Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Northwood Hills Elementary School 5

Posted April 09, 2016
- a parent
Supportive, effective teaching for all learners - whether they are advanced or need extra help to get up to standard. Lots of differentiation in the curriculum! And we love being a part of the close-knit neighborhood school environment. Parents here step up to support the school.

Northwood Hills Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 23, 2016
- a parent
In a high pressure teaching environment I think the teachers do a great job, lead by a talented principal.


Northwood Hills Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 23, 2016
- a parent
Of course less homework would be everyone's ideal preference, but in order to meet certain standards additional work at home has to be done. I understand that.

Northwood Hills Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted February 23, 2016
- a parent
The NHE students are challenged to achieve to a higher level on a daily basis.

Northwood Hills Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted February 23, 2016
- a parent
The students are taught to take care of each other and be respectful of each other.


Northwood Hills Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 23, 2016
- a parent
The school holds all students and teachers accountable equally, they work on making sure the students are held to a higher level, respect their peers and adults.

Northwood Hills Elementary School 5

Posted February 23, 2016
- a parent
NHE provides a caring, nurturing learning environment for my children. The principal and staff are very friendly and accommodating..

Northwood Hills Elementary School 5

Posted February 23, 2016
- a parent
Northwood Hills Elementary is an exemplary school! NHE does an excellent job in meeting the needs of all types of learners. Gifted students are challenged to meet their full potential and students are nurtured when they need extra support. The sense of community surrounding NHE is fantastic, I'm thankful for the support I can count on from my NHE neighbors.. Finally, my kids are happy! They are thriving, learning and come home happy- what more could a parent ask?


Northwood Hills Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted November 11, 2015
- a parent
There's no respect in this school. No one seems to show that they understand what respect is.

Northwood Hills Elementary School 5

Posted February 11, 2014
- a parent
We could not be happier with our school! We love the sense of community at NHE. The principal, teachers, and support staff are top-notch, and they truly care for all of their students. Their method of teaching includes differentiated instruction which maximizes learning and growth for all students. Our daughter is getting an awesome, well-rounded education, and she's close to home!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Northwood Hills Elementary School
14532 Meandering Way, Dallas, TX  75254
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. (469) 593-4300
Last modified Northwood Hills Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top