Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Bernard Of Clairvaux School

Private | PK-8 & ungraded | 185 students

We are best known for family centered environment.

 
 

Living in Dallas

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $213,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $990.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 30, 2011

We are very happy at St. Bernards.... The academics are excellent, the teachers and staff are kind, the families are active and vested in the school. There is not a better place for our child to be nurtured and to grow to the best he can be!!! Thank you St Bernards School!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2011

For the life of me I just don't understand these former parents complaining about St. Bernard. These people have an axe to grind and the school is better off with them gone! No School is perfect and don't let anyone tell you that one is. My children have attended St. Bernard for 3 years now and we LOVE the school. The teachers are great and the principal has worked hard to build the school and continues to do so. St. Bernard's has a wonderful atmosphere, our kids love it and I know your's will too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2011

Parents are pulling their kids out of this school on droves. Enrollment has almost been cut in half. The principal is very very hostile and combative such as hanging up on parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2011

My child flourishes at St. Bernard. St. Bernard has outstanding teachers who love doing their job. Did you know St. Bernard received an award for their outstanding Title I program? Did you also know St. Bernard has six 7th graders being tracked by Duke University for their outstanding performance on their standardized tests? Did you know almost all our basketball teams made it to the playoffs? This school is doing something right.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2011

Saint Bernard of Clairvaux is a wonderful school with inspired teachers and a motivated principal. If you are looking for a private school where your child will get plenty of attention, look no further. You will not be disappointed. Take a tour and see for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2011

I really don't understand comments about lack of communication from disgruntled parents. We have daily emails delivered directly to each parent's mailbox. If a parent does not have email, I print out what comes to me and send it home in my student's Homework Folder. Our school has a new online Renweb gradebook which gives information concerning student grades, homework, teacher concerns and direct answers to parent questions. Our principal regularly makes phone contact with parents and warmly greets parents throughout the day. We have monthly Home and School meetings where different organizations present reports about their individual functions. As a teacher at the school, I know that the principal's door is always open to parents and faculty/staff with any concern they might have. These negative comments are ridiculous and representative of parents who are no longer in control of our school. I love working here and wish parents would feel the same way about sending their children here. We have a strong, highly communicative leader, focused on families, teachers and students. Our school rocks!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 10, 2011

What a fantastic difference these past two years have made at St. Bernard. The school has the latest in technology, the best teachers, two new priests who are actively involved in the school, daily communication between the school and home, and most of all a new sense of pride in our school . Entering the school, you can feel the energy in the teachers, kids and parents. There is higher accountability for everyone involved in their commitment to our faith, education and our community. St. Bernard is rapidly becoming "The Best Little Catholic School in Dallas". I am so proud to be a part of this school.


Posted October 18, 2010

I moved my kids from a "big" Catholic School to St. Bernard, so that there could be more emphasis on education versus family status. The school has improved dramatically since Mrs. Balcom was hired! Some long time parents of SBS do not seem to be as pleased, because rules that should have been in place all along are now being implemented. The school is now ran by the principal, not the parents, which is the way it should be. There are wonderful thingsgoing on with new committees and members throughout. The new Priests this year are also great, my kids love them! St. Bernard is now on the right track, thanks to Mrs. Balcom. I feel great sending my kids to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2010

Over the past 2 years THERE is definitely more than 3 NEW teachers...who is doing the math on the last comment !!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2010

This school is supposed to have a close knitted environment and that is what I wanted for my child. In reality, everything is communicated through group emails, most of the teachers are brand-new with less than one year teaching experience and there are no parent teacher conferences. The school is supposed to care about each individual child but their is no personalization at all. For such a small school it is a shame. It is better to go public or pay more for school. This school isn't worth the money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2010

We have been increasingly disappointed with this school for the last few years. Bullying is a big issue with this school that they refuse to look at. We agreed to stay another year when we heard new teachers were being hired. That was a bad decision. We saw the principal's true colors when we needed to talk to her about problems with one of those new teachers. I agree with other reviewers that she is arrogant and has given the school a hostile environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2010

I was a student here from kinder to the start of 6th grade. At this school i was bullied and the teachers didnt do anything about it and the principal and one of the new teachers did unchristian like things(which is a very bad example for others) This school is NOT what its cracked up to be.


Posted March 23, 2010

I have been a parent of St. Bernard School for 9 years. I honestly can say that it has been a great experience for my child and also my family. Each day I drop off my child at St. Bernard, I never have to worry about him as far as his safety. It seems like everyone knows each other and looks after each other. I can feel the love as soon as I walk through the front doors of the school. We have some great teachers that take the time to work hard with our kids. This year, St Bernard was fortunate to get a new principal. Her name is Mrs. Balcom. She has brought so many good changes to the school, plus she really cares for our children like they are her own children. The office staff is great too. I would highly recommend St. Bernard to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2010

This is our first year at st. Bernard, my daughter loves going to school. Everyone there including the new principal are very nice. I think the changes that are happening are for the best of our children. This is the reason why i send my daughter to private school instead of public. I do want the principal to be strict about anything that happens at school that is not supposed to be happening!! we definitly refer this school, it is a great one, well worth your money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2009

St. Bernard was a great school to have your kids attend until the 2009 school year. Faustino Leos was a wonderful principal and cared about the students and staff as well as parents. A new principal has been introduced as of Augus of 2009. The school now has a hostile environment feel to it. The new principal takes all and any issues to the extreme. I have had children attend St. Bernard now for 10 yrs and this by far the most unorganized and worst year ever. I highly doubt my we will attend next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2008

My child flourishes at St. Bernard. At last, a school where the teachers CARE about EACH child and their abilities. Principal Leos is wonderful and Fr. Martin is a treat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

I was apprehensive about sending my child to st. Bernard's and only did so out of support for the parish's now deceased pastor. I have been pleasantly surprised by the warmth and sense of community as well as the individual attention i see every child receive. All of the teachers know all of the children and the whole community is very tight-knit and homey. I do think there are too many fundraisers starting very early in the school year. I was not terribly impressed with the second grade math program. The school has very high expectations of its working parents and should allow a buy-out for mandatory volunteer activity. But all in all our experience has been very good. St. Bernard's is definitely a good value for the money. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a private school in the east dallas area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

This is a school that is filled with learning we have a great science and ecpecialy a great math teacher it is so great to have the privalage to go to sbs
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 27, 2007

Greatly prepares your kids in Literature and grammar, but is average in mathematical preparation.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 20, 2006

St. Bernard of Clairvaux is a wonderful learning environment for any child. We chose this school because of its small size and warmth as you enter the school. Every student knows every other student. You don't get that in any of the other surrounding schools. The teachers and staff are outstanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 49% 51%
White 38% 31%
Asian or Pacific Islander 6% 4%
Black 4% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Our first year to compete in PSIA earned us 17 ribbons with two students going to state in art. (2010)
  • St. Bernard's stong middle school science program earned two first place prizes in Lego Rogotics. (2010)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Clubs
  • Drama club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:55 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Tommie Balcom
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (214) 321-4060

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Dallas
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Drama club
  • Gardening
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
More from this school
  • St. Bernard of Clairvaux is a small community school with big ideas. Although we plan to remain small, we consistently seek current research-based educational strategies, state-of-the-art technologies, and the best staff development opportunities. We focus on the individual chlild through data-driven instruction. We are a faith filled community evidenced daily in every subject area.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bishop Lynch
Townview
Arts Magnet
College preparation / awareness offered
None
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1420 Old Gate Lane
Dallas, TX 75218
Website: Click here
Phone: (214) 321-2897

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Dallas Academy
Dallas, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT