Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Thomas Aquinas Elementary School

Private | PK-11

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Dallas

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $329,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 31, 2014

St. Thomas is a great academic school. It has become quite ambitious in expanding its campus at the lower and upper campus. The art program is truly fantastic, probably the best in Dallas for grades 1-8. It really helps sell the school making a beautiful impression. Deeper down, though, the school's ambition and it needs for money though, takes away from the Christian feel of the school in promoting core values and community unity. The school raises on average about $500,000 or more each year. The parents who bring this money at auction rule the roost from their disrespect to staff and other parents. You can expect those at the very top of the school and its church leadership to ignore and delay issues to the favor of those who contribute or facilitate big money coming in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2012

STA has greatly exceeded my expectations. It is a terrific school. The teachers are so enthusiastic and dedicated. They truly care about every child. My two children both love their teachers and the school. The level of communication is terrific and the administration is highly competent and caring. In addition to strong academics, the school offers great drama, music, art, Spanish, and PE programs. The school community is excellent. The parents are very dedicated and you are made to feel a valued part of the school. We came to STA from a highly rated DISD elementary school and the differences are astounding. I was pretty happy at the public school, but just had no idea how much better the learning and social environment could be until we came here. My kids, although both straight A students in DISD, were behind when they got to STA. We are playing a little catch up, but that is okay. They are making great improvements and are both very happy in their new school environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2010

We have three children at STA and are very satisfied with the academics, the strong sense of community among the families, the parent involvement, and the school's effort to instill good values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2010

whooohhhhhooooo!!!!! I love Sta it is such a good learning enviroment and deserves a 5 star rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

I love that it is a community and that we all support each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

Not only a fine academic institution, but also a warm, friendly place where children learn self-confidence and strength of character. The parents are very involved at the school and support the excellent teachers and staff. Children graduate with both a good education and a stong value system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

St. Thomas Aquinas School is a strong community of dedicated staff, teachers, parents, and students! We love STA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

St. Thomas Aquinas School offers a high quality of education with caring, dedicated teachers. The parent community is involved and very supportive of the education programs, fundraising programs, faculty and staff of the school.


Posted October 5, 2009

It is the best school because of the people who work there. Teachers are high quality and full of love and concern. they always go the extra mile. The family community is very supportive of anyone in the community but also shares their gifts, time and money with those who are less fortunate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

St. Thomas Aquinas is the best elementary school in the state! The community is very involved in the school at every level. It is like sending your child to a small town school in the middle of a big city. I know every parent and child. This is truly a village!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

They care so much about the kids - and it shows!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2009

I can't say enough good things about the preschool. We just moved here from Houston and I spent a good deal of time looking at preschools. STA was welcoming and felt like the place my daughter belonged. The teachers are nurturing and teach the children responsibility and character, as well as religion. Lovely school and caring staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

School excels with academic focus, and lots of opportunity for parental involvement (parents can be more involved if they want or have only 20 hours a year involvement). Classes can be too large in some grades and would prefer smaller, but the additional class aides help somewhat. Christian community and feel is strong in classrooms, and children are taught daily to respect each other and to live with God in their hearts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2007

we are 6 years into our STA experience and have found it to be very positive--we are very pleased with the new administration and feel our children are being challenged and prepared for high school. parent invlovement is very solid--there are many ways to help--we have always felt very welcomed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2006

Saint Thomas is a great school. I am in seventh grade and I am an 'A' honor roll student. I am also involved with sports. I currently play four. The school has led me to be a very good athlete. The teachers are willing to help anyone, anytime. Our school's principal has changed our school for the better. I know it STA sounds bad, but check it out!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 11, 2006

It is interesting that the first Parent Review starts with comments about the Wildcats and the coaches. Athletics are very revered at this school and if the child is athletically inclined, they will probably have a positive experience. So will those students of average or slightly above average academic capabilities, as the school is geared toward them. A strong clique of parents exercise quite a bit of influence over the school and which students are socially accepted. If your child does not fit into one of these categories, you may be better served at another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2006

While having a good image, the school cares more for small discipline issues over the whole picture- a high quality and healthy emotional education for its children. We found parent involvment to be more of a social party than what is best for the school or the children. The administration is too new.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2005

Academic programs at St Thomas Aquinas are outstanding. The grading system is tough. For example, 94-100 is an A. Principal runs in a clique, therefore the parents and children run in cliques as well. As for extracurricular activities, very frustrating, no principal involvement and the parents could care less, sports dictated by the Dallas Parochial League director. In my opinion, not a very Christian- like school, but has the possibility of improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 37%
Hispanic 43% 47%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Black 0% 14%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • TCC,NCEA
Fax number
  • (214) 826-0251

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Dallas
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3741 Abrams Rd
Dallas, TX 75214
Phone: (214) 826-0566

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT