Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


White Rock Elementary School 5

Posted June 30, 2014
- a parent
Pros: Lovely neighborhood feel, strong community spirit and support. There are many volunteers involved with the school. Many families walk to/from school. Staff greets everyone as they arrive each morning. Teachers are superb, they care deeply for the children. Cons: Class sizes are large. Cafeteria is small, so lunch starts early (10:45am) and it is short (15-20 min) before kids are ushered away to the Walk and Talk program to make room for the next group of kids. School is currently undergoing construction to build much needed new classrooms and enlarge the gym. New technology is being added as well. Overall, I highly recommend this school! Also, median home cost is inaccurate. The majority of homes in this neighborhood sell for $400k and higher. There are a couple of apartment complexes that feed into this school as well. The school is made up of majority well-educated, professional families where education is top priority for their children. However, families are also down-to-earth and the neighborhood has a "small town" feel. White Rock Elementary is the heart of the neighborhood, sports practices, carnivals, community events, parties are all held here.

White Rock Elementary School 5

Posted March 08, 2011
- a parent
White Rock Elementary is a HUGE success! I can't say enough great things about it. The office staff is wonderful and always helpful with a smile. This is my son's second year and we love it. The parent participation is outstanding. WRE PPCD program is THE BEST! The teachers are like non other. They really care about the children and it shows. Very patient, knowledgeable and attentive. My hat goes off to you! Please, don't change.


White Rock Elementary School 5

Posted June 23, 2010
- a parent
We love this neighborhood school! It is quietly tucked inside the neighborhood which makes it the center of our neighborhood. The school has such high parent involvement and the teachers are excellent. WRE is a great community of students, staff, and parents.

White Rock Elementary School 5

Posted February 08, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

White Rock Elementary School 5

Posted January 08, 2010
- a parent
We love WRE! Top rated 'Exemplary' ranking by state of Texas. Fabulous teachers, strong PTA (w/o being nutty), and great community feel. Good mix of working parents and at-home parents and plus the neighborhood is an amazingly good mix conservative, liberal, and 'everyone in-between' families. Smart and high-achieving school w/out being snooty & overly competitive. All that and we're in the heart of Dallas and not the burbs! Brilliant!


White Rock Elementary School 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
Teachers love the kids!!!

White Rock Elementary School 5

Posted July 22, 2009
- a parent
I believe the teachers are well organized and cater to the needs of the children as well as the parents. Richardson Independent School District has been excellent from the beginning. I recently returned with my son. I was a White Rock Elementary student myself!

White Rock Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 21, 2009
- a parent
What a terrific school! RISD is a very strong district overall, and White Rock Elem is one of its shining stars. What the teachers are accomplishing on a daily basis, with kids from all walks of life, is truly great. My child goes to school with sons and daughters of families that value a tight-knit community and a true neighborhood school. The REACH program is tops. The Art teacher and the arts program overall is very strong for a public school- walk down the school's art-filled halls! The academics are challenging, but well balanced. The school warmly welcomes the community to be involved, and each child is appreciated individually. The front office staff is sincere and always helpful. And Ms. Amanda Lewis is a treasure - a kind and gifted young teacher who has nurtured and carried her kids through a fun-filled year of learning!


White Rock Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 29, 2009
- a parent
The community is absolutely fabulous, the teachers are great, and the parent involvement is like nothing ever experienced before. Wonderful school!!!

White Rock Elementary School 5

Posted August 09, 2008
- a parent
Many parents are former students have married and moved back to the neighborhood to give their kids the same wonderful experience that we had as kids. The community is very tight & involved. Kids play sports together, teachers are wonderful and stay in close contact with parents, and Becky Reidling (principal) is great. There's even a Dad's Club! It's considered the 'Beaver Cleaver' school of the neighborhood because most families are 2 parent households with SAHM. There has always been a division between the home owners and the 'apartment kids,' both by race and parental involvement. Home owner families tend to stay in the area for years and years, and apartment kids tend to have less involved parents, and move in and out of the area. Now that the apartments have been torn down, so it shouldn't be a problem anymore.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

White Rock Elementary School
9229 Chiswell Road, Dallas, TX  75238
(469) 593-2700
Last modified White Rock Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
White Rock Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top