Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 38 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


42 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Bernard Of Clairvaux School 2

Posted August 11, 2014
- a parent
Eh....this school is tit for tat as far as the education and curriculum you would get at a public school. There are some very lazy teachers here as well just collecting a paycheck just like at public schools and could care less if your child is learning anything. This school doesn't have the resources that you expect from a private school either. Tutoring is 30 minutes a week! Seriously folks, how much can be accomplished in 30 minute sessions once a week??? What if your child needs tutoring in more than one subject?? Well, your child is screwed. Very alarming when a new SBS teacher tells you that the whole class is behind academically compared to the public school she was teaching at. A fellow parent also mentioned to me that when she pulled out her oldest child and sent him to public school, he was tested and told he was behind academically. This school puts all their focus and attention to raising money for gala and all the other fundraisers throughout the year and totally disregard the curriculum and the education students are getting and what teachers are teaching and lack of teaching. They need a whole new strategic plan and put education first and foremost.

St Bernard Of Clairvaux School 1

Posted May 18, 2014
- a teacher
So saddened to hear that our wonderful principal is leaving. What great advances she has made in the last five years. Gone are the negative staff and parents that destroy a school's morale. I pray that the new principal will have the backbone to stand firm and continue the progress made.


St Bernard Of Clairvaux School 4

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
We have been part of SBS for about five years and overall we have loved the school, staff, students, and families; however, the principal has run off so many families and staff members over the last four years and this has caused great discord in the school. I am thrilled that the school will be getting a new school leader next year. Hopefully, the new principal will be a great leader with vision to improve SBS so that prospective families and staff members will be drawn to the school instead of being run off.

St Bernard Of Clairvaux School 5

Posted April 25, 2014
- a parent
This little school is wonderful and a hidden gem in the East Dallas. The staff is outstanding and challenge the children everyday. It offers great academics and community. Going on our 4th year we highly recommend you visit this school to learn more about what makes it so special.

St Bernard Of Clairvaux School 5

Posted February 24, 2014
- a parent
Very good school with intelligent and caring teachers. Great option if you are going the private route...you don't have to be Catholic.


St Bernard Of Clairvaux School 5

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
We are happy here. It has exceeded our expectations. We found out though the principal (very well informed) that 95% of Saint Bernard of Clairvaux graduates are accepted to Honors Level Programs at public schools, or Catholic High Schools. Great environment for learning. Outstanding teachers and curriculum.

St Bernard Of Clairvaux School 5

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
Just left the New Parent Orientation! Helpful staff and warm welcome from principal. Can't wait to be a part of this growing community and school. Very Impressed!

St Bernard Of Clairvaux School 1

Posted August 06, 2013
- a parent
This school will nickel and dime you broke! The tuition you pay nor the fundraising is enough for this school. They want you to donate items for them to profit from, volunteer with all kinds of projects so they won't have to hire someone to do. Even carpet was a donation and so was the installation! They even had the audacity to ask for parents to donate dishes to use in the cafeteria. Ridiculous! Who is making money here? Where is the money going? The catholic diocese? The pope? It certainly isn't going back to the school and the students.


St Bernard Of Clairvaux School 1

Posted July 02, 2013
- a teacher
I was expecting this Catholic school to be passionate about religion. However, all prayers were demonstrated in a very meaningless way with no feeling or expression behind them. I like children to learn to focus and acknowledge what they are praying for, not just repeating words. On another note, materials are so outdated yet they want you to teach state standards but fail to provide adequate resources. The principal is extremely unprofessional, hostile, and knows how to talk a big game but when asked to actually perform becomes defensive. She passes the buck to her sidekick vice-principal that is equally disrespectful and unprofessional. They lack communication skills and are definitely not role models nor examples of "Christians" that I would ever allow my children to look up to.

St Bernard Of Clairvaux School 5

Posted June 02, 2013
- a parent
My child has attended SBS for 2 years now and it is an amazing school. The principal and leadership of the school insures all the children are being challenged academically no matter their skill level. The teachers, staff and parents are very involved in all aspects of the school which creates an unparalleled community. If you are looking for a small, unquie school where you are accountable for your actions. Then SBS is the place for your family!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Bernard Of Clairvaux School
1420 Old Gate Lane, Dallas, TX  75218
(214) 321-2897
Last modified St Bernard Of Clairvaux School is a Private school
St Bernard Of Clairvaux School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top