Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Good Shepherd Episcopal School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Dallas

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $239,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $810.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 27, 2014

My child attends Good Shepherd. I agree with what another poster said about the cliques at our school. It's a shame, it puts a damper on the experience for everyone else. We have been able to seek out some fun, friendly, welcoming families but it took quite a bit of time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2014

This school's acceptance rate is around 70 percent. That means they end up with a lot of the kids who couldn't get into the more competitive schools. We tested out as soon as we were able. The curriculum didn't challenge our child and we didn't find the environment terribly friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2013

My daughter is a 3rd grader at GSES. I can not say enough wonderful things about this school! The administrators, teacher and all ancillary staff are amazing. It is a warm, loving, inclusive environment and my daughter loves it. We are truly grateful to be a part of Good Shepherd!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

My 7th grade son just returned from a five-night backpacking trip to Big Bend as part of the Good Shepherd COE (classroom of the earth) program. Not only did he have an amazing time, but he came home with a level of self confidence that only a COE trip can instill. I've already had one child "graduate" from GSES and she is doing incredibly well in a top-tier private high school. The academics at GSES prepared her to excel in high school, but the other programs like COE gave her the confidence to be a leader. Thanks, Good Shepherd!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2013

My son has attended GSES since Pre-K and is now in 5th grade there. Every teacher has been excellent and he absolutely loves this school. The education is very well rounded and the atmosphere very caring. This is a school with a young spirit and a big heart. Parents can be involved as much or as little as they wish and there are many options for kids activities, camps, social events for parents and families, sports teams, etc.... My son especially enjoys the Classroom of the Earth program and the numerous retreats and adventures he experiences over the years. GSES is a great choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2012

My daughter attended GSES preschool last year and we loved it (both teachers are incredible). We are starting Kindergarten now and looking forward to another great year. A school is what you make it. Take part, volunteer, get involved, and you will most likely get the social experience that you are looking for. As for academics, we are happy with the high level of challenge. Our happy, progressing 5 year old lets us know we made the right decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2011

I agree with the other poster who mentioned that there is no social aspect to the school. The parents are extremely cliquey and it trickles down to the students. We left after 2 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Good Shepherd is a school that produces compassionate scholars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2010

i am currently in 8th grade at good shepherd and i have been there since pre-k. i have had the most amazing experience. every year we have once in a life time opportunities offered to us such as the classroom of the earth trips, where we grow physically, mentally, and become closer friends, and the mexico exchange program which was also an incredibal trip. We are all very socially involved and learn so much. the high school application process is made so easy with the help of our student dean Mrs. McMurry. going to a school where you must change in 8th grade was the best decision my parents ever made because i get meet new people just like i would if i were going to college. the facilities are incredibal and my education has been suprub. Next year i am going to Hockaday and i feel very prepared. Thanks G-shep!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 10, 2009

I am in 7th grade at Good Shepherd Episcopal School. I have learned many things over the my past 8 years at the school. I feel very prepared for high school and very happy with my school! I love my teachers! Especially my spanish teacher Ms. Puerto! She is so much fun! About 2 months ago I went on a mexico exchange program with my school! I had the time of my life!! I am very happy to attend at this school and hope everyone else will too!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2008

I am currently an eighth grader at GSES and I absolutely love it. I have been here since Pre K and I do not have any complaints. The experiences and friends are amazing and I will remember them for the rest of my life. Sadly, this is my last year and I will miss it very much. I feel that GSES has done a great job with preparing me for high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 19, 2008

Although there is no doubt that my daughter has received a great education; We are disappointed in few aspects of the school. One is the non-existent social aspect of the school, and missing communication level between parents and teachers/administrators. It feels like the school has been doing the same thing for 30 + years and is resistant to change. We are pleased academically; but, we have decided to try another school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2008

My daughter has been at Good Shepherd since pre K and has had a great experience there. Every year has been wonderful. She has excelled and the first year in middle school went really well so I know the lower school did a great job of preparing her for the work load. The Classroom of the Earth is a definate highlight and she looks forward to the next three years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2008

Great school. I graduated last year and have found myself super prepared for high school. I still keep in touch with the great friends i've made there.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 37%
Hispanic 7% 47%
Asian 4% N/A
Black 2% 14%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (214) 357-4105

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11110 Midway Rd
Dallas, TX 75229
Phone: (214) 357-1610

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT