Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Uplift Education-North Hills Prep

Charter | 6-8 | 460 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

67 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 24, 2007

My children currently attend Arlington Classics Academy which is an accelerated charter school with many of the same goals as North hills. I am hoping to get my children into North hills since their current school only goes through 6th grade. I take offense to people having problems with the high academic expectations of both schools. ACA has a reputation of being a Homework school also, and I just do not see it with my kids. If your child is not ready for such a challenging environment then maybe this type of school is not for you. I am happy to have options like this available to us without having to bear the expense of private school. As far as the lack of sports or PE. You can pay for programs outside of school if you want to. These schools are about preparing kids for college in a competitive world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2007

This school has a nice envirnment, but there are not enough facilities. Also some of the teachers aren't orginized (enough).
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 10, 2007

My wife and I had herd about TNHS through a friend and we are glad we did. My daughter is in kindergarten and is enjoying every minute of it. So far TNHS school has been a pleasant experience; we enjoy the open communication with my daughter's teacher . I like that the students are challenged everyday, which is essential for a strong academic foundation. I especially like the cultural and language diversity the school has; it is a very inclusive institution. I belive the academic curriculum has suited my child just fine; as a future educator myself, I believe that by starting a child out with a strong academic foundation, the sky is the limit. I look forward to many great years at TNHS. I would recommend this school to any parent that is concerned with their child's education. ~Salvador
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2006

My children were all in gifted programs elsewhere so I thought this school would offer a better quality education and 'more.' Instead, it was just a bunch of busywork and stress. Some staff members were great, but they could not make up for the emotional damage done by the bad staff members.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2006

Having a first grader at TNHS who went to public school for Kindergarten, the difference is amazing. There is no huge amount of homework, and for those who question students being able to read in 1st grade, I think they should! :) Kids take a placement test early in the year, and the teachers get to find each student's strengths and weaknesses. There is high parent involvement, a safe environment, and the teachers really care about the students. Being a single parent, this school is a blessing for providing a private school education at a charter school price! My daughter is challenged on a daily basis, and the school has a very multicultural atmosphere. I will continue to keep my children at the North Hills School, and I would recommend this school to anyone who wants a high quality education for their children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

We couldn't be more pleased with TNHS. We were initially concerned about the amount of homework, some people think it's not age appropriate, but we've had no issues at all. The teachers are passionate and committed, the best you'll see anywhere. Excellent academics, good structure, and an invaluable world perspective are available at this school. Private school education at a public school - it's a rare find. Parent involvement is strong because it's a school of choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2006

This school has been listed by Newsweek as the #12 out of 100 best Nation wide Public Schools. Thanks to all the teachers and administrators. You have done us proud, please, keep it up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2006

Love the school. Teachers are more than willing to help the kids, they care. High standards across the board.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2006

We left this school after six months. The school touts itself as being academically superior. However, we found that the elementary curriculum was not age-appropriate. Carefully research this school before you enroll your young child. Be prepared to have the child sacrifice his/her childhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2006

I couldn't be more thrilled with The North Hills School in the Las Colinas part of Irving, Texas. The school is IB accredited and provides an education on par with the very best private schools the DFW area has to offer. However, since it is a public school, thereby open to all with the charter school format, it also provides a melting pot of socio-economic and cultural demographics which couldn't possibly happen with an expensive private school. The school's facilities continue to improve and is athletically in the Texas UIL, offering virtually every major sport for boys and girls with the exception of football. We are fortunate to have the finances, and our children have the academic ability to go anywhere in the area, and we could not be happier with the approach of The North Hills School. These kids are students first and foremost, and attract like teachers as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2005

One of the best schools we have seen! Our son is in the 4th grade now and has been with the school for the past 4 years. Boy, are we happy to have him in North Hills !! The curriculum follows the International Baccalaureate programs in the Primary, Middle and High School and the quality comes through in everything the children do at school, home and in extra-curricular activities. The school adds enormous value to the overall attitude, educational experience and international outlook of the children and we are constantly amazed at the consistent high quality the school maintains in everything even though it may be easier to cut corners given the lack of full funding from the government. We would happily recommend the school to any child or family that values education (even though, we hear, every year it is getting tougher getting in)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2005

I thought that the school was wonderful and the best place for me. It helped me be really prepared for college.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 4, 2005

North Hills has been a great school for our son. Although PE is not offered in the lower grades, the students do get a chance to go out and play. There is alot of parent involvement. The academic programs are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2005

