Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Jesuit College Prep School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Dallas

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $275,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 3, 2013

I went to Jesuit and it was awesome. The academics are what you make of it and the student life is great. I absolutely loved it. I went to Fordham in New York City and I can say that none of my professors in college could hold a candle to the instructors I had at Jesuit. Nothing prepared me more for my professional life than the time commitment of Jesuit. Side note: that first teacher has to be Mr. Rumenapp. Sorry it didn't work out but look at our standardized test scores in comparison to the public schools and even at Ursuline. Jesuit was great. Go Rangers.


Posted September 16, 2013

The level of rigor at this school was below what I had seen in public schools in the area and surprisingly, there did not seem to be much college prep in the courses I observed my students taking. Teachers that taught similar courses had different goals in mind and a lot of lessons seemed to be created on the spot (perhaps to keep the school catered towards individual students/parents where special favors were also given). I didn't see a lot of consequences or penalties for students that submitted late work, which lowered my desire to send my own son here (not a real-world kind of place). Due to the pressure to be well-rounded and involved in extracurricular activities, many students quickly became exhausted and resorted to cheating (which was not what I would expect in a Catholic environment of this kind). A lot of emphasis has been placed on creating rich language to describe the environment of the school, but I encourage parents to question everything from who is in charge of campus ministry to the experience of the administrators to what is actually taught in the classroom. I've known many orthodox Catholic teachers leave for other Catholic institutions in the area.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 13, 2011

Jesuit is a great place for your son to become a "Man For Others". Each boy is challenged to learn the Catholic faith. Also, each boy is free to be himself, and there are numerous extracurricular activities available. The education is excellent and very challenging. My son has told me that these have been the best school years of his life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2011

Jesuit truly honors it's mission of building "Men For Others". If you want to put your son in an environment where he has the opportunity to learn responsibility for his actions, Jesuit is the place. The faculty focuses on developing the complete person. Academics are important here, but Jesuit also expects and encourages students to be involved in the community, with required service hours at each grade level and weekly community service for Seniors. Our son leaves Jesuit well prepared for next steps. He is the profile of a Jesuit graduate: Open to Growth, Physically Fit, Loving, Religious, Committed To Working for Justice, and Intellectually Competent. Well rounded to varying degrees and ready for greater challenges in life. Jesuit was a great choice for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2008

Our 2 sons went to Jesuit Dallas and I cannot stress how absolutely incredible the school is. Everyone from the counselors, teachers, principal, vice prinicpal, to those in the finance office are amazing, I can't say enough. Anytime there was an issue (conduct, grades, paying tuition), we were consistently made to feel we were the only family in need of attention-everyone was available at a moment's notice. The boys that go here are groomed for college from the get-go. The Catholic faith is on display everywhere, and unlike some parochial high schools it is not forgotten that this is a Christ-centered community. Our sons were so well-prepared for college and life that it was worth every penny. If you want your son to become a well-rounded, well-educated young man with high morals and a focus on all that his life has to offer, send him to Jesuit Dallas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2007

Jesuit College Prep is by far the best Catholic education you can receive in the state of Texas, rivaled only by that of Strake Jesuit College Preparatory in Houston. The alumni giving rate is very high, with a very substantial endowment fund. The campus, facilities, and faculty are all top notch with beautiful surroundings and a faculty that is among the best in the nation. The Jesuit athletic program is also very prestigious, the second private school in the state of Texas to be in the UIL division 5A,(the first was Strake Jesuit in Houston) this allows the sports program to grow beyond that of all other private schools by placing Jesuit against public schools for a greater challenge. Jesuit College Prep is simply the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 5, 2006

Jesuit is truly a community in which all are welcome. There are kids from all social, economic and financial backgrounds but you'll hardly notice. The school is run with an efficiency that is comforting to us as parents; they know boys. It has it's problems. Afterall, it is a school full of teenage boys but the school deals with incidents quickly and fairly. The level of parental involvement is unbelieveable and a great way for new families to become connected. Students are well prepared for college and many attend elite schools. The school hovers 99-100% college attendance. There are many extracurricular activities and the school does a good job encouraging boys to be involved. My son has said he would not trade his high school experience for any other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2005

This school was an excellent choice. Coming from a public school system this private institution gave our family the structure and security of a great education overall and the building of a quality young man within me.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 16, 2005

The best deal for the gifted/hard working student.The school boasts many sports, clubs, and a world class art program. Many honors/AP classes and a staff of dedicated professionals. This school nurtures a young mans mind, body and spirit. However, its an all male student body and made for the 'serious student'. One who can survive and atrive a regorious educational challenge. Parent envolvement is fostered and evolves as an extensioned family. Diversity and service to the indigent needy is a mission statement/motto. This school changes lives and is an asset to Dallas, as a whole, and the student body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2005

I thought that this school was a waste of money for my child. I seems that some of the teachers were no better then the ones he had when he went to public school. I thought my child would receive a better education at this institution then at private schools but I was very disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2004

Jesuit prepares men for the world, teaching them to think for themselves, take care of those less fortunate than themselves, and to be active in the greater community they live in. The young men graduating from Jesuit find themselves much better prepared for college and life than those from most public schools. My experience includes one Jesuit graduate exceling in Biomedical Engineering at Marquette University, one current senior at Jesuit and one freshman at Jesuit. Everyone of them consider Jesuit their home away from home and the Jesuit community remains there for them on into adulthood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2004

My son is at Jesuit and is doping very well. Jesuit is helping to develope my son into a fine young man. He is involved at the school and debate. Jesuit is a great school and I recomend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2003

Jesuit College Preparatory School is by far the best education of it's kind that is available in the United States. Not only is the academic program incredibly rigorous and disciplined, but Jesuit is also highly ranked in all extracurricular activities. This school is run by a dedicated, caring faculty and staff that is determined to create complete and disciplined men that excel academically, athletically, and socially. Recently, Jesuit athletics, having dominated private schools, has joined 5A public schools in district, regional, and state competition. This has been an incredible experience that culminated in the admission of my son to one of the best colleges in the nation. Above all, my son has been given a priceless Catholic education centered upon morality and determination
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2003

I would not have the marvelous son I have today were it not for the caring teachers and counselors at Jesuit. They truly turn boys into men ~ the type of men which this world sorely needs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2003

My three sons graduated from Jesuit. They are now a doctor,lawyer and director of marketing. Jesuit has taught my boys the value that discipline and hard work will make a valuable person in our society. 'A Man For All Seasons.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 37%
Hispanic 13% 47%
Asian 5% N/A
Two or more races 4% N/A
Black 3% 14%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • JSEA
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (972) 661-9349

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Dallas
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12345 Inwood Rd
Dallas, TX 75244
Phone: (972) 387-8700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Alcuin School
Dallas, TX




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT