Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Dallas, TX
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Alcuin School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 14, 2015
- a parent
Homework is just right. Not too much in the younger years and increases starting in 4th grade.

Alcuin School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 14, 2015
- a parent
You can always pick out "Alcuin kids." They are the nicest kids in the group, the ones who wait their turn in line, who help each other, who get along with everyone, and who don't ask for special treatment.


Alcuin School 5

Posted July 14, 2015
- a parent
The most under-rated school in Dallas. Over the course of the next decade, I predict that this school will be on par, if not ahead of, the top private schools in Dallas. Many think it already is. The innovative approach to learning that is happening at Alcuin is unmatched.

Alcuin School 5

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
I am blown away by this school at every turn. We as parents, and my children are not treated like just another number. Being part of a community that is really interested in development is a wonderful thing.
1 person found this helpful

Alcuin School 2

Posted April 16, 2015
- a parent
I am amazing unimpressed. The teachers overly prescribe testing for your average child. I spoke to my son's pediatrician who saw nothing wrong with my son and mentioned that he has had other parents that had the same issues. I have spoken to a number of parents that have had the same experience. It looks amazing when touring but as another reviewer mentioned, if you are a 30 something parent expect ZERO respect and it is even worse when both parents work. I wish I could take back the past year. Basically if your child isn't with the perfect child and your aren't willing to jump through hoops of testing, you will politely be asked to not return. -disappointed parent


Alcuin School 5

Posted December 02, 2014
- a parent
I am a convert who started out very skeptical about the value this school could bring to my kids, especially in light of the expense. I have two kids at Alcuin, and they both started at 18 months old. I was not converted by the school. I was converted by my children. I see every day the effect the school has on them. They love learning and challenging themselves. That is something that I did not get until I went to college. Imagine the possibilities of getting to feel that way your whole life. Equally important is the community. I am constantly blown away by their peers, who are like minded and have a home life that values education and development as much as we do. Yes, it is a lot of money, and I didn t think I could justify the expense. Now I know, that it is the very best money I spend even in this economy. I m converted and because of that, my kids get to grow and develop whatever potential is inside them, and become the very best versions of themselves. What more could you want?
1 person found this helpful

Alcuin School 5

Posted October 30, 2014
- a parent
Alcuin is a truly unique school that centers around the ability to bring about the absolute best in every student combined with the flexibility to allow students to progress at a custom pace. Each child gets their own education plan that is stringently followed up on and evolves with the child. Our children have been there since infants and have thrived educationally, socially and emotionally. The teachers are so well trained that they often know more about my children than I do even though I am a stay-at-home parent. My elementary student's curriculum always exceeds the standards at the other top schools in Dallas. In first grade she writes in cursive, reads on a 5th grade level, and multiplies and divides by 10,000. The best part is that they focus on individual responsibility, accountability and courtesy. Their middle and upper school is now IB and the students are already being courted by some of the top programs who seek out the unique educational experieces of a Montessori and Baccalaureate program. To top it off the school has a "home-like" feel and the staff is always available for questions and guidance. We feel very fortunate to have gotten a spot at Alcun.

Alcuin School 5

Posted October 30, 2014
- a parent
I am so happy with Alcuin school. My children have thrived educationally as well as socially. The level of education exceeds what I personally have seen as a teacher in high achieving schools. The teachers and staff take a personal interest in my children across the board. I recommend Alcuin to anyone looking for a great school!


Alcuin School 1

Posted September 30, 2014
- a community member
The teachers are wonderful, that is, if you can get through the unorganized, under qualified upper management (most importantly, the director). If you are a 40+ aged parent then this is most definitely the school where you want to spend your money and where you will be treated with respect, but apparently if you are young working mother in your 30s, then you might want to stay away as the staff members turn up their noses to you. I would rather pay a million dollars for my child to be somewhere she is loved, cared for, and learning in a comfortable environment. Horrible experiences with the staff and past students & families in many instances. I wouldn't send my child here if it were free.

Alcuin School 5

Posted March 27, 2014
- a parent
My child attended only the upper grades - 6th through 8th and graduated from the Middle School. We could not have been happier with the teachers, the school leadership, the Montessori and IB format, and everything about the education this school offers. Too bad they had not started an Upper School yet because this education far surpasses anything we have experienced in a traditional Independent high school. Dallas is so lucky to have Alcuin as a choice in high schools starting next year; it will be one of the only private IB schools in town and I have no doubt it will be the model for IB schools everywhere.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alcuin School
6144 Churchill Way, Dallas, TX  75230
(972) 239-1745
Last modified Alcuin School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Alcuin School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. Top