Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Good Shepherd Episcopal School

Private | PK-8 | 586 students

Learn with confidence, serve with compassion, and lead with courage.
 
 

 
 

Living in Dallas

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $239,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $810.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

Ever since Bob Kohler left, school has gone downhill. Middle school administration is not in touch with reality on dealing with kids. Every year the better students leave and they just admit problem kids (bullies) who have been asked to leave other private schools. Very much a 'cliche' culture by kids and parents with no family values. Spanish curriculum on steady decline and many classes taught via web and pod with limited to no involvement by teacher. Parents seem to dictate based on perceived status. Have a few good teachers but overall wouldn't recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2014

My child attends Good Shepherd. I agree with what another poster said about the cliques at our school. It's a shame, it puts a damper on the experience for everyone else. We have been able to seek out some fun, friendly, welcoming families but it took quite a bit of time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2014

This school's acceptance rate is around 70 percent. That means they end up with a lot of the kids who couldn't get into the more competitive schools. We tested out as soon as we were able. The curriculum didn't challenge our child and we didn't find the environment terribly friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2013

My daughter is a 3rd grader at GSES. I can not say enough wonderful things about this school! The administrators, teacher and all ancillary staff are amazing. It is a warm, loving, inclusive environment and my daughter loves it. We are truly grateful to be a part of Good Shepherd!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

My 7th grade son just returned from a five-night backpacking trip to Big Bend as part of the Good Shepherd COE (classroom of the earth) program. Not only did he have an amazing time, but he came home with a level of self confidence that only a COE trip can instill. I've already had one child "graduate" from GSES and she is doing incredibly well in a top-tier private high school. The academics at GSES prepared her to excel in high school, but the other programs like COE gave her the confidence to be a leader. Thanks, Good Shepherd!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2013

My son has attended GSES since Pre-K and is now in 5th grade there. Every teacher has been excellent and he absolutely loves this school. The education is very well rounded and the atmosphere very caring. This is a school with a young spirit and a big heart. Parents can be involved as much or as little as they wish and there are many options for kids activities, camps, social events for parents and families, sports teams, etc.... My son especially enjoys the Classroom of the Earth program and the numerous retreats and adventures he experiences over the years. GSES is a great choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2012

My daughter attended GSES preschool last year and we loved it (both teachers are incredible). We are starting Kindergarten now and looking forward to another great year. A school is what you make it. Take part, volunteer, get involved, and you will most likely get the social experience that you are looking for. As for academics, we are happy with the high level of challenge. Our happy, progressing 5 year old lets us know we made the right decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2011

I agree with the other poster who mentioned that there is no social aspect to the school. The parents are extremely cliquey and it trickles down to the students. We left after 2 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Good Shepherd is a school that produces compassionate scholars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2010

i am currently in 8th grade at good shepherd and i have been there since pre-k. i have had the most amazing experience. every year we have once in a life time opportunities offered to us such as the classroom of the earth trips, where we grow physically, mentally, and become closer friends, and the mexico exchange program which was also an incredibal trip. We are all very socially involved and learn so much. the high school application process is made so easy with the help of our student dean Mrs. McMurry. going to a school where you must change in 8th grade was the best decision my parents ever made because i get meet new people just like i would if i were going to college. the facilities are incredibal and my education has been suprub. Next year i am going to Hockaday and i feel very prepared. Thanks G-shep!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 10, 2009

I am in 7th grade at Good Shepherd Episcopal School. I have learned many things over the my past 8 years at the school. I feel very prepared for high school and very happy with my school! I love my teachers! Especially my spanish teacher Ms. Puerto! She is so much fun! About 2 months ago I went on a mexico exchange program with my school! I had the time of my life!! I am very happy to attend at this school and hope everyone else will too!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2008

I am currently an eighth grader at GSES and I absolutely love it. I have been here since Pre K and I do not have any complaints. The experiences and friends are amazing and I will remember them for the rest of my life. Sadly, this is my last year and I will miss it very much. I feel that GSES has done a great job with preparing me for high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 19, 2008

Although there is no doubt that my daughter has received a great education; We are disappointed in few aspects of the school. One is the non-existent social aspect of the school, and missing communication level between parents and teachers/administrators. It feels like the school has been doing the same thing for 30 + years and is resistant to change. We are pleased academically; but, we have decided to try another school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2008

My daughter has been at Good Shepherd since pre K and has had a great experience there. Every year has been wonderful. She has excelled and the first year in middle school went really well so I know the lower school did a great job of preparing her for the work load. The Classroom of the Earth is a definate highlight and she looks forward to the next three years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2008

Great school. I graduated last year and have found myself super prepared for high school. I still keep in touch with the great friends i've made there.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 31%
Hispanic 7% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Black 1% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Laurie Daum
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (214) 357-4105

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Religious
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • Girl scouts
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Technology club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$15000 - $18000
Vouchers accepted
No

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Jesuit College Preparatory School of Dallas
The Hockaday School
Greenhill School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11110 Midway Road
Dallas, TX 75229
Website: Click here
Phone: (214) 357-1610

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT