Advertisement
Advertisement

Bishop Dunne Catholic School

Private | 6-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Dallas

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $87,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 15, 2013

Both our daughters are flourishing at this school! <They came from a Catholic School with extremely Poor Leadership and a Teaching Staff that is in constant turmoil>. On the bright side, our daughters now realize the importance of a school with Great Leadership and Teachers who are Warm, Professional, & Caring. Their grades (& constant praise of this school) reflect their happiness. Words simply can't express the amount of happiness we have, in regards to our daughters attending Bishop Dunne Catholic School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

Bishop Dunne Catholic High School has been a great experience for us. The negative is that it is very expensive. I would not spend the money for this school again. I believe there are other options just as good if not better that are less expensive. The academics are great. I loved the ability for my child to have online assignments when there was inclement weather. I also liked the environment. I felt very safe sending my child to this school. My child attended there from 7-12 grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

I would like to take the time to give Bishop Dunne Catholic School an outstanding rating. I have a daughter who currently attends Bishop Dunne and will be a sophomore this fall 2013. I m very proud to say that she has been on the Bishop s honor roll for both semesters of her freshman year. The teachers are phenomenal in gearing their students to strive to do the best to their ability. I m very confident that Bishop Dunne will prepare my daughter for what is to be expected in her college years. As a signal parent I have sacrificed to give the very best education to my daughter. All the sacrifices I have made for her will pay off in the end. Bishop Dunne has molded my daughter into a thriving young adult. I highly recommend Bishop Dunne to anyone who is considering enrolling their child. From my personal experience you will not be let down but blown away with the academics Bishop Dunne has to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2013

Bishop Dunne has academically high standards, and does a fine job preparing students for a post-secondary education at a 4-year college/university. As another parent mentioned, the distinct character of the school is a positive. Don't be turned away by the older-looking buildings. There are a number of large scale remodeling projects in progress, and in a year or so, the building will be modernized. If you're looking for your child a strong learning environment that is academically challenging, and also looking for ample extra-curricular opportunities, take an honest look at B. Dunne. It's a great option.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2012

I found that the Bishop Dunne community was so welcoming to my son who attended since the 8th grade and graduated last year in the class of 2012. My son was accepted to many top colleges thanks to Bishop Dunne and the rigorous curriculum they provided. Besides from excellent academic programs they also have a large number of sports and clubs that my son enjoyed and met life long friends in these activities. Overall Bishop Dunne was an excellent experience for my family and even though it may not be the best looking or wealthiest private school in Dallas, it makes up for it in distinctive character and a healthy learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2012

I have two daughters who attended and graduated from Bishop Dunne. My oldest started in the 9th grade and my youngest started in the 7th grade. They are both in college now and have very fond memories of the teachers and students. They both feel that the strict but compassionate discipline and the rigorous academics have prepared them for college. One of my daughters had difficulties with a student at one time but the school intervened and through a dispute resolution type process the two were able to get past their differences. I believe this is one of the best schools in Dallas and I feel fortunate to have been able to send my children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2012

I am a current Bishop Dunne student and I don't like the school. If you want a good quite environment then this school is not for you. You can not walk anywhere in the school without being shoved aside by tons of other students. The students are not nice. They can be very mean not just to other students but to teachers to. The students swear in class, and completely ignoring the teacher . It is so bad that the teachers can not get done what needs to be done. Few of the teachers have given up and break down in class. The students find it funny and aim to make teachers quit.


Posted August 22, 2011

As a former student, I can easily say my time at Bishop Dunne was well spent. There is a very close-knit evironment throughout the student body and friendships amidst the challenging academic setting were easily made and maintained. I cannot say enough good things about this exemplary school. The one fault I found in this school came as a result of an ongoing illness which forced me to miss the majority of a school year. As I began to fall behind in my classes some teachers were very helpful and supportive while others were not. Eventually I was transferred to an entirely online curriculum, but I was often unable to reach my online teacher. After months of struggle the school administration informed me that this was still not enough to advance me to the next grade. I was devastated and eventually transferred to a different school. Bottom line: this is a terrific school as long as your student is unlikely to be missing an excessive number of school days.


Posted July 26, 2010

The school has an excellent administration with a clear vision for its future, a dedicated and highly qualified faculty, and cultural diversity among students with no indication of ethnic conflict, just fidelity to the precepts of the school and the Catholic Christian faith along with enthusiasm for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

Wow is all I can say about the 14 April 2010 comments... Our son started attending BD this year after being at Canterbury Episcopal School for 8 years. It was the best decision he ever made, because he has blossomed this year. He has been fined ONCE all year for not putting his cell phone away in a timely manner. This school is wonderful and all you have to do is follow the rules. You are SUPPOSED to wear a belt and why do you need to chew gum at school? It sounds like this family saved all of the families and faculty that are at BD and loving it a lot of grief!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

This school just wants your money. with all of the ridiculous fines the hand out to the students like: no belt-$10, chewing gum/cell phones:$25. its like they look for students to do wrong. I hated this school when i attended


Posted January 2, 2009

Awsome school, the Principal shows to be a great leader and keeps the school competive with surrounding schools. The schools shows to be academically sound and has a high success rate on preparing students for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2008

My experience with Bishop Dunne was less than satisfying. I found Bishop Dunne's greatest concerns are financial matters not educating the children. There was a staff member that was extremely rude to my child after he left Bishop Dunne.


Posted August 18, 2008

Well bishop dunne has great qualities and my son loves it there. He says thats the best school his ever been to. They really get me and my wife involved and we just luv it there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2008

It is off the scale!! IT is such a wonderful school with great staff and a loving prinicipal!! There is true teaching in Religion and Academics. Other Catholic schools could learn from Bishop Dunne!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2008

My child is graduating this year, and I am more than confident that she is prepared for college. They have a counselor who worked in college admissions, so she has first hand knowledge of what colleges are looking for. The students get to use Naviance to track their high school path, such as PSAT, ACT, AP courses, etc. The diversity is another plus. Unlike other schools that are predominantly white and sterile, this school offers a real world experience with all walks of life...from children of NBA stars to regular parents like us. I encourage you to come by and take a tour!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2007

Most teachers are fine and do what they love to do when they can control the unruly students in most classes in the middle school. The demographics in the middle school does not lend itself to parity. I witnessed numerous egregious acts/behavior at various times during the school day and at school sponsored events. The school needs to be more discerning with all applicants. They need to consider a students conduct and moral integrity. Yes, the school does have smart boards,ipods, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2006

Bishop Dunne has an excellent academic program, one that is both challenging and interesting. The teachers are available for assistance and they work hard to insure student success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2005

Awesome says it best! Small personalized classes in a medium sized setting. Faculty are fantastic, at least ten are Notre Dame grads. Loads of AP course options, free tutoring 5 days per week in all subjects, teachers who are at once both energized and caring. Fantastic technology and awarded by Intel as a top technology school. Extraordinarily well rounded, kids come from all walks of life, which is a major plus in my book. Students are encouraged to get involved in as many extracurricular pursuit as their schedule permits. Storied athletic program, yet their heads are on straight when it comes to priorities. There are newer and bigger facilities, but tverall a great environment, a great education and a very reasonable price compared to some schools in Dallas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2005

My children's comprehension and involvement with current events and their overall community responsibility is attributable to Bishop Dunne's caring enviornment. They continue to thrive and celebrate diversity thanks to the positive atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 42% 47%
Black 34% 14%
White 22% 37%
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • TCC
Fax number
  • (214) 339-1438

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Dallas
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3900 Rugged Drive
Dallas, TX 75224
Phone: (214) 339-6561

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT