Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Cecilia Catholic School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Dallas

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $210,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 6, 2013

There's a mean nun that teaches pre-k and the kids are afraid of her and if you try to talk to her she is very rude and arrogant. The school should've gotten rid of her a long time ago. It's hard to believe she's been there for as long as she has.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2013

As a parent with 3 kids and 2 attending St. Cecilia for the last 3 years i am extremely impressed with the school all around. The academics, teachers and the fact of RELIGION being taught gives my 2 kids a solid foundation. The low ratio of kids to teachers is also HUGE. St. Cecilia, Father Ed and Principal Barbosa, Thank you all for your hard work and the fact that you all care. GO BULLDOGS!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2009

My daughter has been going to SCS for 5 years, my son for 2 year and they both LOVE it! They both display respect, manners, discipline and are conscientious of anothers' feelings. The teachers are great and although they may not get paid much, they enjoy teaching and do it well. My husband and I enjoy the tight knit family environment and feel safe knowing our kids are safe, learning, and having fun! I'd recommend SCS to any parent looking for a great school for their child. No problems or complaints here and we've been there 5 years. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2006

St. Cecilia is a wonderful school. My child is loved and is being well educated and protected. She speaks freely about God and I know this is due to her receiving religious education at school. If you'd like a religious education for your child... you owe it to yourself to check out St. Cecilia's. It is the 'invisible jewel' of Oak Cliff, and they happen to be the least expensive Catholic school in the area. See their website http://www.stceciliacatholic.org/ to check out their low tuition and all that is offered... from an awesome Computer Program, Robotics, Web Publishing, Choir, Sports, Cheerleading, Drama Club, Scouting, Student Council... you name it and St. Cecilia has it. We also have a full cafeteria serving great hot meals each day, and a full size Gym that is currently being renovated. Awesome deal and great parents... you gotta check them out! Go Bulldogs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2005

St. Cecilia is exceptional. Although, we have had a new principal this last year which did not do a very good job! I am seeking else where as long as this principal is at St. Cecilia. She has run most of the teachers out of the school for next year 2005-2006.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2005

Very structured environment. Music, PE, technology & sports offered. Art not emphasised. Parents quite involved. Good communication between parents and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2004

Being a current student of education and a graduate from St. Cecilia the feedback from me is realistic. Being able to know all the students in the school was great! Also, the classes were small and many friendships with peers can be established. I encourage for a parent to keep their child at this school for their whole PreK-8 education, that way he or she will grow up with the same students all their careers. I still keep in contact with half of my graduating 8th grade class. The teachers are great and they know when to intervene when help is needed. The open houses are also great for parents to get involved with.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 3, 2004

The teachers at St. Cecila care a great deal about every student's education. You can tell by just talking with them. Being a smaller school adds to the great education. The teacher/student ratio is good. I think it's great that the teachers all know every child's name in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 87% 47%
Two or more races 6% N/A
Asian 3% N/A
White 3% 37%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 14%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Dallas
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

635 Mary Cliff Rd
Dallas, TX 75208
Phone: (214) 948-8628

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT