Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

470 students|Uplift Education
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
92 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 108 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Uplift Education-North Hills Prep 5

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
My daughter began attending North Hills Preparatory in 6th grade and is now in the 8th grade. Before attending NHP she went to a school in Plano ISD. NHP is an academically focused school. The curriculum is challenging and the scholars do have a good amount of homework and projects. As a parent with experience in the public school system, I appreciate the level of homework as I believe it is necessary for students to practice a concept in order to master a concept. In Plano, my child rarely had homework and her knowledge and understanding suffered as a result. Every teacher at NHP offers free tutoring before, during or after school to assist scholars as needed. The online grade system is maintained regularly and parents are notified immediately when an issue arises that involves their scholar. The level of communication between the teachers and parents is phenomenal. As a working parent I have found this to be extremely helpful. One area the school lacks in is athletics. They do offer several different sports but the level of competition is low. The school has a multitude of clubs for the students to participate in and often has social activities that facilitate community across the student body as well as the families served.

Uplift Education-North Hills Prep 1

Posted March 25, 2015
- a parent
If I could give this school ZERO stars , I would. It is ranked high due to the demographics. Very motivated, hard working , very bright Southern Asia and Asian population that UPLIFT this particular school. Minimum wage staff, administration and teachers have nothing to do with it! No opportunities socially and extracurricular opportunities are null. IB is a lot of none sense irrelevant work. Attending an school offering many AP courses is much to student's advantage. The administration is a bunch of useless, passive individuals getting a paycheck through UPLIFT. Dirty , unkempt , depressing environment with lack of funds for anything! Uplift is a business that keeps popping up schools like mushrooms throught DFW but does not work on improving the existing ones. Do your children a favor and look at other options for a well balanced environment for them to thrive in and do not just look at the test scores, that is not because of the school but the pupil's hard work and self study!


Uplift Education-North Hills Prep 4

Posted February 02, 2015
- a parent
I have two kids in elementary school. They have never attended any other public school so to be frank I don't have anything to compare with. In general the teachers are well trained. They are nice to the kids and make sure kids are following what they are being taught at school. But there is a little problem with the curriculum distribution. They teach and repeat things slowly at the beginning of the academic year and after January they just rush through the curriculum. Administrative staff is not as I would expect for such an acclaimed school. They are very disorganized and change rules without consulting parents or even without giving any advance notice. The school starts way too early, first week of August as compared to other regional schools and they compensate by having half day school, noon release for a few weeks distributed through out the year. You can't really make any use of those days. Their drop off is a total caos. They relie very much on parent volunteers but behave as if they are doing a favor by letting parents volunteer. Some of the staff members don't even have decency to greet apparent with a smile. So good teachers but not the other staff.

Uplift Education-North Hills Prep 5

Posted October 29, 2014
- a parent
We have been so pleased with our experience at NHP and hope to transition our other children there in the coming years. Our other children are currently attending public and top-tier private schools in the DFW area, so we have seen and experienced it all. We are happy to say that the academics, communication and overall experience we have had meets, if not exceeds, our other schools.

Uplift Education-North Hills Prep 5

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
We are very happy with the education our children are receiving at North Hills Prep. All institutions have growing pains, NHP included, however they go above and beyond to provide stimulating curriculum with one on one teacher-student involvement as necessary to ensure that the kids have every opportunity to succeed. If a parent just shoves their kid into a high performing school but doesn't make an effort to help educate their child on their own, doesn't require that their child follow the rules and tries to cheat the system to ensure that their child gets ahead, well, that parent got what they deserved. We are happy at North Hills and have been from our start there. This is a good school with a good program, it isn't a baby sitting service for lazy parents who think the school and the kid should figure out the kids' education on their own.


Uplift Education-North Hills Prep 5

Posted February 04, 2014
- a parent
This school is an excellent school and I love the academics, curriculum, and the teachers that are present. However, I dislike the influencing policies of Uplift Education on North Hills Prep as they are trying to ruin the school's reputation from that of a #9 high school in the nation to that of a below average public school with their upcoming school day policy from 7 am to 4 pm and the use of CFA's on students as a pawn for a marketing strategy. North Hills is a great school, but must be independent from Uplift Education.

Uplift Education-North Hills Prep 1

Posted September 12, 2013
- a parent
If you have kids in this school pull them out before high school. Kids have no options to advance this school is gone down the drain the day uplift came and took over. CEO of uplift may as well be a curse word for this school.

Uplift Education-North Hills Prep 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
Comparing to any other surrounding schools, I think NHP is best. Parents involvement is very high and I am not sure its the same case with other schools.


Uplift Education-North Hills Prep 4

Posted July 27, 2013
- a parent
I agree this school has much homework. But i also learned that it depends on the kid. i have 2 children. one of them would wait until the last minute. the other one had more homework, but she learned to organize it and has time for other activities. the school isn't high quality, but the place is a safe environment and most teachers are caring. The dean can be strict, but is doing the best he can.

Uplift Education-North Hills Prep 3

Posted June 21, 2013
- a parent
For Post 06/08/13- Congrats on acceptance from all colleges you applied but which college did you choose and did you get scholarship?

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Uplift Education-North Hills Prep
1825 Market Center Boulevard, Dallas, TX  75207
(972) 501-0645
Last modified Uplift Education-North Hills Prep is a Charter school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Uplift Education-North Hills Prep Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 108 reviews. Top