Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Christ the King Elementary School

Private | 2-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Dallas

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $650,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 2, 2013

In 2012 a new principal joined CKS. Quality continues to be very strong, teacher issues are being addressed (including the one referred to below). Teacher development is a priority, as is accountability for strong results in the classroom. High parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2012

This school has consistency going for it... both the students and teachers seemed miserable. The teachers seemed put upon by their students and their elitists attitudes. Not the wholesome Christian environment that one would expect to find there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2012

Administration is extremely old school, they are not very nice to parents and talk behind their backs (heard it first hand). The vice principal said something about someone I know out loud in the office without realizing someone was listening. Wow! How unprofessional. They have tried their best to improve in some areas but some teachers are not top notch at all, especially in the upper school. Most kids are very well prepared for high school academically and socially but definitely not a perfect school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2012

We are new to Christ the King this year and everyone has been so nice. The teachers are great and other parents have gone out of their way to make us feel welcome. We've had a wonderful experience and look forward to many great years at Christ the King!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2011

Wonderful teachers, involved parents, great community feeling - we have been so happy at Christ the King!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2011

Your well prepared for any High School when you graduate from Christ the Kings School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2010

Fabulous school, great parent involvement and great academics. The sense of community is stong here as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

This year has been a beating at CKS. They are unable or unwilling to provide accomodations for special needs, this after they referred us to be tested for learning differences. My other child has had no problems at all and enjoys the school. THe teacher admit that this is a feeder school for Jesuit and Ursuline and that is their goal to get the kids into Ursuline and Jesuit. If your child has learning differences this school is not for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2010

My child had a great experience my first year at Christ the King. Everyone was super nice. The next year was the same. This last year I did not enjoy my child attending because she was bullied a bit. She loves the staff, but seems to have a bit of a had time with the other students. She has been challenged by the curriculem, except in reading.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

My kids really enjoy going to school here. The middle school needs improvement, but the lower school can't be beat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2008

I'm a CKS grad now in high school, and sometimes i miss going here. I built many lasting friendships at this school. The teachers were great, whom i probably miss the most.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2005

This is a great K-8 private Catholic school. The faculty and staff are there because they want to be - they are genuine and loving. This is not an 'easy' school - it challenges the kids a great deal at the same time as supporting each child's individual learning needs. Wonderful parent involvement here. Extracurricular activities seem to be plenty. All in all a great community to be a part of.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 31%
Hispanic 9% 51%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Black 0% 13%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • TCC
Fax number
  • (214) 365-1236

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Dallas
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4100 Colgate
Dallas, TX 75225
Phone: (214) 365-1234

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Wesley Prep
Dallas, TX





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT