Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Dallas, TX
Students enrolled: 1,095

4 stars
Based on 39 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


39 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bishop Lynch High School 2

Posted November 28, 2014
- a student
I'm currently attending this school as a freshman, I have completed my first semester and I can agree with some of the other reviews that BL is almost all about the sports. I'm involved in the fine arts program at the school and they are beyond amazing. I love the choir director, the musical director, and the whole program is very impressive and fun to be apart of but the arts among the students is not appreciated at all. When the choir received an invitation to sing in front of the pope, the choir got no recognition. But when the football team won one football game we had a whole pep rally about it. Football, volleyball, cheerleading, and sometimes basketball are the only things that matter among the students. The choir and theater kids are often made fun of from the people who participate in the other sports. This is school is great for a person who is very interested in becoming an athlete in college. The academics are good if you take the right path but i find often that none of the students care about grades. It's a big joke to fail a class or cheat of test, homework, and quizzes. Some of the teachers are excellent but others are awful and need to be fired.

Bishop Lynch High School 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
Bishop Lynch offers a great environment for kids, with a balanced student body from all areas of the city and all walks of life, a caring faculty that offers a balanced view of learning and life. Bishop Lynch's best feature is that it is a wonderful community to be a part of, both as a student and parent. Kids at BL are taught community service and how to care about others. They create friendships for life. And the school is not just for Catholic kids, as they probably have about 25% of the student population that is not Catholic. While not an elite school academically like certain others, it is just a wonderful environment that has something for every one.
1 person found this helpful


Bishop Lynch High School 5

Posted April 04, 2014
- a parent
Great school! The teachers are exceptional! The kids seem very happy and nice. My son has made good friends at BL. They offer many AP classes and really challenge the students. I feel like my son has gotten a great education is is well prepared for college.
1 person found this helpful

Bishop Lynch High School 4

Posted January 31, 2014
- a parent
Bishop Lynch is the largest private mixed high school in Texas. It offers a wonderful dual, college enrollment program. It offers a well-rounded education in sports and arts. It is diversified in gender and ethnicity. The math program is exceptional as evidenced from its state and national wins. Cliques are not excessive. The school draws in freshmen students as far from Ennis, Bedford, and Denton. Hang out at the Dairyette if you want the true, inside scoop from the students. I did, and they had great things to say. Areas of improvement need to be: less focus on alumni parties (donation driven) and more on current parents, and the unity of school community. The no cash/school card system is okay, but not allowing parents to control or set limits for their family budget on their minor children's spending is not.
1 person found this helpful

Bishop Lynch High School 5

Posted July 26, 2013
- a parent
My school is Bishop Lynch. I have 4 children who have graduated from BL. We have been at Bishop Lynch for the last 15 years. What a wonderful experience with was for my children. There are so many things the kids can be involved. There are get togethers for the students, new families, for the moms and there is also a dads club. The teachers are wonderful and great role models. The teachers really care about the students and their success not only in school but their future.
1 person found this helpful


Bishop Lynch High School 4

Posted July 25, 2013
- a parent
Bishop Lynch high school is a great community for learning and developing leadership and service.

Bishop Lynch High School 5

Posted May 02, 2013
- a parent
Bishop Lynch is the best private/parochial school in Dallas. The kids are friendly and laid-back and the teachers/administrators/coaches are outstanding. Best decision we ever made to send our son to Bishop Lynch. "Worth the Drive".

Bishop Lynch High School 5

Posted January 30, 2013
- a parent
As a college professor, I am very glad that my daughter decided to go to Bishop Lynch. The teachers who are there have excellent credentials and many teach or have taught in the local college systems. This school has one of the largest dual credit programs in the area and many students graduate with numerous hours of college credit. The teachers do a great job of preparing the students for college courses while making then feel welcome there and part of the community. My daughter is very happy to be there and enjoys the friendly atmosphere. The counselors and deans are always around at school events to make sure that things run smoothly. I also feel as though she is in a safe environment, which is reassuring during these times.


Bishop Lynch High School 1

Posted December 27, 2012
- a community member
this school focuses way too much on sports. yes it is Texas, as one reviewer said, but this is SUPPOSED to be a college prep school, not a sport prep or anything like that. so just because it's Texas doesn't give the school the excuse to focus on sports and athletes. college involves so many different facets of our lives that don't involve sports, but actual real world experiences. as a former student I don't appreciate the drugs that are very accessible and the stupid and idiotic cliques that form. if you don't have money, it's made sure that you understand you aren't worth anything and you don't belong. transferring to Bishop Dunne (a Catholic college prep high school also in Dallas) for my junior and senior year is the best decision I could have made. bishop Dunne truly gives you the real world experiences you need for college such as their diversity, extracurriculars, and the opportunity to actually participate in them-- lynch is very particular about who gets priority based on whose parents donate the most. the drugs and superficial experience is one I wish I never had and I wish I would have attended Bishop Dunne all four years of high school.

Bishop Lynch High School 3

Posted April 23, 2012
- a student
Overall this school is good, however most of the teachers are coaches that are more concerned with coaching than teaching. This school does have a lot of cliques, but if a student is outgoing and not shy they will make some friends. The dance team has a lot of cliques as well. There is a lot of gossip, fakeness, favoritism. The older girls can turn the coaches against you and they are really mean to underclassmen unless you kiss-up to them. The other teachers care about their students and want them to succeed.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bishop Lynch High School
9750 Ferguson Road, Dallas, TX  75228
(214) 324-3607
Last modified Bishop Lynch High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Bishop Lynch High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. Top