Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8 & Ungraded
Private
Dallas, TX
Students enrolled: 185
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Bernard Of Clairvaux School 3

Posted January 18, 2015
- a parent
I think that this is for the most part a sweet little school. There are so e really great teachers, and there are a few that appear to be just phoning it in, but I guess that happens everywhere. I appreciate that even though we are not catholic, we are welcomed. I am not as crazy about the arts offered. The art teacher is incredibly kind, but the arts assignments left my creative child complaining that they could only use certain colors, etc.

St Bernard Of Clairvaux School 5

Posted December 12, 2014
- a parent
SBS is a excellent school with a good teacher to student ratio. Our new principal is very engaged and provides solid leadership. Overall our experience at SBS has been worth every penny and I'd encourage you to check it out if searching for a new school.
1 person found this helpful


St Bernard Of Clairvaux School 2

Posted December 05, 2014
- a parent
Curriculum is on public school level I would say. Nothing to brag about. This school is a money pit. Always asking for donations for this and that. If it's not the principal asking for stuff, it's the teachers or the home and school association (PTA). Pretty sad when you get email from teacher asking if any parent would be so kind to donate a printer for the classroom. Hello? Isn't that the schools responsibility to provide that? Or how about having to purchase your child's art work completed in art class? 20 bucks a piece. Other than that you will never see their art work brought home. Pretty ridiculous!
1 person found this helpful

St Bernard Of Clairvaux School 1

Posted May 18, 2014
- a teacher
So saddened to hear that our wonderful principal is leaving. What great advances she has made in the last five years. Gone are the negative staff and parents that destroy a school's morale. I pray that the new principal will have the backbone to stand firm and continue the progress made.

St Bernard Of Clairvaux School 4

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
We have been part of SBS for about five years and overall we have loved the school, staff, students, and families; however, the principal has run off so many families and staff members over the last four years and this has caused great discord in the school. I am thrilled that the school will be getting a new school leader next year. Hopefully, the new principal will be a great leader with vision to improve SBS so that prospective families and staff members will be drawn to the school instead of being run off.


St Bernard Of Clairvaux School 5

Posted April 25, 2014
- a parent
This little school is wonderful and a hidden gem in the East Dallas. The staff is outstanding and challenge the children everyday. It offers great academics and community. Going on our 4th year we highly recommend you visit this school to learn more about what makes it so special.
1 person found this helpful

St Bernard Of Clairvaux School 5

Posted February 24, 2014
- a parent
Very good school with intelligent and caring teachers. Great option if you are going the private route...you don't have to be Catholic.

St Bernard Of Clairvaux School 5

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
We are happy here. It has exceeded our expectations. We found out though the principal (very well informed) that 95% of Saint Bernard of Clairvaux graduates are accepted to Honors Level Programs at public schools, or Catholic High Schools. Great environment for learning. Outstanding teachers and curriculum.


St Bernard Of Clairvaux School 5

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
Just left the New Parent Orientation! Helpful staff and warm welcome from principal. Can't wait to be a part of this growing community and school. Very Impressed!

St Bernard Of Clairvaux School 1

Posted August 06, 2013
- a parent
This school will nickel and dime you broke! The tuition you pay nor the fundraising is enough for this school. They want you to donate items for them to profit from, volunteer with all kinds of projects so they won't have to hire someone to do. Even carpet was a donation and so was the installation! They even had the audacity to ask for parents to donate dishes to use in the cafeteria. Ridiculous! Who is making money here? Where is the money going? The catholic diocese? The pope? It certainly isn't going back to the school and the students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Bernard Of Clairvaux School
1420 Old Gate Lane, Dallas, TX  75218
(214) 321-2897
Last modified St Bernard Of Clairvaux School is a Private school
St Bernard Of Clairvaux School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. Top