Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. James Episcopal School

Private | PK-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Dallas

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $224,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 12, 2014

Amazing teachers do way more than educate - they inspire & we have found that at SJES. We have been blessed with the teachers & entire staff. All the teachers make eye contact, always friendly, & are available to talk AND email. The teachers are very professional & caring. They are also very educated & serious about their jobs. They treat all of the children with love & respect. The director, Loree, is very compassionate & listens to parents. She is truly invested in the happiness & education of the children & takes the time to know each of them individually; she also makes it a priority to get to know the parents. You feel like your child is the most important concern at SJES. My son LOVES attending this school. The schools approach to education fosters a love of learning. My son learns because he is given some basic knowledge & the freedom & support to explore further. I also feel secure that there is a lock-pad on the door in the entryway, so you have to be buzzed in. What we love about SJES: Involved Parent Community, Low Turnover Rate of the School Staff, Imagination Blocks & the Large Open Playground - have you been to the bear cave?!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2014

Well if you are not Christian..pls don't go to this school as they will not admit you! I think they should state this upfront when they meet parents..They probably don't becoz they want to collect application fee money!


Posted October 31, 2011

My two children have attended this school. The school offers and incredible learning environment and amazing teachings. I completely disagree with the comment below. We have had such a positive experience at the school and Loree Birkenback is amazing. She has been such a positive influence on the school, and I have heard the same from other parents. We couldn't ask for a more loving, nurturing environment for our children. Thank you St James!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2011

My son attended St. James for three years and we had a wonderful, positive experience. Our son always felt very cared for and we appreciated the attention and dedication of all his teachers. The education was very good and prepared him very well for his next steps. He has a love of learning and appreciates learning which I attribute to the overall quality of the program at St. James.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2011

Our daughter is currently attending St. James and we are so thrilled with her development there. She is so excited everyday to go to school to see her teachers and her friends. Her teachers and the staff at St. James are so caring and kind as well as the parents we have met. It is the perfect montessori experience we would have wanted for our child and that is exactly what we have gotten there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2011

Great school! Miss Rhianna is the best! Keep up the good work everyone and God bless you all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

St James is a wonderful school with caring teachers and parent involvement. The teachers and staff know all of the children by name, and fill the school with love and support. My daughter thrived at St James, and was sad to leave when Elementary program ended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2011

I've had my son in this school for two years now, first in the MDO program and now in the toddler program and it is wonderful. The staff is engaged, caring and proactive about the development of the kids. My son loves going to school, and there is no better sign than when your kid is excited to go to his class and to see his teachers and classmates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2010

This school has/had the ability to be excellent, but has become dysfunctional due to organizational changes. It filters down from the school's leadership, to the teachers, and down to the kids. It is not healthy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

St. James is an excellent Montessori School with great teachers, students, and parents! The children love to learn and all work together to help one another!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2009

We are in our 3rd year at St James and still love this school. Wish the level went higher, we would keep our daughter here all the way thru her schooling. She has gained so much confidence and has learned to be self reliant. Every day is an adventure for her as she comes home to tell me of new things she has learned thru her research at the school or thru her studies. The teachers, staff, and specials are absolutely fantastic. This is a warm, loving, nurturing environment for children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2008

Our experience has been incredibly positive. In addition to a strong core curriculum, the school offers a wide range of extracurricular activities and a creative environment that allows children to grow in many ways beyond academics. The teachers and staff have been loving and supportive - always available to answer questions and provide a point of view. The communications with families is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

Our daughter attended St. James for pre-k-2nd grade. She transfered to another Episcopal school for which she was very well prepaired. She has done very well there and will be entering a private girls school on scholarship in the fall. Sl. James laid a great foundation for her to build on academically and socially. I can recommend it with out reservation! Your children will be instilled with a love of learning that they will carry with them all their lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2008

We are nearing the end of our first year at St James and we couldn t be happier! Our first grade daughter is thriving academically! With a combination of Montessori and traditional approaches, paired with a high teacher-to-student ratio, students blossom in a loving Christian environment, attending chapel, Spanish, music, PE and even gardening! We can t say enough about the passionate and engaging teachers and staff! Each child is taught at there own pace, evaluated, encouraged and nurtured. Students are challenged with wonderful and inventive research projects, science fairs and book reports, exciting the students love of learning, which will serve students well in their bright academic futures and in life. We are blessed to have discovered such a gem!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2008

We have 3 children at St. James and wouldn't have them anywhere else! The head of school and teachers are EXCEPTIONAL and the specials (Spanish, music, PE etc.) are top notch. St. James offers the perfect blend of free-spirited Montessori learning coupled w/ a structured Christian environment. My children are thriving and love to go to school each day. They especially love going to chapel 3 days per week.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2008

My children have been at St. James for 4 years and we absolutely love it! The teachers are fantastic and the Montessori method is a perfect fit for my kids. If you are looking for a hidden gem, with reasonable tuition and a christian education...then this is it! There is homework in Elementary but it is very reasonable. There are plenty of opportunities for parents to volunteer and the school community is wonderful. It feels like a big extended family. You will not be disappointed by St. James!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

We have had a very good experience in the Primary class, the teachers are very good, and facilities are excellent. Expect lots of requests for help and fundraisers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2008

St James has the potential to be a great school, but there is no follow through with completeion of assignments. Homework and classwork is rarely checked for quality. Communication by teachers to parents about the students work, or lack ther of, is not good. If this improved, I would recommend the school to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2007

St. James is a wonderful and warm environment for any parent who values Montessori (especially at the preschool level) and who seeks a safe, nurturing, and academic place for their children to thrive. This is our second year at the school, and my sons love it. There is homework in elementary, but it is manageable most of the time, 10-15 minutes per night about 3 days per week. The teachers are exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2007

The school means well, but piles on the homework. Parents are expected to teach research and writing skills at home. My daughter is having to cut out all extracurricular activities so that homework can be completed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 37%
Black 4% 14%
Hispanic 2% 47%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • SAES
Fax number
  • (214) 348-1368

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9845 McCree Road
Dallas, TX 75238
Phone: (214) 348-1349

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT