Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
400 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
66 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 93 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lakehill Preparatory
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted August 04, 2016
- a community member
Ms. Riggs was always available she made learning fun. She answered emails and phone calls and always offered assistance when necessary.

Lakehill Preparatory
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted August 04, 2016
- a community member
The parents who give big donations get preferential treatment as do their children. Bevause the curriculum is so demanding & competitive it creates an unfair competition for children who aren't as sharp when awards come because those children are singled out.


Lakehill Preparatory 2

Posted August 04, 2016
- a community member
I was excited about our family joining Lakehill. At first it was exciting being new and seeing how close the kids are. Each grade encourages participation from the parents and it makes you fill welcome. But then it becomes over bearing. With the school being located in an affluent area of Dallas, some of the parents are quite snobby but some aren't. The teachers are the same, some are good some aren't. Mrs, Riggs is the best that they have. We love her. But others profile the students by race and economic status. If they know you're on financial aid they try to assume that your child isn't a good student. The comptroller is the most insensitive of them all. He told us once we couldn't sit in some certain seats at a show bc the parent paid $5k to reserve them. I asked one parent and he told us the seats were reserved by a $20 donation. So he just lied to us. His kids go there for free then he's judgemental if you bc you're on financial aid. The overall experience can be good if your child is a sharp student, isn't black, and isn't poor. Otherwise find a really good charter good.

Lakehill Preparatory 5

Posted December 10, 2015
- a community member
I have been a parent at Lakehill for five years. Our children have had nothing but a quality experience both in terms of their education, and social and emotional well-being. The teachers have gone above and beyond to help my children when necessary, and demonstrate an inclusive and welcoming environment. I highly recommend for an academic environment that provides rigor, but is also nurturing at the same time. The parents are allowed to be involved, and we often read in the library and eat with our children during lunch.

Lakehill Preparatory 5

Posted September 14, 2014
- a parent
Lakehill is a wonderful school with quite a bit to offer. Elementary school was a very positive experience. Middle school is just as wonderful! Our child reports that her grade is like having one big family. When one student needs help understanding, they all pitch in. Her grade is extremely cohesive and supportive. They kids in her grade were also extremely welcoming to the new kids. Starting Lakehill at any grade appears to be a relatively easy transition. The homework is very manageable this year but the academics and content remain challenging in a very positive way. Administrators and teachers are always working to find a healthy balance between academic preparation and opportunities to have a life outside of school. It has simply been a great experience!


Lakehill Preparatory 5

Posted September 14, 2014
- a parent
Lakehill is a incredible school and one of the few with no religious affiliation while also offering k-12. We love the diverse group of parents and kids in all of the grades. We have met families from a variety of countries and areas of town. The academic requirements are intense, but doable. Teachers really work with the students to ensure their success. Overall, Lakehill is a positive, healthy, and supportive environment.

Lakehill Preparatory 5

Posted August 26, 2014
- a teacher
The comment below "You don't see Lakehill seniors moving on to the very top schools as you'd expect for the $ (very rarely do you see a Duke. Stanford, Ivy League)" was obviously written by someone who did not attend Lakehill's graduation ceremony: Lakehill's 26 graduates received 174 acceptances to 137 colleges and universities, and earned $6,500,000 in academic scholarships - that's an average of $250,000 per graduate! Ivy League - you bet - including Brown, Columbia, Penn, and Yale - as well as Duke, Williams College, Oberlin College, and Cal Berkeley, just to name a few!

Lakehill Preparatory 3

Posted May 29, 2014
- a parent
Sent two kids there K - 8, both wanted to go on to larger schools for 9 - 12. Pros: - Very small school - small classrooms, good teacher interaction - Diversity in student body for a private school - Seems teachers have a lot of free rein for creative instruction methods - Did a fantastic job preparing kids for high school. Instilled creative and critical thinking skills - Great focus on encouraging reading from K - onward Cons: - The "family" aspect noted in other reviews becomes a bit inbred over time - not a lot of variety of thought/social difference tolerated by the tribe by the time they hit 7/8th grade. This is a critical developmental time and it may be hard to find acceptance if your child is different from the gene pool - Some teachers are there for their kids' free/discounted tuition - School can't offer the same depth/breadth of classes, athletics and extracurricular activities of larger schools - Some parents and kids believe themselves large fish in a very teeny pond and try to wield undue influence - You don't see Lakehill seniors moving on to the very top schools as you'd expect for the $ (very rarely do you see a Duke. Stanford, Ivy League)


Lakehill Preparatory 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
This is an outstanding independent school with excellent academic programs in the lower, middle and upper schools. The academic programs are designed to fit the needs of the students who attent this small private school. Dedicated teachers and administration along with strong support from the families make this school one of the best in Dallas. I have children who have graduated from Lakehill and a current student. These students are challenged academically and have so many opportunities to participate in the arts, athletic programs, community service programs and take part in leadership opportunities. You name it. These students work very hard and are well prepared to succeed in college and to be future leaders when they graduate from Lakehill. The respect the students have for their classmates and for teachers is very admirable. The headmaster is one of the most respected headmasters in the country. He greets each child as they enter the school every morning.

Lakehill Preparatory 3

Posted April 27, 2014
- a parent
The school can be a good environment for some classes/grades and not for others. I have heard this consistently from the teachers, administrators and the parents. We made a decision to move our child because they did not thrive and bloom as we expected and hoped. They entered the school a happy, healthy child but withered there over time. The administration really does not make the effort to instill character and kindness in the students and do not intervene when it's needed. Our child was not bullied but many are and very little is done to address those types of issues or inappropriate behavior toward eachother. It's a bit of a gamble here.

Nearby schools

Lakehill Preparatory
2720 Hillside Dr, Dallas, TX  75214
(214) 826-2931
Last modified Lakehill Preparatory is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Top