My kids went to this school over 8 years (middle and upper) and were very happy with it. My eldest graduated from TNHS and has done very well in college. The school is offering more and more extracurricular activities such as Mock Trial and Mock UN as well as sports, The classes are generally small which is good. I do feel languages are very weak and we have not been happy with the Spanish teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2005

My children have been at North Hills for 5 years...since primary started. While there is always room for imporvement, I have been pleased with the quality of education and the dedication of the teachers and staff. The work is challenging, and although I hear a lot about there being a lot of homework, that hasn't been our experience. Homework averages 30 minutes to an hour each night (but we do it without the TV, phone or computer interrupting!) I think North Hills is not the right choice for every student--it is a good choice for families who value the quality of education over athletics and who recognize that learning how to learn is ultimately what will enable a student to be successful in college. I'll put up with the challenges at North Hills for the college-prep environment they offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

My child has had a highly positive and happy experience in North Hills' first grade. There is a lot of homework and at times the discipline is a little much. But overall, there has been a lot of learning, a lot of fun and no lack of extracurricular activities. There are cub scouts, brownies, academic contests and more. I agree that its absurd to teach French when Spanish is more relevant to our children. Finally, I can tell you that North Hills does a great job getting children ready for college. There's a lot of work but no more than an AP program in a strong public or the curriculum in private high school. You think Hockady, St. Marks or Townview TAG doesn't have homework? After only 7 years, North Hills has a higher average SAT score than any public funded school in the Metroplex except Highland Park. The results speak for themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2005

1st Grade is run like a military school which is really not appropriate for 6-7 year olds, I think. If you like that kind of style, this school is for you. First Grade home work will knock the happinness of your child's face. They have more homework, I'm told then 2nd and 3rd grade students! Big push on handwriting(lots of it) and academics. Light on music. I wish Spanish was taught along with French(which is only once a week). Level of parent involvement is high by force (required or pay some $ in lieu of volunteering hours).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2005

The North Hills School is a school for students who are willing to give up their lives to prepare themselves for college. Most kids in elementary and middle school are not thinking about what college they are going to go to at such a young age. By the time the child enters high school, they are so sick of all the work to even try to put forth an effort. NHS has the basic classes and very few if any specialty classes that could help in career decisions. They also have a very limited number of extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 25, 2005

Good academics. Lot of parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2004

Inside Scoop for 1st Grade: children are expected to read by 1st Grade. Unbalanced curriculum, focused on way too much writing for 6 year olds. Parent involvement by a minority of parents is very good. French is only once a week not twice a week like you may have heard. Not enough exposure to a second language to really be fluent in it. Equipment like computers is dismal in primary schools especially 1st Grade. If you live in Plano spare your child the grief to drive all the way to Irving. If you live in the Irving/Dallas school district, I can maybe understand your need to send your child here, but not some of the North Dallas suburbs like Coppell, Southlake and Plano. Way too much homework for 1st Graders, definitely not grade appropriate.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2011.

145 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2011.

145 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2011.

141 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

142 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 94% in 2011.

138 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

142 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

142 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2011.

141 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 95% in 2011.

140 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female99%
Male95%
Black or African American100%
Asian99%
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education100%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students99%
Female100%
Male98%
Black or African American89%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education100%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female98%
Male96%
Black or African American86%
Asian100%
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education67%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students98%
Female99%
Male97%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education86%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Not migrant98%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Writing

All Students99%
Female100%
Male99%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
White96%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education83%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Science

All Students99%
Female98%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education100%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Social Studies

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 63% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female96%
Male92%
Black or African American90%
Asian99%
Hispanic82%
Multiracial89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education100%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)70%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Black or African American100%
Asian99%
Hispanic97%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education75%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)90%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted97%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female96%
Male99%
Black or African American80%
Asian100%
Hispanic94%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted97%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students96%
Female93%
Male100%
Black or African American80%
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted96%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students97%
Female98%
Male96%
Black or African American90%
Asian100%
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted97%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students99%
Female99%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian99%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education83%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted99%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students98%
Female97%
Male100%
Black or African American86%
Asian99%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education100%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted98%
Bilingualn/a

Social Studies

All Students99%
Female99%
Male100%
Black or African American93%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted99%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students99%
Female99%
Male99%
Black or African American93%
Asian100%
Hispanic95%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education83%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted99%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Pacific Islander 51% 4%
Hispanic 21% 52%
White 19% 29%
Black 6% 13%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 5%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 21%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • GEORGE RUTZEN
Fax number
  • (972) 501-9439

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College preparatory
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1825 Market Center Boulevard
Dallas, TX 75207
Phone: (972) 501-0645

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Middle Campus
Dallas, TX






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT