meeting, once you inform the staff you'll wait the principals come "out the meeting" and are able to talk. The situation still isn't handled until you talk to a teacher. Once the discussion happens, you discover the teacher has basically lied to you as well. The teacher lying has happened because s/he is trying to fix the situation into his/her favor. So you are left with an office full of never-knowing staff members, principals that lie and teachers that's hard to get in contact with to also discover the teacher has lied to you.


Northlake Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
Teacher need to learn how to properly communicate with parents. Communication can stop/slow down a lot of confusion.

Northlake Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Thank you to our amazing, compassionate, smart principal Mary Kellagher. We are better people and a better school because you believed we could be! My kid wants to be you when she grows up...and that means the world to me!

Northlake Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are amazing! They constantly share ideas with each other and do things to better themselves. They truly want every kid to succeed and feel good about themselves. This is one of the things that makes our sweet school so wonderful!


Northlake Elementary School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
We bought our home in 2008 when we were pregnant and it has been so amazing seeing the neighborhood and families get behind our neighborhood school. Currently my daughter is a kindergartner at NLE and she loves it. The teachers are amazing, the kids are well behaved and the PTA is getting stronger every year. The teachers have perfected differentiated learning and take the RISD rule of "every child deserves to advance one grade level from where they started the year". Love it, send your kids there...you will not be disappointed. Review update...one year later. Daughter is now in first grade and she LOVES learning! They are constantly challenging her and using the differentiated learning techniques to make sure she is never bored. She has made some very special friendships and has such a sweet passion for her school. Such a special place!

Northlake Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Baker and the rest of the staff at this wonderful school have done such an amazing job making our son feel comfortable this year!

Northlake Elementary School 5

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
We bought our home last summer and knew we wanted to send our son to Northlake- it's exciting to see Lake Highlands get behind this sweet neighborhood school! Our son just started kindergarten here and we are SO impressed with the school, principal and staff. His teacher is INCREDIBLE and he loves going to school each day. The principal has really turned this school around and we feel lucky to be here!


Northlake Elementary School 5

Posted August 18, 2015
- a community member
A new principal who is amazing and assistant principal who is very involved with the pta. Great teachers! This school has turned around and the 3 rating is out of date. If any doubt schedule a tour! You won't be disappointed

Northlake Elementary School 5

Posted June 16, 2015
- a parent
This school is all I hoped when I moved to Texas. Being from a place where Spanish is our first language my daughter just knew the basic English. The teachers, the librarian and staff are great they helped her so much. Now she can have a conversation with anybody and she loves to read in English. She is staying at this school until 6th grade.

Nearby schools

Northlake Elementary School
10059 Ravensway Drive, Dallas, TX  75238
(469) 593-2300
Last modified Northlake Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top